We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most fascinating hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   International Commerce Center, No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (West Kowloon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sensation
Ranked #5 of 651 hotels in Hong Kong
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Most fascinating hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ok yes, it's a Ritz Carlton, so one expects it to be above and beyond everything else. But this hotel is really a class of it's own. Starting with the altitude. When you hang out at the Club Lounge on floor 118, you can see -- far far below -- the rooftop pool of the W hotel next door, the bassin is as small as a stamp. If you look around, you have the entire panorama of Hong Kong.

My room was on the 115th floor and was absolutely fanstastic. Clear, noble design, wonderful linen, distinct and elegant bath products, a walk-in shower, bath-tub with TV set, an iPod Classic bedside with 1200 songs on it, and a large windowfront again with this stunning view. There are few rooms where I feel at home instantly, the one at Ritz Carlton HK is one of them.

It's worth taking an hour to explore the hotel's public areas, the restaurants and to adore the designs (which were created by different designers as I learned upon request). The Ozone bar on the roof is another hot spot you shouldn't miss out, but make sure it's not raining, as it would only be half the fun.

A word about the staff (the ladies and gentlemen, as referred to them by Ritz Carlton). They are indeed keeping up the promise and deliver a quiet, discrete, competent, friendly, caring service. A concierge helped me to set up a short walking tour for Kowloon, and after a minute it already felt like I was talking with a friend. Personal care is certainly one of the strengths of the Ritz Carlton.

All in all, the hotel is wonderful and I can fully recommend it without doubt.

Room Tip: Club rooms are the best. Since all rooms circle around the central elevator, ask for a room close (b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    681
    119
    35
    11
    12
See reviews for
168
251
51
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just returned to reality from a weekend stay at the Ritz Carlton, Hong Kong. It was my dear wife's birthday and i wanted to make her day/weekend a memorable one! We both had a wonderful 3 days and 2 nights...

Prior to our stay, i made all the arrangements and booked a Deluxe Suite. Admittedly, it was my mistake when i requested for the Harbour View Suite instead of Island View Suite... i thought the harbour view had the view of the harbour and Main island side of Hong Kong. It was however immediately corrected by the Aven, the Front Office Manager.
What a welcome tho to the property, as even before we stepped into the Hotel, while in the car going from the airport to the property, we had a Facetime call from the Club lounge executive, Yu kee (apologies if the spelling is wrong)... asking if there was anything else that was needed before we arrive at the Hotel.
Upon arrival at the front of the property, the view was beautiful... Uninterrupted view of Hong Kong Island!

We were greeted immediately by Aven and Yu Kee and escorted directly to our Suite. The lobby is actually level 9 and then there are lifts that go directly to the Main Hotel lobby, on the 103rd floor! Took just under a minute to get from 9 to 103!

Once we got our Island View suite, we just was amazed by the view!... both Kowloon, the Harbour and the main Island view all from our room.... To be honest though, over the whole of our stay, at times, all you get to see are white clouds and nothing else... thats because you are so high up the clouds that they block the view of the surroundings...

The Suite facilities are top notch... beautifully designed. Having stayed at the Landmark Mandarin Oriental and the Four Seasons before... i am able to give my honest opinion and compare each properties, especially rooms. As for rooms (or Suites), out of the three... i still think LMMO has a better design... especially wins the bathroom design. The RC and FS are very similar in design. However, LMMO is located right in between office buildings, and view wise, is NON existant. FS harbour view is nice but RC wins this hands down!

Location:
Although we usually dont consider Kowloon side to stay, i wanted to try RC because its connected to the mtr train station, the elements mall, and one stop away from the IFC Mall itself... so convenient!

Service wise... all three hotels have this very meticulous way of providing EXCELLENT personalised service! You cant go wrong with RC (or the other 2).

The club lounge at RC is on the 116 floor, on the same floor as the ESPA. Again the views from there is beautiful, but more of the kowloon side than the Island side. This is probably because, the SPA takes more of the Island view... Service here is also fantastic and we tried the Tea service... delicious!

SPA: WOW! the BEST Couples Suite we have ever tried... in terms of both facilities, service and view... everywhere we go, we always try the couples spa treatment and suites. Whats more romantic than having your couples treatment and relaxation time with the evening view of Hong Kong Island! We had a 3 hour treatment and session and an hour relaxation time where we were served dinner and desserts! delicious grilled salmon with mashed potatoes...

To be honest, my treatment itself was not the best i have had, as i have had better, though my wife did enjoy hers! Overall though, its an experience to try if you can... one of the best spa experiences we have had, if not the best!

Swimming pool: we tried the pool, The highest pool in the world... on the 118 floor... coincidentally the same floor as the Ozone bar. Again, very beautiful and magnificent views all over.

F&B outlets:
The Hotel helped me make a reservation for my wife's birthday dinner at their Tin Lung Heen restaurant. There was an event which took most of the restaurant, so they put us in their restaurant private room.... we were happy as it was just both us and felt like they closed the restaurant for us. Food was excellent... recommendations by the staff were excellent and service was excellent. They hotel even provided a complimentary chocolate birthday cake for my dear wife.
The whole decor of the property is beautiful, but i have to mention the corridor along the private rooms of the restaurant... it was truly beautiful!

Overall, it was again a wonderful weekend getaway with my dear wife... RC Hong Kong truly offers a excellent service and experience as a choice of accommodations, especially for couples. I will not hesitate to stay here again for my next visit to Hong Kong. Special thanks to Aven and Yu Kee (sorry again if wrong spelling), Ms Siti (The Spa Director) and the Tin Lung Heen staff...

Room Tip: Definitely choose the "Island View" rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stay three nights with my bf. very nice expensive there. Nice room and best view. We love it so much. Easy for shopping easy for go anywhere. The food very nice the pool and gym clean and best. We must stay again and again when we arrive hk.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Staying in the world's tallest hotel is a cool thing. Having your room on the 110th floor is a very cool thing. This is really an amazing hotel. If you ever have the chance to stay here, you have to. The service is what you would expect at any Ritz Carlton- exceptional. We were escorted virtually everywhere in the hotel that we went. The quality of the room, the furnishings, the bathroom are all top of the line. We ate at 3 of the hotel's dining offerings. First, room service, which was very good. We had the breakfast buffett two days in a row and it may have been the best I've ever seen. (Although the service lacked here- hard time getting coffee, it wasn't hot and wasn't refilled) The only real negative of our experience is their fine dining Chinese restaurant Tin Lung Heen didn't live up to expectations. Shy of that every aspect of this hotel is "best of class" I wish we would have visited the pool on the top floor- but we always need a reason to go back. You must stay at the Ritz Carlton in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: As high as you can get facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Have since stayed here for a few more times, Must try Tosca with their new Michelin 2 star chef. All very wonderful, couldn't have asked for more.

Hotel staff is very helpful and attentive. Like the other reviewer says "It's not just another 5 star hotel, it's a Ritz!"

Nonetheless, if your sleeping habits require quiet rooms, be sure to ask for them. Ritz Hong Kong these days have many noisy customers!

Room Tip: Wouldn't hurt to ask for the room to be deep cleaned prior to arrival. On two occasions I was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Ritz Carlton Hong Kong is the newest Deluxe Hotel in this city of skyscrapers. It is the ultimate of 360 Views from 117th Floor with superb service. The hotel has a sense of place with incredible fittings and features and amenities. The restaurants are 5 star, each with an enormous chandelier and definitely a WOW factor. The club level takes it up a notch. A new home from home for any world weary traveler.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The beautiful, Luxury, Ritz Carlton, Hong Kong, is the best place to stay in Hong Kong! The Rooms, Service, Staff, Club Lounge for 24 hours daily, and spa, pool, and resturants, are the best in Hong Kong! The Pool is on the top! Beautiful, with luxury spa, with full views of Hong Kong! The Club lounge is open 24 hours! The rooms are perfect, with all the amenities you want!
Front Desk check in perfect! Bell Staff ready 24 hours! I have been to Hong Kong many years, this is the best in the world hotel! Thank you, to the staff and manager of the Ritz Carlton Hong Kong! Best of the Best! Highest pool in the world!

Room Tip: Book Club Level if possible, and harbor view rooms! Club lounge is open for 24 hours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Address: International Commerce Center, No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Priceline so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.