We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi King Heen (Mody Road)

Hoi King Heen (Mody Road)
B2/F, InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong, No.70 Mody Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Grand Stanford Intercontinental Hotel, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)
852-27312883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 4,812 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Northwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I treated myself to a meal here on mynlast night stay in the hotel. The service was outstanding - a true Michelin experience. The food was very good but not mind blowing! I had the hot and sour soup which was very tasty and one of th best I have eaten. I then and the prawns with chilli and garlic which tasted of neither chilli or garlic but they were perfectly cooked. I also had the noodles with spring onions which was the best part if the meal. I was also very surprised at the reasonable price of wine - cheaper than the hotel bar!

Overall a good meal - just not outstanding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“1 Michelin star...wonder why”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Had lunch with friends last saturday, the 12 of us ordered at least 25 dishes, ended up paying $2700 in total (discounted..was 3000), however not sure what the fuss is all about.
Staff who helped us in taking order was not friendly at all, the way he talked was like we were in some local Chinese restaurants; always took ages for them to refill hot water/tea; other staffs didn't bother wearing a smile on their faces...
Food were alright however quite expensive especially with the service vs food received.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Nice spot for il Padrino !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Went there with my buddy who is a Chef in Bali , just to give a try to this Michelin star spot . Well satisfied with the service that is attentive and polite , the ambient is the classic Chinese ones with style I would say . The food was tasty and with a nice presentation so we enjoyed a lot this Chinese dinner but always with one Italian espresso at the end !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lives Up to Its Reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

An excellent restaurant with good ratings. Efficient and friendly service. An excellent wine list and menu. The degustation is wonderful.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Must order 48 hrs in advance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We went here on our 1st night in Hong Kong. We had made reservations online and a menu had been emailed to us. However, only a few of the menu items requiring advanced notice were printed on the menu. After noting that none of the items we planned to order had the 48hrs advanced notice designation, we didn't pre-order anything. When we arrived and seated, we were told that the winter melon items and their "law mai gai" dish all required the 48hrs advanced notice. Boy were we disappointed! The waiter totally had an "I don't care attitude" and told us in a flippant way, "Well we have a lot of other good dishes that you can order" and proceeded not to make any recommendations. We decided not to leave and ordered a few dishes. Everything tasted okay but service was poor. Our plates were never changed out and no one came to refill our drinks. The best part of the meal was the almond cream dessert, though the waitress that made it did not stir the egg whites fast enough and we had several large chunks in the cream. On our way out, I asked another patron who had pre-ordered the "law mai gai" and she said that on her phone reservation, they did advise her to preorder several dishes and she said that the "law mai gai" was worth coming back to try. If I do come back, I hope the wait staff has a better attitude.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoi King Heen (Mody Road) also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Hoi King Heen (Mody Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi King Heen (Mody Road), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.