We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel ive stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The T Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The T Hotel to your Saves list
The T Hotel
6th Floor, VTC Pokfulam Complex,145 Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 690 Hotels in Hong Kong
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best hotel ive stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel was a little out the way, but i suggest that even if that is a problem to you, the service quality and room over compensates for this.

I picked this hotel back in Jan when it was only number 4 on trip advisor, since then its become number one and this is where itshould be in my experiences in hotels.

The welcome you get every time you arrive at the hotel makes you feel like a celebrity with everyone trying the best to help and get in some "practice". The proffesional "teachers" are always there to help.

When booking you get a download of what buses go to the hotel and thus yuo have a list of cheap public transport that you can get from the city to get you "home", just remember to keep the bus numbers with you. There is also a free transfer bus that they put on for you if you request it, but only into HK and only if not fully booked. ( transfer bus.... who am i kidding it was a private car transfer basically.

As stated the service is great, the breakfast good, there are eagles to watch while eating your breakfast a view of the china sea and my all time favourite that i have never had before and hope that they never stop... bathroom favourites ( little squeaky bath toys) that we got each night. We would go back just to increase our collection of these.

If you know when you book that this is a training hotel, and you know the location details, i cant see why anyone would every rate this place less than 5/5

Thanks T hotel for making our Hong Kong stop our favourite on our Asia tour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    41
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
164
23
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The T Hotel is the best hotel ever. My husband and I stayed there with our 2 teenage daughters.
Beautiful huge rooms,enormous bathrooms,lovely shower and even a tv screen over the bath.The attention to detail is second to none.The T Hotel has thought of everything. We could not fault the facilities and the staff who are lovely and very helpful.On arrival we were made to feel like V.I.P.'s.Good breakfast with a choice of foods to eat in the lovely dining room with ocean views. All the staff were lovely but we especially liked Edith and Jack,they have the most lovely smiles and were so helpful we wanted to take them home with us!!
The manager was also very helpful and speaks excellent English. For anyone visiting Hong Kong I can highly recommend this hotel.
Only one negative is that we had to book 2 rooms therefore doubling the price because they didn't want to squash 2 single beds into the rooms, however the roooms were huge and if they moved the desk area and the chaise longue 2 beds could be added making it better value for families.
Not on the mtr(train line) but not a problem asthe buses and taxis are very frequent and inexpensive.
We loved coming back to our free chocolates in the evening!

Room Tip: Standard room is superb no need to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The T Hotel is the only place to stay when you are in Hong Kong. The staff (trainees) are incredibly helpful and kind, the rooms luxurious and the views from the rooms stunning the perfect getaway after a hard day of sightseeing, shopping and eating :).

There is a busstop in front of the hotel (school) but you can also use the free hotel taxi service to take you into the city. We stayed here for 3 nights, which was just a treat!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Gorgeous room, wonderful views, cheap cocktails, fabulous staff and delicious food. Perfect! The staff were so smiley and willing to help. They were always helped by trained staff (who often spoke better English). When we arrived late in the evening, there was a row of students waiting to welcome us in chinese. We felt like celebrities. I can honestly say that we have never had a better hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wootton Bassett, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is a training hotel, so the only downside we came across was that check-in was very slow (with 2 young children its a bit of a pain). As they are in training it takes a bit longer which we didnt mind because the service was superb the best we have ever had. The rooms were of a high quality with a view of the city. The entire hotel is of a high quality inside and out but is not pretentious. We also ate in the restaurant which again was superb as were the staff. The staff could not do enough for us and we were greeted with smiles and a warm reception even when we got to our rooms someone showed us around and made sure we were ok. They were excellent with my 2 young children and made them feel at home as well as us. And for the price it was an absolute bargain! Will be staying there every time we visit Hong Kong from now on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The service in this hotel is phenomenal. They have really high standard with regards to making their guest comfortable. The room is exceptionally big, clean and nicely decorated. The washroom is clean and spacious. I love the effect on the washroom glass (you can frost it or clear). The view from the hotel is amazing.
The breakfast is plenty with wide selection of food.
The only few things I can complain about:
a.) location, it is a big far from the downtown core although we have an amazing ocean view and buses runs until the wee hours of the morning. We felt safe even late at night.
b.) very limited english channel, we were stranded for 24 hours inside the hotel due to storm and we wanted to watch tv unfortunately we only got half an hour of english station (half an hour for the whole 24 hours). Thank goodness for free wifi, we were able to access online and watch canadian stations.
I would still recommend this place to anyone who wish to visit this magnificent city.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottRutledge, T Hotel Management Team at The T Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear jlobabiera (Trip Advisor Senior Reviewer)

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to provide a review for our hotel. We very much appreciate your support of our training that your stay in the T Hotel has shown. We will use your review as further training feedback, to be shared with the Trainees, as part of their review of their time in the T Hotel.

We are very encouraged by your positive comments and your recommendation to others to stay with us; especially your comments on the guest comfort, decor and cleanliness. Yes location is one thing that no hotel can pick, but we believe the panoramic hillside location and the tranquil setting is another unique feature of our hotel as compared to most other hotels in Hong Kong. The transportation is assisted by 3 free shuttle buses into the city on weekday mornings, (a trip that usually only takes about 15 min), and as you said the public transport back to the hotel lasts until late into the night.

We were a little concerned after your comments on the limited English TV channels in the T Hotel, that maybe the television information provided in the room was inadequate. We will review this display of TV information in light of your comments, to further enhance the guest experience. Just for your follow up information, there are 2 English TV Channels in Hong Kong and we screen both of them in the T Hotel. In addition we also offer Al Jazeera English News Channel plus NOW-TV from the UK and DW-TV Asia (DW-TV is about 50% English content). So I believe there was probably some misunderstanding on what was available for viewing. We are very sorry we did not recognise the misunderstanding when you were resident with us. Please accept our apology for the inadequate TV information provided to you.

Once again thank you for your feedback. We very much appreciate it.

Best regards

Scott Rutledge
T Hotel Management Team
6th Floor, VTC Pokfulam Complex
145 Pokfulam Road, Pokfulam, Hong Kong
T Hotel Phone - (+852) 3717 7388
T Hotel Fax - (+852) 3717 7377
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had high expectations of this hotel after reading the excellent reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. From our arrival we were treated with courtesy and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Our room was one of the best we have ever stayed in, being spacious and fitted out to a very high standard. The facilities were second to none, and if having a TV in the bathroom is your thing you won't be disappointed. There is free wi fi , music centre and all the techno facilities you could need. The mini bar is very cheeply priced. The standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel is excellent. Our room overlooked the Pokfu Lam village which is the oldest village on the island and was a huge contrast to the surrounding high rises. You could request a room with a view over the sea but this is available in the restaurant /bar area where there is an outside balcony which runs the length of the hotel and where you can sit and watch the eagles flying overhead.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and whilst the menu isn't extensive the food was tasty and well presented. There was a huge choice for breakfast and the food was fresh and well presented.

The staff are young trainees and don't always get everything spot on first time but they are very eager to please and the fact that they are supervised by qualified staff means that the standard of service remains high. By staying here you are agreeing to help with their training but we didn't find this intrusive. The staff at the front desk were particularly helpful with advice and information about transport etc.

The hotel is a bit out of the centre but this suited us as we didn't want to be in the midst of all the high rise buildings and noise that is Hong Kong. It is easily reached from the airport by taking the 10A bus which cost 48 $HK. and takes about an hour.

I'm not sure we will return to Hong Kong but if we do we will make a bee line for this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a see view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The T Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The T Hotel

Address: 6th Floor, VTC Pokfulam Complex,145 Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#18 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The T HOTEL is a training concept hotel committed to providing vocational training in the field of hospitality and tourism, while dedicated to delivering a pleasant hospitality experience to our guests.Set among the lush greenery surrounding of Pokfulam, 20 minutes southwest of Hong Kong's city centre with panoramic views of the South China Sea, this 30-room training hotel is situated on the 6th floor of the VTC Pokfulam Complex as part of the Hospitality Industry Training and Development Centre, "HITDC". Since first introduced our hospitality programmes in 1984, HITDC has been the forerunner in the field of hospitality training in Hong Kong. Together with our training spa and training restaurants, The T Hotel forms a vital element of the HITDC's ongoing initiative to provide integral vocational training beyond the classroom environment. The T Hotel is operated by trainees under the supervision of experienced professionals from various fields of the hospitality industry.As our trainees deliver this unique brand of hospitality while in return receive world-class vocational training, we look forward to welcoming you to The T Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The T Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The T Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The T Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.