We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms, great price (hotel comparison sites)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bauhinia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Bauhinia Hotel to your Saves list
The Bauhinia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5-9 Observatory Court, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 129 Reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great location, nice rooms, great price (hotel comparison sites)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nightsin august (£64 a night for double- through kayak). Great location near Nathan road and Kowloon park (swimming). Also near to knutsford terrace for bars and pubs.

Great hotel- stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    71
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
56
18
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Room is clean and got free upgrade so would consider spacious as there is a small living room that has a sofa and TV beside a TV at the bedroom.
There are amenities provided as well as bathrobe and slippers. bathroom is rather spacious and clean too
Location - perfect to me. Close to ferry terminal to Macau as well as from Shenzhen. 10 mins walk to MTR where airport express is located. Sheung Wan MTR station is just round the corner of the building (exit B).

Free Wi-Fi at level 4 and cable connection in room. No Wi-Fi in room though - I tried with the password but cannot log in and was told that there is no Wi-Fi in the room.

If I were to go to Hong Kong via Shenzhen or the other way round, this would be my first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narre Warren, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I loved this hotel. Got off the train and with the help of Google maps quickly found it. It is down a bit of a back alley, but it is so close to Nathan Rd & is about 1 minute walk to Kimberly Rd. I checked in at 00:00 and the staff were brilliant and even gave me a free upgrade. The room was spacious for a HK hotel room and the room was amazingly nice. Great view of the Hong Kong skyline from my room!

Am planning to stay here every time I come to HK!

Note: I stayed in the cheapest room

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greely CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This place is a great value. The room was very tastefully done and service was meticulous. It is walking distance to most tourist and shopping sites. It is a block from Knudsford food terrance and some great food. The view from our 15th floor room was to two sides. Do not let reception being on the 19th floor put you off.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room. Ours #158 was fantastic especially for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great place with extremely fast internet. We got upgraded to the harbour view room which was awesome. Room is small, like all hotels in HK, but it was decent for the two of us. Room was sufficiently clean. A tad far from the MRT entrance (about 15 min walk) but its ok since there are restaurants and shops along the way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This was a very last minute booking when we failed to get on our ongoing flight whilst in transit in HK. I didn't have much time to research but know the Tsim Sha Tsui area and this seemed to be the best deal for the price.

The taxi driver had problems finding it (as did others in the reviews) and we directed him using our map. I was a bit shocked at the location in what looked like a bit of a shabby back street up a steep, if short hill.

First impressions were not good as the hotel doesn't have a proper reception, just a side doorway into a lift lobby. The lift was in the process of refurbishment and was lined with plywood and tape - rather depressing! The reception on the 9th floor was just a very small area in front of the lift and there were virtually no facilities other than a very small bar/lounge area which I couldn't have imagined spending time in.

The room was pleasant if compact and the bathroom an attractive but unusual design which rather dominated the room. Definitely not for anyone who values their privacy. It looked new and was very nicely decorated.

I would really put this more in the category of an apartotel rather than a hotel. The staff were pleasant at the desk but other than check in/check out there was no service or facilities to enjoy. The dual aspect views from the windows on our very high floor were great. I was envious of the large public pool complex in the park below. The free wifi was a bonus, a major irritant when it's lacking or charged for.

The area seemed very strange at night. We ventured out for something to eat, by this time very late at night and had a bad experience in the local traditional chinese restaurant (didn't note the name) but they appeared not to understand English. Even though I carefully pointed out and confirmed my dish I was brought something totally different containing lots of fatty pork (I don't eat meat!) the waiter just walked off when I objected and asked for it to be changed. By this time I was too tired to bother. Incidentally this was the only bad meal I had in HK.

The next day the area appeared less seedy and and turned out to be very convenient for sightseeing. The free airport bus at the bottom of the short hill was a real bonus.

I wouldn't plan to stay again at this hotel, though if it was the cheapest in the category I might be swayed. It was however preferable to the BP International where we stayed the following night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I have stayed at many other hotels in the same price range while staying in Kowloon- this hotel had the nicest rooms by far. (That being said, I had a deluxe room with a great view of the harbor). The location is great and you can walk to the MTR in about 5 minutes. There are countless restaurants and bars in the area.

The outside of the building isn't too impressive, but once you are inside the lobby you can see that the place is well taken care of. (One elevator was being worked on while I was there and while it was obviously under repair, the space was still clean).

I would happily stay at the Bauhinia again. Also, every single staff member I came in contact with was extremely helpful and polite and seemed genuinely concerned about making my stay enjoyable. (this has not been true for me at other hotels in the area).

Room Tip: ask for a harbor view and get a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bauhinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bauhinia Hotel

Address: No.5-9 Observatory Court, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bauhinia Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Bauhinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bauhinia Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bauhinia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.