We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tapas and fantastic cocktails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cicada - CLOSED

Cicada
4 Shelley Street, SOHO, Central, Hong Kong http://www.enoteca.hk/cicada/cicada.html, China (Central)
+852 2521 8188
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Tapas, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great tapas and fantastic cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stumbled on this place by accident but it quickly became our favorite place to go for drinks and tapas.
The cocktails are unbelievably cheep during happy hour and very good. This place is unique in that every dish we ordered was truly perfect. The atmosphere is really nice and a great place to meet with friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for having good time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Hi, we went there in evening about 8.30pm and it was full, we luckily got the table immediately.......the owner is great guy, he talks about his food, his restaurant .....and he says don't expect anything authentic.
Very good food but a bit spicy for me.
Cocktails were fantastic too.....
Over all I recommend this place to everyone, if you like nice place with good service this is for you.
Cicada keep it up....

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good tapas and excellent wines by the glass”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We visited this tapas bar twice during our recent visit to HK. We weren't interested in the half price cocktails but enjoyed the good selection of wine by the glass. The food on our initial visit was excellent and I would have rated this higher except the food was decidedly average on our second visit. Good value - 5 tapas (servings were large), 3 glasses of wine, 2 water for $640HKD.
The biggest downside for us was the customers sitting near the entrance who smoked and the smoke drifting back in towards us as we were eating.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unbelievably cheap happy hour drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

$30 cocktails (which are still lethal despite the cut price), house wine, and beer. HH runs to about 8pm. Always packed as a result so you're advised to go early, or book a table for dinner as well (don't think they take bookings for just drinks). The food is average at most, and is firmly in the "Asian food in westerners' eyes" category - which could be either a blessing or a curse depending on who you are. If you get an escalator-side table you will be doing a lot of "see and be seen".

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Good food and friendly service. Busy and pretty lively. Staff great, especially with kids. They sell NZ Sauvignon blanc which is a rarity round here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cicada also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cicada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.