We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service to the rescue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Serviced Apartment - 111 High Street, Sai Ying Pun

Ovolo Serviced Apartment - 111 High Street, Sai Ying Pun
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hong Kong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ovolo Serviced Apartment - 111 High Street, Sai Ying Pun
No.111 High Street, Sai Ying Pun, Hong Kong, China (Sai Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 645 hotels in Hong Kong
Guangzhou, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Customer service to the rescue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This should have been a review for the Ovolo hotel, in Aberdeen.
However, due to problems with the A/C and no other rooms being available, we were asked to move to one of their serviced apartments.
We were promised that we would still receive all the amenities we would have got had we stayed at the hotel.
The assistant manager, was very humble, apologetic & gracious during this whole period.
Our taxi to the apartment was paid for, which was greatly appreciated.

Upon checking in, we were impressed by the size, design and comfort of the room.
The only negative was the TV could really have been updated.

The Assistant manager from the Aberdeen branch stayed in contact to make sure we were satisfied and to handle any requests we had.
We were granted late checkout, continental breakfast & were even gifted a free bottle of wine!

Truly the staff of Ovolo went above and beyond to keep us happy, which is high commendable.

Even though we were initially disappointed that we didn't get to experience the true Ovolo hotel, with their unique all day coffee & free happy hour.
We were never disappointed at all with the quality of the room given or the standard of staff performance.

We truly look forward to using Ovolo each time we come back to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Y, Manager at Ovolo Serviced Apartment - 111 High Street, Sai Ying Pun, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear GzLex,

Thank you for your review and we are delighted to see you that you like the size and design of room in the apartment.

Our team is ready and wish to see you in the coming trip and experience our hotels.

Best Regards,
Nicole Yuen
Residence Manager
Ovolo 111 High Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
1
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Moved out a few days ago after a seven month stay. Was in a 2 bedroom apartment, intelligently equipped with hi tech features, a well equipped kitchen and very modern bathroom with a great shower and very big bath, washing machine/dryer, very comfortable bed....the apartment is small but perfectly formed and with genius storage. As a longtime HKer I can vouch for the fact that the location is wonderful, slap bang in the middle of a myriad of small, really good restaurants and bars (Sai Ying Pun is turning into the new Soho) and on a brilliant network of bus and minbus routes that sees you in Tsim Sha Tsui though the Eastern Harbour tunnel in around 10 minutes, Stanley, Central and Wanchai to Causeway Bay. No need to schlep down to the MTR. In cooler weather a wander into Central takes around 20 minutes if you are a walker and this area is made for exploring.
The Ovolo Group is very clever. It has somehow managed to employ some of the friendliest and most helpful hotel staff I have had the pleasure to come across. Nicole and Winnie during the day and Bhatti or Khalid at night can not do enough for you and nothing is too much trouble.
Loved my stay and was sad to leave.

Room Tip: as there is only one apartment per floor the noise level has been kept to a minimum. A high floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our family (4 adults + 1 dog) moved in for a month in May into a 2-bedroom flat. Rooms are adequately equipped; small but reasonable for HK standard. Nice quiet neighborhood, convenient spot for eating out, transport, and grocery shopping. Very well equipped kitchen, high tech TV, wi-fi, including land phone for free local call. Very good housekeeping service, helpful, friendly, polite and responsive team of staff. Pleasantly surprised with the thoughtful welcome snacks (including pet snack for our dog!) and drinks, and daily fruit at reception hall. Very pet friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The apartment is spacious for a couple, though be warned, the bedroom is only just big enough to hold a double bed. Cleaning standards left something to be desired! Just don't look underneath anything... The air pollution is a huge problem, but that's true all over town. The air conditioning is very very noisy, to the point of being truly annoying, and you'll need to be using it 24/7. The location in 'western' is fun, as you have a chance to see one of the last areas of old Hong Kong, while it's being rebuilt and replaced before your eyes. Downside is you have to take a bus to the MTR (underground train). Very steep hills in this area, so not suitable for the unfit or chronically lazy. The flats have great views, provided you get one that is higher up. The staff are incredibly sweet and helpful - every single one of them. It's not posh, merely decent, and it's going to look very very run down in a couple of years, as standards of construction are very poor. But if you want a but of independence, and a kitchen and washing machine, this works well. Not recommended for longer stays.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on one of the higher floors for a great view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Serviced Apartment - 111 High Street, Sai Ying Pun, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Sheherezade,

Very much appreciate you taking the time share your feedback about your experience at Ovolo 111 High Street. We regret that housekeeping was not up to our high standards and have since made adjustments to ensure a much more efficient and clean experience for all of our residents. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on this matter. On your notes on the AC unit nuisance and construction we have since made adjustments that will improve upon our offering. Should you want to stay at our serviced apartment in the future we are confident you would enjoy a much more fulfilling experience.

It is good to read that you enjoyed the serviced apartment location in Western District and that our staff were friendly and helpful in catering to your needs. We have shared these positive comments with them. Thank you again for sharing your views and opinion. We value your feedback.

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfasdfa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Great Product. Great Quiet Location. Friendly staff. Not out of the world amazing, but something that will make you feel like you are at home.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ovolo Serviced Apartment - 111 High Street, Sai Ying Pun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Serviced Apartment - 111 High Street, Sai Ying Pun

Address: No.111 High Street, Sai Ying Pun, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 645 hotels in Hong Kong
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Ovolo 111 High Street each suite takes up an entire floor and, with harbor views and pet friendly rules, our guests have the ability to relax and recharge in bright comfortable living spaces. Includes: - Apple TV - Free WiFi - Free Self Laundry - Free Local Calls - Flexible Check Out - Smoke Free ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ovolo Serviced Apartment - 111 High Street, Sai Ying Pun Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovolo Serviced Apartment - 111 High Street, Sai Ying Pun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ovolo Serviced Apartment - 111 High Street, Sai Ying Pun to your Saves list