We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Отличный отель!!!! / Wonderful hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly on Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly on Wellington to your Saves list
Butterfly on Wellington
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
only on butterflyhk.com
Ranked #38 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Отличный отель!!!! / Wonderful hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Расположение прекрасное! Вид из номера на 26 этаже отличный! Комната и сервис прекрасные!!! Всем рекомендую!

The location is wonderful! The view from the room on 26th floor is great! The room and service are fantastic! I strongly recommend to stay in Butterfly on Wellington!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review and recommendation! We hope there's a chance to serving you again in Butterfly on Wellington very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    235
    59
    10
    7
See reviews for
56
193
90
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Butterfly on Wellington is small, elegant boutique hotel, well located for eating, shopping and enjoying Hong Kong's vibrant nightlife on foot. For those who seek a local flavour, a colorful market selling almost any food you can imagine is just around the corner (if no for buying, definitely for looking!). Checking in was a breeze and the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was small but lovely (albeit a little noisy), with a very good shower and all the amenities we expected. This hotel would be just "nice" anywhere else, but it's very good location is what gives it the edge. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments, it's lovely to know you enjoyed our hotel location, design and our guest services as well so much. Central is indeed a very unique district which you can explore both the most vibrant entertainment and local characteristics at the same time, hope you had a great time discovering around. Thanks again for your encouraging comment and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I'm always trying new hotels in HK, looking for that perfect balance of location, comfort, and value. That is to say, until I found Butterfly on Wellington!

This is a wonderfully located boutique hotel right in the heart of Central. We had easy walking access to dining, shopping, and nightlife. The Superior room was sizable with plenty of space to move around, and the bathroom was enormous with enough room in the shower to fit Hef and all his ex girlfriends.

If you're lucky enough to get a high floor (we had 25) you'll sleep like a baby in perfect quiet, with no street noise whatsoever (actually this part of Wellington is pretty narrow, so there probably isn't any noise from cars/traffic past 9 anyway)

Check in and staff were speedy and friendly. I'll be back soon!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
It's wonderful reading your encouraging comment. We will definitely continue to strive and offer top notch experience for you in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a bigger room with king size bed room 2603 on the top floor, so lovely views and lots of space as we were there for a week - massive shower - loved that shower!

Room has good comfortable bed (and I suffer from aches from hard beds and coped fine) plenty of room for storage, kettle, fridge, coffee maker - there are computers in main area but we had free wi-fi so used our own technology anyway in our room with no problems. The room was clean tidy and the staff all very welcoming. Best of all I did "hint" that it was my husbands big birthday and they left him a card and a lovely little choc cake with fruit on top which he enjoyed for a couple of days (thanks to fridge) - nice surprise for him. They also asked when we checked out if he'd had a nice birthday - so kind.

Location - 10 min walk from Central and Hong Kong station, so no need for Cabs anywhere - got the MTR airport link train and a 10 min walk round the corner to the hotel - someone else mentioned too, there is a drop off for your luggage downstairs there so you can get rid of bags early in the day on your last day - although the hotel happy to hold them for you too of course. You are down the elevator link to loads of restaurants - so many were fab, but loved TAPEO a sit at the bar type Tapas - amazing food and watching them cook it is entertainment too. Had no bad experiences on food really.

Buses and trains work brilliantly on time, had to wait all of 10 mins for a bus at any one time I think - and that was in the middle of no where. Explore, it feels really safe and so many people happy to point you in the right direction if you get lost. We got the 92 bus to a lovely seaside town Sai Kung for amazing seafood, walked the Dragons back - loads of ups and downs (mind your knees), Disney (the train is amazing - mickey shaped windows etc and got out of there and back to hotel in 30 mins after the fireworks - we were amazed) The Big Buddha (don't miss the wisdom walk here too- only 15 min stroll), 10,000 Buddhas (free)- Chi lin nunnery and gardens,(free and beautiful) we went up the Peak, Hong Kong Park has a wonderful walk through Aviary and the Central Park has a mini zoo - all lovely to visit for free. So much more than Shopping!!

Would definitely visit Hong Kong again, and stay here. My husband has been about 5 times on business and says he's staying at this one again next time as it was so comfortable - so I think that says it all.

Room Tip: we went for the larger room as we were there for a week, but think the area is quiet at night so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your lovely feedback from your recent experience with us. We are excited and joyful to have been part of your husband's special birthday celebration. We are delighted you two enjoyed such a wonderful and memorable stay and we look forward to being of service to you for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Butterfly on Wellington is one of those hidden secrets that must be shared. Great location, clean rooms, wonderful shower with plently of hot water, coffee machine in room and lovely staff. We will be back again to enjoy what Hong Kong has to offer and will only stay at Butterfly on Wellington.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra for superior room on higher level with larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing such gracious feedback. We really appreciate your support and we will surely work our best every day to offer best standard of guest service and accommodations. It was our pleasure to be your host and we can’t wait to see you again in not far future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here at the end of our trip before flying back to Canada.The hotel is close to the elevated walkways that come from Hong Kong station in the IFC. Use this instead of cabs, much more timely. Also use the in town baggage/flight check in when leaving, much easier than hauling bags around and very efficient.
Rooms was good and kept clean. Has a small fridge in it for storing breakfast items. Small kettle in room and Nescafe instant coffees /tea. We had room 1705 which was a corner room. Well laid out non smoking room, average sized/good bathroom.
Location is great for seeing Kowloon, Victoria Tram, Schawn Wan. Wing On, a depart. store close by. But the markets are right around you which is terrific, and the food near by Tsim Chi Lim Noodle is excellent!

Room Tip: We stayed in 1705 which is a corner room well laid out. Ask for a corner room I guess. Just be awar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to advise other TripAdvisor readers of your experience staying as our guest at Butterfly. We were delighted to welcome you and to hear that you enjoyed your time in Hong Kong. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance to make your trip become more enjoyable in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Just the basic essentials is what you'll find here. The beds, rooms and bathrooms are tiny and there is no restaurant or room service offered. They don't even have CNN on the television as an option! I guess if you are looking for a good value in a clean and safe hotel then this is a choice you should consider. The staff is very friendly. Just not my type of hotel I guess.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks a lot for sharing your feedback with us and we are happy to hear your compliment for our guest services team. It's a pity that we did not take the initiative to offer you a larger sized room which should definitely suit your need better. We do look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back as we believe we are capable to offer you an even better overall experience staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly on Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.