We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel, Wall placed, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly on Wellington

Save Saved
You added Butterfly on Wellington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
only on butterflyhk.com
Ranked #45 of 611 hotels in Hong Kong
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Cosy hotel, Wall placed, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent 3 days in this hotel... Very cosy atmosphere, excellent service and in a good value for money..
The hotel is located in a fantastic place, very close to all the public transport and importants shops and streets
So.... if I ever will be back to HK I definitely choose this hotel again.
Chance to improve: They don’t have breakfast service.... I’m sure they can find the place and the logistic to organize it... A hotel without breakfast service it sounds as incomplete... Or in any case you can improve the coffee service at room giving a better experience to customers

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade to have your room in a higher flat... it worht it.... Views over HK are breathtaking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your great review and it is definitely our pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to HK!

We will surely take note of your improvement suggestion, actually in 2 room types - Wellington Executive and Butterfly Suite, we provide Nespresso coffee machine for our guests' enjoyment too, do consider these room types when you are traveling with us again! We will also study further the enhancement in this area as well so to offer you an even more enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    217
    57
    10
    6
See reviews for
50
180
78
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Positives:
This is a very good value hotel in a fabulous location. The staff are generally attentive and helpful. For example, the delightful Ms Jane at the entrance: she manages the door in a sweet and cheerful manner. Amazing location – only a few steps from the action, yet situated on a street with real HK character. Decent rooms. Comfortable beds with a choice of pillows. Large drawers for those not travelling light. A DVD player.

Imperfections:
This hotel is obviously very busy, and it shows. The bedroom is beginning to look worn. Room 1503 looked like it hadn’t been deep cleaned in a long time, if ever. The carpet looks tired. It's as if Housekeeping is whizzing through those rooms. The room was not exactly dirty, but not really clean. For example, the wooden furniture is dusty; the bedside note pad holder is ingrained with old dust. The rainshower didn’t work with hot water, although the handheld did. The slippers are cheap. The TV is tiny (and doesn’t show English football).

One more thing, although it’s literally outside the hotel’s control: Even though the hotel location is unbeatable for people visiting Lan Kwai Fong, those who may stumble back drunk should not stay here. Every night, a portion of the street becomes a temporary garbage dump, just 2o metres from the hotel entrance. That part of the street becomes slippery, not to mention unattractive. The garbage is removed by morning, but the street is never really clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for spending time on this feedback. We hope you had a pleasant stay and that our services and overall experience were to your liking. Jane is indeed one of our prized members of the team as she is always cheerful and loves to interact with our guests.

And we appreciate a lot your comments regarding the room's quality. From what you mentioned, we understand there's a definite needs for us to pay extra effort to monitor each room's standard. We are confident that you will witness our big improvement during your next stay.

Thank you for your time and we’d love to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great little hotel in the heart of Hong Kong Island. The rooms are small but fantastically appointed and spotlessly clean with extremely comfortable beds.
The staff are plentiful and wonderfully attentive. They really make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for such great recommendations. It is our greatest pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and we are delighted that our guest services team have made your trip a smooth and comfortable experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My stay at Butterfly On Wellington was memorable.
The property is located in the central part of HK with most of the commercial units located at walkable distances, particularly small cafe's where one can enjoy food to your liking at reasonable prices like the room tariffs of the hotel.All the staff members with whom I came in contact during my stay were very polite, friendly & very helpful when required.
My special thanks goes to Ms.Mariam Hussain, who is a gem of a person.
I will definately recommend this superb hotel to all my friends & four of my relatives have already done the hotel reservation to celebrate the coming New Year.
Wishing Butterfly On Wellington & all its staff members lots of good luck.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
It's simply our great pleasure to hear your wonderful feedback. Mariam and everyone at our guest services team are glad to serve you here in Butterfly on Wellington. We can't wait to welcoming you again during your next stay in New Year! Let's be our fan on Butterfly hotels' Facebook and keep in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

extremely convenient location, close to central MTR station and the Airport express Hong Kong station.
Nice clean room and facilities, the hotel staffs were all very friendly, willing to help and polite
which believe me is not something that can be found easily in Hong Kong .
The hotel is also very close to the night life hot spot in Hong Kong.
over all it was by far ones of the the best hotels I've stayed in Hong Kong and I would definitely come back and also recommend others to stay there when they visit Hong Kong.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your recommendations. It is always very delightful to hear that our guests enjoyed staying with us. Our guest services staff team will be pleased to know their efforts and services were appreciated as we try very hard to provide top quality and personalized services to each and every one of our guests.

Entertainment spots at Soho and Lan Kwai Fong are indeed a must go for partygoers especially when our hotel is just a few blocks away. We hope you had a blast and we look forward to see your again during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Last week, I went down to Hong Kong and stayed at the "Butterfly on Wellington". I must say that's my very first time there. Despite their sub-5 star price, their level of service is on a par with what you'd normally expect from a 5-star hotel. In particular, I'm very much impressed by the speed of their response.

The location, which is within walking distance from the commercial hub of the city, is unparalled. You can get to the central district such as IFC, Landmark Tower, HSBC Building etc. in 10 minutes and to the nearest subway station in 6 - 7 minutes on foot. There are plenty of eateries catering for a great variety of cuisines around. To name a few, the Hong Kong Yung Kee Restaurant, serving the world famous roast gooses, is only 500 meters apart. If you want to find a place to kill time in the evening, Lan Kwai Fong, which is also within the 500 meters radius of Butterfly, will be a perfect answer.

On the last day of my trip, I spent 8 minutes again on foot using the covered walkway and checked in my baggage at the IFC City Check-in Centre in the morning though my flight scheduled for departure in the late evening. After check-in, the rest is fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are very proud that you compared our services as 5 star standards, thanks so much for such compliment!

We are always striving to provide the highest quality of personalized services to our guests that can promote a comfortable and special hotel experience. Our hotel is located at one of the most convenient places in Hong Kong with everything you need just steps away. We hope you had fun exploring around the neighbourhood which offers a variety of food choices and late night activities. Thanks again and we would love to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed here on a solo trip to Hong Kong last year. The location is great, not too far from the metro (5-10 minute walk or so?) close walk to lots of things to see and a great launching point. You are also near the traveling escalators in HK. I know I wanted to go out at night and I was not a too far from a lot of great night spots in Central. You're also enough distance away that there isn't any noise either.

Room got upgraded for free on arrival and I appreciated little touches like having toothbrushes in case you forgot and adapters included in the room and free wifi. I'd highly recommend this to anyone and I had a great nights sleep on the comfortable beds in there. Staff was very friendly as well

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your great review, we hope you enjoyed staying with us just as much as we did and that you found everything up to your expectations.

Glad that you liked our beds too, it is Sealy mattress and we believe our investment has been paid. Hope you had fun exploring the Central area with us and we look forward to offer you another wonderful boutique hotel experience very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly on Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.