We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet boutique hotel in Central HK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly on Wellington

Save Saved
You added Butterfly on Wellington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
only on butterflyhk.com
Ranked #45 of 611 hotels in Hong Kong
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quiet boutique hotel in Central HK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and we believe that it's a practical quirky little boutique hotel. If you are looking for a hotel to lazy around or enjoy a nice breakfast or meal, this is not the place to go:
- central location (near escalator and close to Central MTR station)
- very clean, stylish boutique hotel
- no breakfast option possible but hotel does have a Nespresso machine available at reception and tea is available in the rooms (no milk though) and there is a small breakfast diner litterally across the road that we enjoyed as it serves eggs, toast and fresh juices & smoothies.
- the rooms are small but it did not bother us. the beds are very comfortable and we were mainly there to sleep so that was perfect.
- the bathroom goodies are quite limited
- no restaurant, no bar
- free Wifi although it often did not work in our room on the 13th floor...
Would we go back: we might! although we may choose a slightly larger hotel next time where it is possible to hang out for a cocktail whilst reading emails!

Room Tip: Make sure the Wifi works in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks so much for writing us this positive review! We use Sealy mattress in all guest rooms and our investment has really paid off.

We understand the importance of Wi-Fi connection and we did monitor it in different area in the hotel regularly. We will pay more attention on ensuring the connection stability and please accept our apology for the inconvenience you have encountered.

Thanks a lot for your other opinions too. We have 4 different room types available for you to choose in Butterfly on Wellington, please do not hesitate to contact us directly to get more information about the room sizes and features and we would be most grateful to offer a room type meeting your expectation. Thanks again and look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    217
    57
    10
    6
See reviews for
50
180
78
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great, great location. Literally 30 seconds walk to the escalator. Room nicely appointed and very quiet.

Only negative side was the over zealous housekeeping staff who were so keen to get in, that they would ring the bell and call "housekeeping", but it would be more like "houseke" and they would be opening the door. Not great if you're in the middle of getting dressed. I soon learnt to keep the 'do not disturb' sign on the door at all times I was in there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks so much for your comment!

We are pleased that you liked your stay at Butterfly on Wellington. Your experience about our housekeeping service is not the usual standard we offer to guests. We have circulated your experience immediately with our housekeeping staffs and we will pay more attention on this part in order to avoid unnecessary disturbance in future.

Great thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you again in your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

excellent quiet central location and ease of use on wifi internet. the experience on the whole was good. I will recommend this boutique hotel for friends, couples and business (without breakfast) for their visit. It's within walking distance to the famous Yungkee roast duck place and 5mins walk to Central MTR station.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are decently sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! Besides Yungkee, there are lots of other famous and spectacular eateries all within walking distance from Butterfly on Wellington. During your next visit, do seek for our guest services team's recommendation and surely you will have many more great findings here.

Thanks again and we hope to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Butterfly on Wellington is the second butterfly location we tried in Hong Kong in the space of 3 weeks,the other being just of Nathan Road in Tsim Sh Tsui (Butterfly on Pratt).The comments regarding both properties are similar and seem to represent this chain.
Location - in both cases (wellington and Pratt) - is superb - right in the heart of events in the city.The Wellington st location is a few steps from Central and HKG MRT,queens road central,De Voux road ,hollywood road etc - superb location in Central for a tourist.
The service is great - warm and efficient - with the staff trying hard to meet all requests and requirements - for example - the lovely door lady in Wellington rushed out with an umbrella for us seeing the rain outside and our hestitation to step out of the hotel foyer.
The down side is the tiny rooms - around 22 square meters - so basically a double bed fills the space,the bathroom-shower is functional but also on the small size,and the glass doors may be trendy but left me feeling uncomfortable..
bottom line - if u can handle the claustrophobia - Butterfly properties make for a good,reasonably priced 3 star accomodation solutiion right near the action in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: get higher floors to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your support for our Butterfly hotels. We are pleased to hear your compliments on our hotel locations & our warm services.

Regarding the room size, we are regretful that we have not meet your expectations during this visit. When you plan to visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will surely assist on arranging you more spacious guest rooms.

Thank you once again and we look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is my fifth stay at BOW and I will stay again. Whilst the rooms are not big (are there any large rooms in Hong Kong), the position makes up for the room size.

As other reviewers have said, the location is fantastic. Close to SOHO & LKF restaurants and bars, the shrinking wet market in Graham Street, the ferries, the Hong Kong Station to the airport, the MTR. You can walk to them all.

The only down side was the speed of the WIFI.

Room Tip: pay a little more for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for another delightful comment and your continuous support for Butterfly on Wellington. We understand the importance of a speedy Wi-Fi connection, please rest assured that we will monitor this area and make improvement if necessary.

We look forward to offering you even better experience during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I arrived at BOW on the 8th March 2013 in the afternoon. Took a taxi from the Hong Kong Station and the place was within easy reach. BOW was very nicely tucked into the city with lots of restaurants and pubs. Place was very lively and there were many things to see and do nearby.
Service from the staff was perfect, they were attentive to details and were friendly, ready to chat you up if you were looking someone to talk to, or even if you were asking street directions. Rooms were well furnished and spacious, as I was on a business trip, the room was conducive for following up on some work at night. Will definitely be back here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your great comments! Indeed, Butterfly on Wellington is situated in a lively location where everything ranging from grocery stores, wet markets, night life, shopping and fine dining are just steps away.

It was so nice to hear that you have experienced our friendly & attentive service during your stay. Instead of the hotel facilities, our staffs are our biggest assets that offer each of our guest an enjoyable experience.

Thanks again for your encouraging feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great location...Right in the middle of everything! Walking distance to the noisiest street Lan Kwai Fong....If you are looking for party life and lots of restaurants that`s the right place! Very easy to find ...From the airport just get the airport express ,10 euros/pers to Hong Kong Centre.The Airport Express takes passengers to Central in just 24 minutes. Quick and comfortable.From there is 10 minutes walk! Taxi it is around 30 euros ,and charge for the lagguage in the boot and takes 1 hour.Nice and clean hotel ...and reasonable price for Hong Kong. Walking distance to the Star Fairy too which you must see in the day time and night...cost 20cents one way and it is every 10 minutes ...Great hotel ...especially if you stay only few days and you want to visit a lot...Very good wi-fi...Not a very good hotel for buggys and children ...To many stairs and escalators for that...

Room Tip: Location...Top floor it is better view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comment!

Being in the middle of everything is truly the beauty of Butterfly on Wellington. Whether our guests are having party in Lan Kwai Fong, chill-out in SoHo, or exploring traditional Chinese culture along Cat Street, they will found everything are easily accessible.

Be our guest again during your next trip to Hong Kong, we'll do our best to offer you an even more satisfying stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly on Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.