We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly on Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly on Wellington to your Saves list
Butterfly on Wellington
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
only on butterflyhk.com
Ranked #46 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 592 Reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This place has a great location. There is heaps to do near by and there is easy access to public transport to get elsewhere. I'm inclined to agree with a recent review that it is a little over-hyped. I read the reviews and thought wow - this must be great. Don't get me wrong, it was nice and reasonably priced and a nice place to stay - but it is a little old and boring stylistically. If you are looking for a nice and reasonably priced placed choice, it is ideal, just don't expect it to live up to the glamour of Hong Kong.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    236
    59
    10
    7
See reviews for
56
193
90
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

For a cheap (less than EUR 100 for a night) stay on 15th floor, it was well worth the money. Rooms are nicely decorated and bathroom is spacey. The whole hotel has a "traditional" atmosphere while at the same-time being in top shape (for what it is).

The reception floor and lounge is nice, and the room is decent - the iPhone charger is a plus :-). As it is located close to Airport Express and the central dinner'n'party area, it is convenient for everything. I used the lounge for my afternoon before an 8 p.m. flight. Nice lounge ambience, free wifi and free coffe (upon request) made it a great experience.

Only minus - no breakfast in hotel. But then again, nearest high-quality places are close by. I recommend "Brunch Club" more or less around the corner.

Room Tip: High or low floor does not really matter. Get the bigger room and a double bed instead of singles, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here because of the excellent reviews but felt somehow a little disappointed.
The facts in the other reviews are correct - you are in the middle of everything;free wifi;extremely friendly staff; nespresso machine with 2 capsules in my room (22nd floor);bathroom clean but mismatched sanitaryware; the photos of the rooms are accurate but the teak theme furniture was a little knocked about and the (clean) carpet was an unfortunate mustard colour that gave the room a murky feel - not unlike old Marriott colour schemes.
Perfectly fine for a couple of nights at the approx £80/night I paid but wouldn't pay much more than that.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the executive rooms which are a LITTLE bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spwnt 4 nights at the Butterfly on Wellington: rooms are big for HK standards and clean, the bathroom is quite small indeed and the glass door does not allow a lot of privacy.
The staff is very nice and helpful.
In the morning you can have an excellent Nespresso coffee at the reception and this is very important for me! The location is excellent both for visiting HK and for lunch / dinner / entertainment. It is near to the escalator and by foot you can reach a lot of bars and locals.
There is free wi fi. I absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you want to feel real Hong Kong and are tired of staying in the usual branded 5-star places - then Butterfly on Wellington is the place for you.

Located in the heart of central on Hong Kong Island you are just a few minutes walk away from two main MTR stations (Central and Hong Kong), 10 minutes walk away from central pier (Star Ferry) and close to the lower tram station for that obligatory visit to the top of the peak.

What's more - the moment you step out of the hotel you are literally "in the thick of it" - A few minutes walk and you can be in Lan Kwai Fong or Soho - with such a huge selection of cafes, bars and restaurants available in the area, it really isn't an issue that the hotel itself doesn't have a kitchen. BTW - we had our 7yr old daughter out with us every night and had no issues at restaurants or bars (of course we were selective).

If you need advice on where to go - just ask Mike at the front desk - he grew up in the neighbourhood and knows everything :)

The hotel itself is just fine. Rooms aren't huge (and we were in an executive room on 26th floor), but then again this is Hong Kong!

Decor is all tasteful and free WiFi throughout the hotel and iMac access in reception are nice touches.

I really wouldn't consider anywhere else when staying in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: The executive rooms higher up are 50% bigger and have free coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed before X-Mas at the Butterfly on Wellington for 3 nights and I must say, that the location is just perfect. The room we got was quite small and maybe a bit tired in regards of style and interior. But very functional. If one does not expect a hip hotel, with all amenities, this hotel is a good match.
There are plenty of restaurants in the area, therefore it really doesn’t matter that they have no F&B service. Great is the Nespresso Coffee in the Lobby lounge, just good for a cup before discovering the city. Just a detail, but I felt a bit sorry for the lady doorman - that was a first time experience for us - she was very helpful indeed, but when the luggage seems to be heavier then the person that is in charge to help guests, one might worry that she will hurt herself…

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a great little boutique hotel hidden on Wellington Street in Hong Kong. It's in a perfect location for getting around sites (and nightlife), especially if like me, you were only in Hong Kong for two nights. The trade off on location, being on the island and so close to everything, is not to expect amazing views - you'd be better getting something along the harbour in Kowloon overlooking the island. Naturally, Hong Kong being a crowded island, I didn't expect the rooms to be massive, but it did feel like the three of us had been crammed into a room that was just big enough for two, but with only 48 hours in the city, we didn't let that bother us too much. The hotel is beautifully finished, particularly the bedrooms and bathrooms. Free wifi throughout the hotel, and there were two iMac computers in the reception for guests to use. Check in (and check out) were really quick and easy. The staff were really friendly and very helpful. I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly on Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.