We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'hotel Island South

Save Saved
You added L'hotel Island South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
L'hotel Island South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 652 Hotels in Hong Kong
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

If you have pleasure in visiting Hong Kong, I would recommend the South Island hotel.
For us this in a good location.
The team is very attentive, agradble and correct, as they are almost all in Hong Kong.
The room are correct, clean and good service including wifi, this last if you go to work.
Restaurant service for us was the best, its amazing buffet service both ward staff and the kitchen.
A restaurant in another of its pros, was cleaning.
That is, a highly recommended hotel, in which we see not arrive, the day of return.
Congratulations to the team hotel Island South, from Andorra!

Room Tip: There are smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Hotel Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear SalonDelTe_DeIC,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and we are delighted to know that you are happy with your overall staying experience with us. As well as our helpful and friendly hotel staff have lived up to your expectation and made your stay with us enjoyable.

We are also glad that you recommend L’hotel Island South to other business travelers in Hong Kong.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon!

With kind regards,

Jaime Aromin
Hotel Manager
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    155
    52
    11
    11
See reviews for
80
66
26
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Robertson
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself is modern, well appointed and presented. The rooms are fine, especially those with hill views. The problem is location. It is well away form anything except Ocean World and surrounded by non descript buildings and a vast highway and MRT construction zone. The shuttle bus service to Hong Kong MRT is good but the traffic can be horrible and there is absolutely nowhere to eat except the hotel restaurant which has reasonable food but expensive. When the transport links are finished it will probably be a good place to stay. We had meetings there and it was an economical choice. Otherwise don't bother.

Room Tip: Get one either with Hill views or one on the very high floors otherwise all you see is walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Hotel Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Chewat Robertson,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your recent stay at L’hotel Island South.

We are glad to know that the view of hill side, shuttle bus arrangement have lived up to your expectation and made your stay with us enjoyable.
The transportation issue will be solved when the MTR line to Island South area would be completed soon.

Your comments have given us the highest reassurance that we are right on track. It will surely gives us the great pleasure to share your comments with the team.

Once again, we appreciate your invaluable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.


With kind regards,

Jaime Aromin
Hotel Manager
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location wise this hotel is far away from Central or Causeway Bay. However, they provide free shuttle between hotel and Central. Commute can be an hour or so.
MRT is scheduled to start operation in 2015, subway will help ease the pain of commute.
The room is spacious and air conditioning is strong which is super nice in August.
2 free bottled water daily and full set of toiletries are provided.
Concierge staff is excellent. They go all out to bring us a cab in extreme hot weather. Housekeeping staff is friendly.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Hotel Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear EdmontonAmy,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your recent stay at L’hotel Island South.

We are glad to know that our hotel transportation arrangement, spacious room, air conditioning and guest room amenities, as well as our helpful and friendly Concierge and Housekeeping staff have lived up to your expectation and made your stay with us enjoyable.

Your comments have given us the highest reassurance that we are right on track. We are chilled that our guests care to recognize us for a job well done. It will surely gives us the great pleasure to share your comments with the team.

Once again, we appreciate your invaluable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.


With kind regards,

Jaime Aromin
Hotel Manager
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for 1 night and was very impressed.
Staff are very friendly, upbeat and eager to please. There is an adequate gym facility and lovely outdoor pool.
Location is a little out the way but they provide a free shuttle to central station which makes it easy. They have a good extensive menu in the cafe upstairs. Rooms were niceand contemporary. Great value doe money overall, I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Hotel Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Queenbee7777,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor platform and we are glad to learn that you are satisfied with your overall staying experience with us, including hotel location, guest room environment, facilities, complimentary shuttle service and our extensive menu.

Your comments have given us the highest reassurance that we are right on track. It gives us the greatest pleasure to share your comments with the team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the L’hotel Island South soon.

With kind regards,

Jaime Aromin
Hotel Manager
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changchun, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went to this hotel for a conference in March. From the HK airport it took approximately one hour.
The hotel hotel features a nice lobby with aromatherapy even if at the time of the conference it was not always easy to get the elevator. Check-in staff very friendly and accommodating and me and my colleagues all had rooms on the same floor.
The good surprise comes with the room as it is huge for HK with great windows. The style is modern yet warm and it is very comfortable.
As the location is a bit of the grid walking to the downtown area is not really an option. It is quite easy to get a taxi and the hotel offers a regular shuttle. For taxis however it is better to avoid rush hour as the road at the back of the hotel is not very passing.
Definitely one of the best options for business travelers in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Hotel Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sebastien G,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and we are delighted to know that you are happy with your overall staying experience with us and your arrival experience from our staff.

We are also glad that you recommend L’hotel Island South to other business travelers in Hong Kong.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon!

With kind regards,

Jaime Aromin
Hotel Manager
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

OVER THE LAST 30 YEARS HAVE STAYED IN MANY HOTELS IN HONG HONG but if u are prepared to stay ON HONG ISLAND THROUGH THE TUNNEL NEAR OCEAN PARK U CAN GET A ROOM AT LEAST TWICE THE SIZE OF A NORMAL HONG KONG ROOM AT HALF THE PRICE.Normally I pay about HKD940 including all taxes.They have a free mini bus which departs every 30 minutes from the hotel to HongKong station and return...This hotel is faultless big,clean comfortable rooms with all the trimmings.U stay once u would never stay anywhere else....

Room Tip: all rooms same standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I was given a very nice welcome back by the staff and Felix who was very helpful and kind.

The rooms are still large and clean, although the doors have always been a problem and don't shut automatically, but sit slightly ajar until they are manually pushed shut. Bear this in mind if you are leaving in a hurry.

Breakfast in the LIS cafe was busy but good and the selection of food is large, I would suggest a second person on the egg station as the line becomes long on busy mornings.

The pool is nice and in August a welcome reprieve from the humid weather.

Dinner in the LIS is excellent, the sea food buffet looked fantastic and the al a carte menu is varied with a page of veggie and even gluten free options.

I've no doubt I would stay here again and once the MTR is compete this will be a great hotel with easy links to all of HK.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Hotel Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear thatsgreatforme,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us at your recent stay at L’hotel Island South. We are delighted to know that your overall staying experience with us are enjoyable and comfortable, in particular your service experience from our team member Felix which we will definitely share it with him.

On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for our shortfall in the door problem in our guest room and the egg station service during breakfast in our LIS Café. Rest assured that your comments have been shared among our team for review and improvement.

Once again, we appreciate your invaluable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With kind regards,

Jaime Aromin
Hotel Manager
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'hotel Island South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Island South

Address: No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'hotel Island South 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located in the southern district of Hong Kong Island, the contemporary L’hotel Island South is the development of the Chinachem Group. This 37-storey hotel offers 432 spacious and design-led guestrooms and suites that are redefining conventional notions of comfort and style. As a convenience for today's global travelers, L'hotel Island South provides complimentary Wi-Fi internet connection and an array of other advanced technologies, plus superb meeting and banquet venues, a gymnasium and an outdoor pool that offer green vistas, and comprehensive business support. Complementing all of these is an eco-friendly attitude as well as a smart casual service style from our friendly and highly dynamic hotel crew. Whether for business or leisure, guests also enjoy quick and easy access to the territory's prime business, shopping, dining and entertainment hubs as well as a host of nice beaches, nature parks, plus heritage and cultural trails along the southern end of Hong Kong Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your L'hotel Island South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Island South Hotel Hong Kong
L'Hotel Island South Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'hotel Island South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.