We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A high quality hotel in a very good price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'hotel Island South

Save Saved
You added L'hotel Island South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
L'hotel Island South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 643 hotels in Hong Kong
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A high quality hotel in a very good price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A design hotel with young staff full of good mood and energy. Simple breakfast (not huge variety) but in very good quality. Rooms and facilities in high quality about cleaning, design & furniture. Very good gym, well equipped & skillful trainers. Buffet restaurant in huge variety & very good quality. I would definitely recommend to a friend to book in this hotel. The only issue is the location in Aberdeen side away 10 minutes by taxi from the city center (Whanchai). On the other hand taxi & shuttle buses in Hong Kong are easy to find and chip.

Room Tip: Choose a hill side room the rooms in front are not peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    161
    53
    11
    10
See reviews for
79
64
26
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I returned to L'Hotel for the sixth time in May 2014 for another three weeks. Yes, it is a little inconvenient for transport, but the shuttle bus makes a lot different, and the MRT next year will alleviate. It is looking a little bit tired, but the value is beyond compare. The beds are especially comfortable, comparing to what we experienced with other 5 Stars hotel and I have spinal problems. The staff, especially from the lounge and the telephone switchboard, are extremely helpful and friendly, provided speedy responses to all needs. What else can I say!!! Thank you to all staff

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have less tour group are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
udaipur, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed in this hotel for 01 night 02.07.14 to 03.07.14. Booked 02 rooms but fully satified.
Rooms are gud, clean, well maintained, Pool my kids enjoyed very much. pickup & drop shuttle service amazing.

thanks for every thing

Room Tip: Gud Rooms on 27 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was there to meet up other friends. Need some ideas where to go and eat locally. As well as need some advise to eat in a nice restaurant. The Concierge staffs were helpful and pleasant. They advised us to go to these little shops to eat in ShamShuiPo having coffee, toast, local noodles. It was great. Also went around in the street next block which full of elcectronic stuffs. We also went to this restaurtant in Wanchai which was closing down soon up on the top floor where we can see the view and eat.

I like to say the Concierge staff have given up much help and good advise and we had a good trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose the L'hotel Island South as they had great long stay packages. We stayed at the hotel for a period of 2 weeks. Due to taking a long stay package our stay included complimentary wifi, daily buffet breakfast, mid-day snacks, mini bar snacks (replenished daily), use of the pool and gym and the shuttle service. The breakfast is limited and is monotonous if you are staying for an extended period. The hotel room is larger than most and has a huge king size bed. The room is serviced daily, with a daily towel change. The bathroom was clean, although it did have a sewage smell in the evenings. The TV had limited viewing channels. While the location is in Aberdeen and thus out of the hustle and bustle of the city we were able to get around easily. The hotels shuttle drops and collects from Hong Kong Station on a regular schedule (as well as to Ocean Park and Wan Chai at selected times). They were always on time. There are also bus stops a block or so from the hotel which are two or three bus stops to the Aberdeen Centre. The area around the hotel is completely industrial, there is however a nice little street behind the garage which has two good restaurants, a 7/11 and a Starbucks. These came in handy as the hotels restaurant is $$$. If needed, we would stay at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor has better views, facing Ocean Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Though the hotel location was a bit off the city, shuttle bus services was able to take us to town. We were only there for a short stay and we wanted to see everything. The Concierege staff was helpful, informative and pleasant, especially Ronald. He gave us details of directions where we wanted to go and he was nice and approachable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My hubby and I stayed there for 3 nights. It is very new and modern hotel with a very good pice. It is super fast to go to ocean park about 10 mins by hotel shuttle. It is bit far away from the central Hong Kong. But my hubby and I wasn't bothered too much as we are able to catch the shuttle to Hong Kong station then we can go everywhere from there. The only thing is that some time it is not enough shuttle. we called Taxi once, cost us fortune. We stayed in a 4 stars hotel in Kowloon can't even remember the name now was more expensive than L hotel but the room is much smaller and older.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'hotel Island South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Island South

Address: No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'hotel Island South 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located in the southern district of Hong Kong Island, the contemporary L’hotel Island South is the development of the Chinachem Group. This 37-storey hotel offers 432 spacious and design-led guestrooms and suites that are redefining conventional notions of comfort and style. As a convenience for today's global travelers, L'hotel Island South provides complimentary Wi-Fi internet connection and an array of other advanced technologies, plus superb meeting and banquet venues, a gymnasium and an outdoor pool that offer green vistas, and comprehensive business support. Complementing all of these is an eco-friendly attitude as well as a smart casual service style from our friendly and highly dynamic hotel crew. Whether for business or leisure, guests also enjoy quick and easy access to the territory's prime business, shopping, dining and entertainment hubs as well as a host of nice beaches, nature parks, plus heritage and cultural trails along the southern end of Hong Kong Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your L'hotel Island South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Island South Hotel Hong Kong
L'Hotel Island South Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'hotel Island South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.