We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay since close to Ocean park but other than that nothing else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'hotel Island South

Save Saved
You added L'hotel Island South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
L'hotel Island South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 652 hotels in Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good place to stay since close to Ocean park but other than that nothing else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on this hotel for 3 nights.
Strong points:
1. Close to ocean park that is why we stayed here.
2. Clean room and the staff are friendly.
3. I like their restaurant because of the live performance of the singer, he has a great voice.
4. Free shuttle bus
Weak points
1. Rooms are not that spacious, the wood floor have many scratches.
2. The location of the hotel, MTR is under construction.

Overall if you want a hotel close to ocean park then it is a nice place to stay since they have free shuttle bus going there that is the reason why we stayed here but other than that, nothing else.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Mulberry_alexa

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on TripAdvisor platform. We are delighted to learn that you have made the most out of our complimentary daily scheduled shuttle service! Other than our location being close to the Ocean Park, Jumbo Kingdom, Deep Water Bay, Repulse Bay and Stanley are simply within approximately 15 minutes taxi ride from our hotel. On your next visit, please feel free to reach our concierge staffs for more recommendations in exploring especially the relaxing southern part of Hong Kong!

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    155
    52
    11
    11
See reviews for
80
66
26
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I had the misfortune to spend a weekend at this hotel, and it was an experience I truly hope never to have to repeat. There was nothing redeeming about the hotel, it's staff or the services provided. The hotel didn't have my booking when I arrived [even with my email confirmation of booking from their sales manager], the staff were entirely unhelpful and unsympathetic, the restaurant was fully booked on the Saturday night, and there is nowehere in the vicinity to eat. Breakfast was uninspiring, with dishes and cutlery left out long after guests had left, I couldn't get any cash [nothing again nearby] so wasn't able even to have a drink in the bar. When I complained, the only thing to try to sweeten the experience was the offer of a late check out -- the last thing I wanted to do was stay longer!

Location is terrible, contruction of the MTR is ongoing, cleanliness is suspect - it's the one hotel where I've felt I needed to wear the complimentary slippers. When I went to the meeting I had on Saturday, I found I was the only person staying in this hotel [which had been recommended by the company hosting the meeting] which sums it all up. Stay once, but never again.

Room Tip: Get as high a room as possible to avoid construction noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear tsferguson

Please accept my sincere apologies concerning the case in which we may have caused you inconvenience. Your constructive comments have been shared among our team for investigation and internal review for improvement. Although they have proved to be simple human errors, they have highlighted miscommunications between various departments. To forestall recurrence of the same kind, please rest assured that the concerned department heads have been appraised of the situation and the staffs have been well-briefed again regarding service delivery and effective communications.

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention which enables us to evaluate our services and products more effectively. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience that the situation may have caused you. We sincerely hope this isolated incident will not impair your confidence with us and look forward to serving you better in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in a standard room on higher floor, which was OK, no frills/extras, not much of a view, interior somewhat "cheap-looking", although clean. Location is a drawback, can't walk around the hotel, surrounded by ugly construction sites and highways. Driving to the hotel entrance was stressful(we had a car with driver one day), due to detours from construction work and many one-way roads. Although distance to Central is short, one day, we had to take a detour to avoid traffic in the tunnel to Central, and it took a long time. Room rate is less expensive compared to hotels in Central, but traffic could be a problem. Breakfast buffet was somewhat disappointing, due to limited choice, but it was inexpensive, so can't complain. Altogether, relative to what you pay, this is a reasonable hotel, but nothing more than that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Myasha I

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on TripAdvisor platform. We apologize for our breakfast selection shortfall, and rest assured that your comments have been shared among our associates for review and future improvement. I agree with you that the building work of the MTR station project does have effects on the outlook of this area. However, with the extension of the MTR metro system in the Southern district of Hong Kong, it will certainly bring more convenience to our guests in the future. Meanwhile, our hotel provides complimentary daily scheduled shuttle bus service to Central (Airport Express Hong Kong Station), Causeway Bay, Wanchai, and the Ocean Park Hong Kong for guests’ convenience. In addition, Jumbo Kingdom, Deep Water Bay, Repulse Bay and Stanley are simply within approximately 15 minutes taxi ride from our hotel. On your next visit, please feel free to reach our concierge staffs for more recommendations in exploring Hong Kong.

Once again, thank you very much for bringing your concerns to our attention, and we hope to be of your service again to regain your confidence with us.

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is modern and the rooms are clean and you might have a good view, if you are on upper floors facing Ocean Park. The staff is very friendly and the service is rapid, sometimes even too rapid. The breakfast buffet was quite ok and you could order egg dishes, which were made for you. We once had dinner in the restaurant and it was good with lot of fresh salads and sea food. The only minus point is the situation. The hotel in in the middle of nowhere or building sites, so you can´t walk anywhere. Fortunately there is a shuttle bus to the center and Ocean Park. If the weather allows, you can have a good swim in the hotel´s swimming pool.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing Ocean Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Kilkki

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on TripAdvisor platform. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us! I agree with you that the building work of the MTR station project does have effects on the outlook of this area. However, with the extension of the MTR metro system in the Southern district of Hong Kong, it will certainly bring more convenience to our guests in the future. Other than our hotel location being close to the Ocean Park Hong Kong and Causeway Bay, Deep Water Bay, Repulse Bay and Stanley are simply within approximately 15 minutes taxi ride from our hotel. On your next visit, please do not hesitate to speak with our concierge staffs for recommendations in exploring the relaxing southern district of Hong Kong!

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on April 29th 2013.

The room is big, super comfortable bed and a standard bathroom. We had booked a room on the high floors( see their web page) to avoid too much noise from the construction below. We could not hear the construction at night but during the day. The AC however was horribly loud in the room.

The rooms have no nice extras or so. Just standard rooms with comfortable beds.

The surrounding is not good at all. Huge roads and construction.

The breakfast really is disappointing for the money spent. Just eggs and some basics. Croissants taste stale, coffee is basic, service is poor ( asked for coffee and got a " get it yourself" even though there were almost no guests and ton of staff, no fresh OJ or anything...m

Basically it is ok for a few nights if you need to be in the area.... But the area really is just a huge construction site now... S for normal tourist this hotel is NOT a good choice at all...

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear TravelRaoul

Thank you for giving us feedback via TripAdvisor platform. We are sorry to learn about your unpleasant experience, and please rest assured that your comments have been shared among our team for review and future improvement.

The fact that the building work of the MTR station project does affect the outlook of this area. However, with the extension of the MTR metro system in the Southern district of Hong Kong, it will certainly bring more convenience to our guests in the future.

Once again, thank you very much for bringing your concerns to our attention, and we sincerely look forward to another opportunity to rebuild your confidence with us in the future.

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Arriving here is a bit unnerving, especially during the present major building work on the new MTR line outside. However, the grim exterior surroundings betray a deceptively stylish establishment.
Unfortunately, the architectural term 'form over function' applies to this hotel, as the chic, stylish surroundings mask the lack of practical items (eg heater; drawers and storage). Certainly the staff brought a heater and bathrobes when asked (the second time), which made the chilly room more pleasant (and this from a Scotsman!).
I have to disagree on the review criticizing the cleanliness; I found the rooms exceptionally clean and the bed very comfortable. The shuttle into Central station was efficient and, with easy access to Aberdeen harbour, the location is ideal for the tourist.
I have stayed here a couple of times, and given the value for money this hotel represents in comparison to the expensive central ones, have no doubt I will return.

Room Tip: Stayed a few times and all rooms pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear EdinburghSky

Welcome back to our hotel, and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor platform! I agree with you that the outlook of the area does get affected by the building work of the MTR station project. However, with the extension of the MTR metro system in the Southern district of Hong Kong, it will definitely bring more convenience to our guests in the future. On your next visit, please feel free to reach our concierge staffs for recommendations in exploring Hong Kong!

Thank you for your comments once again, and we look forward to your next visit to Hong Kong!

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I have just left L'hotel & I would advise anyone NOT to stay there.
Apart from the fact that my room had ants & was dirty (hairs on the floor & in the bed - the bathroom was also filthy, with black hairs all in the bath & the sink was gungy from not being cleaned), the service was diabolical. Staff were rude & didn't seem to care. The hotel wasn't even capable of ordering a taxi & I had to wait out the front of the hotel (not ideal when leaving for the airport).
Also the pictures of the pool were very misleading - there was a lot of construction going on & you would only go for a swim in there if you don't mind swimming next to trucks, diggers & in a polluted/unrelaxing environment.
Don't don't stay here - expensive & dirty - I've stayed in nicer hostels.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Loulabelle2008

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor platform. We are sorry to learn about your uncomfortable experience. In order to carry out further investigation and address your concerns accordingly, we would appreciate if you could provide the details of your stay via info@lhotelislandsouth.com .

We sincerely hope to be of your service again and look forward to another opportunity to regain your confidence with us.

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'hotel Island South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Island South

Address: No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'hotel Island South 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located in the southern district of Hong Kong Island, the contemporary L’hotel Island South is the development of the Chinachem Group. This 37-storey hotel offers 432 spacious and design-led guestrooms and suites that are redefining conventional notions of comfort and style. As a convenience for today's global travelers, L'hotel Island South provides complimentary Wi-Fi internet connection and an array of other advanced technologies, plus superb meeting and banquet venues, a gymnasium and an outdoor pool that offer green vistas, and comprehensive business support. Complementing all of these is an eco-friendly attitude as well as a smart casual service style from our friendly and highly dynamic hotel crew. Whether for business or leisure, guests also enjoy quick and easy access to the territory's prime business, shopping, dining and entertainment hubs as well as a host of nice beaches, nature parks, plus heritage and cultural trails along the southern end of Hong Kong Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your L'hotel Island South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Island South Hotel Hong Kong
L'Hotel Island South Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'hotel Island South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.