We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'hotel Island South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added L'hotel Island South to your Saves list
L'hotel Island South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Superb Deal
Ranked #143 of 692 Hotels in Hong Kong
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Modern hotel, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is modern and the rooms are clean and you might have a good view, if you are on upper floors facing Ocean Park. The staff is very friendly and the service is rapid, sometimes even too rapid. The breakfast buffet was quite ok and you could order egg dishes, which were made for you. We once had dinner in the restaurant and it was good with lot of fresh salads and sea food. The only minus point is the situation. The hotel in in the middle of nowhere or building sites, so you can´t walk anywhere. Fortunately there is a shuttle bus to the center and Ocean Park. If the weather allows, you can have a good swim in the hotel´s swimming pool.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing Ocean Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Kilkki

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on TripAdvisor platform. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us! I agree with you that the building work of the MTR station project does have effects on the outlook of this area. However, with the extension of the MTR metro system in the Southern district of Hong Kong, it will certainly bring more convenience to our guests in the future. Other than our hotel location being close to the Ocean Park Hong Kong and Causeway Bay, Deep Water Bay, Repulse Bay and Stanley are simply within approximately 15 minutes taxi ride from our hotel. On your next visit, please do not hesitate to speak with our concierge staffs for recommendations in exploring the relaxing southern district of Hong Kong!

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    179
    60
    17
    13
See reviews for
92
75
30
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on April 29th 2013.

The room is big, super comfortable bed and a standard bathroom. We had booked a room on the high floors( see their web page) to avoid too much noise from the construction below. We could not hear the construction at night but during the day. The AC however was horribly loud in the room.

The rooms have no nice extras or so. Just standard rooms with comfortable beds.

The surrounding is not good at all. Huge roads and construction.

The breakfast really is disappointing for the money spent. Just eggs and some basics. Croissants taste stale, coffee is basic, service is poor ( asked for coffee and got a " get it yourself" even though there were almost no guests and ton of staff, no fresh OJ or anything...m

Basically it is ok for a few nights if you need to be in the area.... But the area really is just a huge construction site now... S for normal tourist this hotel is NOT a good choice at all...

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear TravelRaoul

Thank you for giving us feedback via TripAdvisor platform. We are sorry to learn about your unpleasant experience, and please rest assured that your comments have been shared among our team for review and future improvement.

The fact that the building work of the MTR station project does affect the outlook of this area. However, with the extension of the MTR metro system in the Southern district of Hong Kong, it will certainly bring more convenience to our guests in the future.

Once again, thank you very much for bringing your concerns to our attention, and we sincerely look forward to another opportunity to rebuild your confidence with us in the future.

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Arriving here is a bit unnerving, especially during the present major building work on the new MTR line outside. However, the grim exterior surroundings betray a deceptively stylish establishment.
Unfortunately, the architectural term 'form over function' applies to this hotel, as the chic, stylish surroundings mask the lack of practical items (eg heater; drawers and storage). Certainly the staff brought a heater and bathrobes when asked (the second time), which made the chilly room more pleasant (and this from a Scotsman!).
I have to disagree on the review criticizing the cleanliness; I found the rooms exceptionally clean and the bed very comfortable. The shuttle into Central station was efficient and, with easy access to Aberdeen harbour, the location is ideal for the tourist.
I have stayed here a couple of times, and given the value for money this hotel represents in comparison to the expensive central ones, have no doubt I will return.

Room Tip: Stayed a few times and all rooms pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear EdinburghSky

Welcome back to our hotel, and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor platform! I agree with you that the outlook of the area does get affected by the building work of the MTR station project. However, with the extension of the MTR metro system in the Southern district of Hong Kong, it will definitely bring more convenience to our guests in the future. On your next visit, please feel free to reach our concierge staffs for recommendations in exploring Hong Kong!

Thank you for your comments once again, and we look forward to your next visit to Hong Kong!

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have just left L'hotel & I would advise anyone NOT to stay there.
Apart from the fact that my room had ants & was dirty (hairs on the floor & in the bed - the bathroom was also filthy, with black hairs all in the bath & the sink was gungy from not being cleaned), the service was diabolical. Staff were rude & didn't seem to care. The hotel wasn't even capable of ordering a taxi & I had to wait out the front of the hotel (not ideal when leaving for the airport).
Also the pictures of the pool were very misleading - there was a lot of construction going on & you would only go for a swim in there if you don't mind swimming next to trucks, diggers & in a polluted/unrelaxing environment.
Don't don't stay here - expensive & dirty - I've stayed in nicer hostels.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Loulabelle2008

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor platform. We are sorry to learn about your uncomfortable experience. In order to carry out further investigation and address your concerns accordingly, we would appreciate if you could provide the details of your stay via info@lhotelislandsouth.com .

We sincerely hope to be of your service again and look forward to another opportunity to regain your confidence with us.

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel came in as a real blessing during my vacation to China & HKG last year. HKG being notorious for its expensive hotels and safety in SE Asian hotels being a cause of concerns, I was left with the daunting task of choosing a safe hotel for my family vacation which wouldn't eat into my travel budget significantly. I got the reference for this hotel through a friend of mine and till the time I reached the place, I had no clue on what to expect. If the roads leading up to the hotel is any indication of the quality of this place, not many first time travelers would actually "risk" going all the way to see what this hotel has to offer. First time in HKG, we took a cab from Central and the sped away leaving behind the city's sklyine and glitter into this dark part of HKG and I was seriously convinced that I had made a bad choice of staying in the shadiest area of HKG, if there existed one.

Word of advice to all prospective travellers; 1) the hotel runs free regular shuttle service from Central to the hotel whcih you shoudl avail of and 2) there is a lot of construction happening en route which is for the proposed MTR and this is but a minor glitch on what will turn out to be a very good experience thereafter. Lack of MTR connectivity is more than made up for by the regualar drop/pick up on offer from the Hotel to/from hotel to downtown HKG/Central.

The tariff is definitely reasonable by HKG standards though one might be tempted to think it is slightly more expensive than what one has to pay for a similar hotel in SE Asia. But the same applies for almost everything in this expensive city of HKG.

End of our four day stay, my family including my finicky mom and extremely finicky wife were mighty pleased with the place and had nothing to complain about, for a change. I would definitely like to recommend this place for all those family travelers looking for a safe, clean, and reasonable place to stay in HKG. Not elaborating on the other regular aspects like service, food, rooms, etc as all of it is quite standard with no room to complain and are already covered in the other reviews. Cheers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Moh_Bhatia

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor platform. We are delighted to learn that you and your family have had an enjoyable stay with us, and particularly made great use of our complimentary daily shuttle service travelling to Central! I agree with you that with the extension of the MTR metro system in the Southern district of Hong Kong, it will definitely bring more convenience to our guests. On your next visit, please feel free to reach our concierge staffs for recommendations in exploring Hong Kong!

Once again, thank you for your comments, and we look forward to be of your service again in the near future.

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Do not judge a book by it's cover. Likewise, don't be misled by the surroundings of L'Hotel Island South, which cannot possibly impress any tourist. In fact, there is nothing of interest or simple pleasure within walking distance of this hotel.

L'Hotel Island South is surprisingly modern, clean, comfortable, spacious by Hong Kong standards, a perfectly peaceful and friendly place for rest and recuperation after a long trip.

The nearest convenience stores, restaurants, and cafes are only HKD 20-30 (USD 2.5 to 3.0) away in Aberdeen by taxi. The hotel's shuttle service is incredibly prompt for on-time departures to Central and major attractions. Imagine being downtown in the Central of all things bright and beautiful Hong Kong in as little as eight (8) minutes, i.e., early in the morning or late at night, 20 minutes during day-time rush hours. Return trips to the hotel are equally efficient with on-time departures from Hong Kong Station (Central), Level 2.

L'Hotel Island South is a "Diamond in The Rough" for the right price and suitable clientele. What more can we ask for?

Room Tip: Hill/mountain view is very green and serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Hotel Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear EWRHKG

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor platform! We are delighted to hear that you have made the most out of our complimentary daily shuttle bus service that takes our guests directly to the Hong Kong Station situated in Central as well as the Ocean Park Hong Kong, one of the most internationally renowned theme parks! On your next visit, please feel free to reach our concierge staffs for recommendations in exploring Hong Kong, especially the southern part of the Island!

Once again, thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Jaime Aromin
Hotel Manager
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have often stayed at this hotel for business - very convenient, good rooms and restaurant&bar is nice. It is really nice every time we get a war welcome by one of the restaurant employees (forgot his name) - almost makes you feel at home!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Hotel Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Judith T

Thank you for your positive comments! It is encouraging to learn that our service has lived up to your expectations. When you plan for a return to Hong Kong, don’t forget to check out our exclusive accommodation and dining offers available at our hotel official website! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Jaime Aromin
Hotel Manager
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to L'hotel Island South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Island South

Address: No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'hotel Island South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located in the southern district of Hong Kong Island, the contemporary L’hotel Island South is the development of the Chinachem Group. This 37-storey hotel offers 432 spacious and design-led guestrooms and suites that are redefining conventional notions of comfort and style. As a convenience for today's global travelers, L'hotel Island South provides complimentary Wi-Fi internet connection and an array of other advanced technologies, plus superb meeting and banquet venues, a gymnasium and an outdoor pool that offer green vistas, and comprehensive business support. Complementing all of these is an eco-friendly attitude as well as a smart casual service style from our friendly and highly dynamic hotel crew. Whether for business or leisure, guests also enjoy quick and easy access to the territory's prime business, shopping, dining and entertainment hubs as well as a host of nice beaches, nature parks, plus heritage and cultural trails along the southern end of Hong Kong Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your L'hotel Island South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Island South Hotel Hong Kong
L'Hotel Island South Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'hotel Island South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.