We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So near but yet so far away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'hotel Island South

Save Saved
You added L'hotel Island South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
L'hotel Island South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 581 hotels in Hong Kong
Desoto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So near but yet so far away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The L'hotel island south is near all locations that tourist or business people are going to visit while
on Victoria island.
The hotel is new modern and clean. Competent and friendly staff. Good wi fi connections.
Hotel shuttle bus to main points of interest operate on the half hour. Local transit buses to Central, and most other areas of interest, stop at the side entrance to the hotel.
For guests that wish to walk to the Jumbo restaurant it is only about a twenty min walk. A walk to the water park about twenty five minutes.
Rooms are good size and very comfortable.
There is construction going on to build the MTR and I would inquire of the desk clerk of the best room, if you need to have extra quite during the hours between 0900 and 1600. Otherwise the
construction does not seem to be an issue.
Nice hotel for families with children, as it is so easy to get to the water park. I should point out that this is a real plus, because the shuttle goes to the park, and taxi service and bus service out of the park can be a Nightmare.
I plan on staying here on my future visits to HKG.

Room Tip: Request the higher floors above 25 as they have some great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Hotel Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear ppppDesoto

Happy Easter!

Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor platform! We are delighted to hear that you and your family have enjoyed the recent stay with us! Indeed, many of our valuable guests also found our hotel location convenient being especially close to the Ocean Park Hong Kong, one of the most international renowned amusement parks, and the Jumbo Kingdom, another popular attraction in Hong Kong Island!

Don’t forget to check out our latest special offers and updates on our hotel official website when you plan for a revisit to Hong Kong, and we wish to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Jaime Aromin
Hotel Manager
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    149
    52
    11
    10
See reviews for
74
61
25
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the reasonable rates and proximity to Ocean Park (billed as a 10-15 min walk from the hotel). When we arrived we realized that the route to Ocean Park is almost impossible with children as it involves crossing freeways, flyovers and lots of construction sites. in addition, there is absolutely nothing outside the hotel vicinity, it is basically on a high traffic freeway.

Thankfully they do provide shuttle buses but only one per hour. I witnessed a few guests being turned away as the bus was full...and presumably they had to wait for the next one.

Rooms are nicely done although a bit musty. Lots of long term residents staying next to us as evidenced by their drying racks and electrical appliances.

Overall, I though the hotel was well priced but more suited for travelers without children. Checking in took over an hour (3pm arrival but room not ready till 4) and my toddler was extremely fidgety as a result. Swimming pool closed till April (we didn't know this till we tried going that afternoon).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Hotel Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear bandargirl

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on TripAdvisor. Please accept our apologies for our service shortfall, and rest assured your constructive comments have been shared among our team for review and improvement. In order to provide personalized services, please do not hesitate to reach us directly at rsvns@lhotelislandsouth.com to inform us your special requests, which are subject to hotel availability upon check-in. We are sorry to learn that you and your family were unable to enjoy our swimming pool facility. In regards to the opening period and hours of our hotel facilities, kindly note that our hotel information and updates are available at our official website for your easy reference.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to another opportunity to be of your service again.

Yours sincerely,

Jaime Aromin
Hotel Manager
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

s'd be a 5 star rating. The 1 taken away is the location. However,the free shuttle every half an hr is a plus. This is my second stay and now I learned how to take the local bus and mini van, it is more flexible.
Rooms are big and spacious and bed comfy.
staff very willing to help with finding locations and giving directions by using local transportation. The buses have electronic stops in English as well so once U know which stop ro get off,and with the staff's help with marking on your map, it is easy.

Room Tip: I have 2 teenage kids with me and I stayed in a suite. It is better than 2 separate rooms in terms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Hotel Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear thegreattwins

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. It is encouraging to learn that you and your family have had a wonderful stay with us in Hong Kong! Your satisfactions are our motivations to strive for service excellence!

When you plan for a revisit to Hong Kong, please feel free to check our hotel official website for latest special offers for a more memorable and indulgent stay. It has been our honor to be of your service, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,

Jaime Aromin
Hotel Manager
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Free Room upgrade at checkin when I requested a high floor to city, mountain and sea view...can even see Ocean Park from our room so if you are in your room at 7pm, you can see the fountain light show with fireworks. Beautiful swimming pool not open until April but after being disappointed by this news, they are opening the pool early. Ocean Park passes are a deal at the front desk because you get 2consecutive days for the price of 1. Free shuttle to many areas of hong Kong, not just ocean park was so convenient...just show up 15 mins ahead and our family of 4 never had problems getting on. There are at least 3 places to buy drinks right outside the hotel but the Esso has the biggest selection. Directly across the street when you get out of P2 side entrance is an authentic restaurant where you can have breakfast sandwiches or noodles with the locals...just ask for the menu in English. 2 blocks away, there is a temple and right beside it is an authentic food court on the second floor again full of locals. Bathroom is well done with nice smelling shampoo and bath gel. Beds are a bit hard but really enjoying this hotel for the nice room and shuttle bus for the price, you can't complain. Our family of 4 is so comfortable and happy here.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet higher floor and we were upgraded to view room on 36th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Hotel Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear MaxieY

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, and we are thrilled to learn that you and your family have had a great stay with us!

Please feel free to check out our latest special offers on our official website when you plan for your next visit to Hong Kong. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Jaime Aromin
Hotel Manager
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were delighted that our room was upgraded from city view to hill view upon check-in. They have free shuttle bus from Hong Kong station that runs on scheduled time. The hotel room given to us was neat and spacious. The double bed was also big enough for me and my daughter for some stretching. They are also generous with toiletries when we requested for additional supply of shampoo and conditioner. They have free wi-fi as well but connection runs slow inside the room. Staff at the reception are accommodating. They have only one restaurant and bar in the hotel. The food was delicious but a little expensive. Places of interest like the Ocean Park and Jumbo Floating restaurant are only 10 mins away by taxi. Theres no convenience store or supermarkets nearby and walking outside the hotel is not a good idea because of the smoke coming from vehicles and dust from the ongoing construction in the area combined!

Room Tip: choose a room on high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear TereC421

Thank you for sharing your feedback with other exciting travelers on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to learn that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us, and made the most out of our location being close to the Ocean Park Hong Kong, one of the most internationally renowned theme parks, and the Jumbo Kingdom, another popular attraction in Hong Kong!

Once again, thank you for your comments, and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,

Venus Fung
Director of Sales
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This time, I stayed with Mom at L'Hotel and we were impressed with the services and facilities:

1. we ordered fried beef kway teow (room service) and it was promptly delivered to our room in less than 15 minutes (refer to photo for the delicious dish),
2. we were given a free upgrade to a high floor, city view room and the privacy and view were splendid,
3. the breakfast spread was not impressive but adequate. I especially liked the porridge and fresh fruits and fresh juice, and
4. the staff were all consistently helpful and cordial and professional in handling check-in and check-out and food orders.

Therefore, I will not hesitate staying at this hotel again when I next visit Hong Kong.

Tips:
the shuttle bus service at the hotel could be crowded at times and it is best avoided in the morning till noon. Hence, Mom and I took the public bus service instead. There is no problem taking the shuttle bus from IFC back to the hotel in the evenings. However, when it detoured to pick up passengers at Ocean Park, it was packed and could be slightly unbearable with tired and grumpy passengers.

Room Tip: High floor and not next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear JCPY

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for us on TripAdvisor.

Your positive comments are also a great motivator for us as we are constantly striving to exceed our guests expectations through delivering excellent service and product.

Thank you once again for your support, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,

Venus Fung
Director of Sales
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with friendly staffs , the hotel is very close to the theam park "ocean park " with just around 20minutes walk. Or we could choose to take the hotel shuttle bus to go (first come first serve basic) .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear ArielWc

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay us, and made the most out of our location being close to the Ocean Park Hong Kong, one of the most internationally renowned theme parks!

We hope to serve you again soon!

Best regards,

Venus Fung
Director of Sales
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'hotel Island South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Island South

Also Known As:
l`Hotel Island South Hotel
l`Hotel Island South Hotel Hong Kong
L'Hotel Island South Hong Kong
Address: No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'hotel Island South 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located in the southern district of Hong Kong Island, the contemporary L’hotel Island South is the development of the Chinachem Group. This 37-storey hotel offers 432 spacious and design-led guestrooms and suites that are redefining conventional notions of comfort and style. As a convenience for today's global travelers, L'hotel Island South provides complimentary Wi-Fi internet connection and an array of other advanced technologies, plus superb meeting and banquet venues, a gymnasium and an outdoor pool that offer green vistas, and comprehensive business support. Complementing all of these is an eco-friendly attitude as well as a smart casual service style from our friendly and highly dynamic hotel crew. Whether for business or leisure, guests also enjoy quick and easy access to the territory's prime business, shopping, dining and entertainment hubs as well as a host of nice beaches, nature parks, plus heritage and cultural trails along the southern end of Hong Kong Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your L'hotel Island South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'hotel Island South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.