We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'hotel Island South

Save Saved
You added L'hotel Island South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
L'hotel Island South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 645 hotels in Hong Kong
malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in this hotel.Room is ok and staff are helpful and polite.Shuttle bus is provided 1/2hrly to and from hong kong MTR station.Its quite punctual so make sure you're on time if you dont want to miss it.Board the shuttle at L2 Hong Kong MTR. Drop off is at level G.
If you're going to central station, you can just walk there frm HK station. Just follow signboard towards Island line ( blue color).
Tips for transport:
If you miss the hotel shuttle and want to go to central, take the local bus ( cheaper than taxi, and besides, taxi queue is long at the hotel). Go to P1 (side entrance of hotel) and turn right. Just a few metres away is a bus stop and some of the buses go to admiralty station or central station. The bus routes are displayed at the stop. U can also take a taxi frm here.(beats the long queue at the hotel!).
If you like to go shopping at outlet stores ( prada, max mara, hugo boss etc), head for south horizon (prada) and horizon plaza ( other outlets) situated at ap lei estates ( which is pretty near the hotel). From hotel side entrance at P1, turn left and walk towards the academy of medicine until you reach an overhead bridge(1- 2 min walk). Take the bridge and cross over the other side. There's a bus stop there( or u can also take a taxi from here {costs about 32HKD to horizon plaza}..).Take bus 590 to south horizon (prada outlet). To go to horizon plaza, if you're exiting prada, turn right and another right at the corner. Walk till u reach jusco living building. Cross the road and take the free shuttle to horizon plaza.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Isqanis

Thank you for choosing L’hotel Island South and taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We are delighted to learnt that you have had a pleasant stay with us, and made the most out of our convenient location and easily accessible public transportation in exploring Hong Kong.

May we take this opportunity to wish you and your family a wonderful Christmas and New Year!


Best regards,
Venus Fung
Director of Sales
L'hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    153
    50
    11
    10
See reviews for
79
64
26
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A rather soulless sterile hotel with truly dreadful outlook from almost every aspect yet despite that I probably would return. It is well priced, spotlessly clean and staff are friendly and helpful. Their spoken English is not perfect but we managed to glean most information we needed. The 'concierge' on level 4 is a loosely used definition and not what American tourists would expect. The hotel is situated on a busy dual carriageway with no walkable shops or restaurants BUT is very well appointed for busses into most prime areas, 10 mins from Causeway Bay, 5 mins to Happy Valley Races ( a good and cheap night out), close to Ocean Park and ideal for the conference we were attending. Public transport is very cheap especially with an Octopus Card available from Mtr stations and then useable on buses and trams. Taxis are cheap too. The hotel was reached by taxi from Central Station at cost of 95HKD ( 8.00 GBP) so overall location is not a deal breaker and the cost of the room makes up for it. There is a small pool and gym of which I was the only user in November when staff thought I was mad to brave the cool pool water. Refreshing on an overcast humid day.
Breakfast in the hotel is fairly unexciting. All the usual buffet fare but hot food looks as if its been there for ages so give that a miss; otherwise there are usual cereals, bread and pastries. Breakfast is advertised as available until 10.30 but it shuts promptly at ten thirty with food being removed from 10.29!! Waiting staff remind you every 5 mins from 10.15 that breakfast closes at 10.30 and whip any plate,cup or glass away as soon as is possible. Really they mean breakfast is available until ten fifteen and only then if you eat really quickly. We were similarly asked to vacate the hotel bar at 12.30am when we were sitting as a group of a dozen conference delegates sharing a last quiet beer/wine before bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Charlotte T

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback which you have clearly expressed your disappointment regarding our service standard.

Your feedback is very important to us. We are committed to continuously improve our service and product to be able to provide our guests a memorable stay at all times.
We have reviewed the various points you have raised, and we have taken the necessary corrective action with the department heads concerned.

On a separate note, we are delighted to learn that you have found public transportation easily accessible to/from our hotel.

We appreciate your support and look forward to having the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Venus Fung
Director of Sales
L'hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

the rooms are very spacious compared to toher hotels in hk. down side no breakfast included.
no complaints. easy stay. and very close to ocean park. but the staff is a bit grumpy, dont know why...they dont like to smile back when we smile at them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear 04202010Name

Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to bring your comments to our attention as your comments assist us in refining our quality of services.

We apologize that our service has not met with your expectation. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared among our team for review and future improvements. Meanwhile, we are pleased to learn that you have made the most out of our location situated close to Ocean Park.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us. We will be honored to be of service to you again on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Best regards,
Venus Fung
Director of Sales
L’hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel was convenient for a conference, the room modern and bright with a good view. Otherwise I would not choose to stay here. The breakfast buffet was very disappointing, with limited choices and indelible hot food. The location is a long way from most standard tourist destinations except Ocean Park, and the staff, with the exception of the friendly lady manager, we're not particularly helpful

Room Tip: Choose a high ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Hanella

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us as your comments do assist us in refining our quality of services.

We sincerely apologize that our breakfast selection has not met with your expectation. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared among our team for review and future improvements. Moreover, we will further reinforce our staff training to ensure exceptional customer service delivery.

In addition, we would like to share with you that we do offer complimentary daily scheduled shuttle bus service to/from our hotel, Ocean Park, and Hong Kong Station for Airport Express (Central).

Thank you once again for bringing your comments to our attention. We treasure your support and look forward to having an opportunity of serving you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Venus Fung
Director of Sales
L'hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macao
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I am a Macau resident and I booked this hotel after a friend’s recommendation to benefit from the Ocean Park promotion for Hong Kong and Macau residents, so it was a very good price for one night stay and two days entry tickets for 2 adults and 2 kids.
The hotel is close to Ocean Park and they have a shuttle bus service to go to Ocean Park, or you can take a taxi for only HK20.

It is not near if you plan to go to Hong Kong for sightseeing or shopping, but you can take their shuttle bus or the city bus; stations are just outside the side entrance and there are a lot of buses to Central, Tsim Sha Tsui, Admiralty or Stanley.
I saw MTR construction nearby, so in the future this hotel will be much easier to reach.
We took the bus 37 at Macau Ferry Terminal to go to this hotel and asked the driver where we should get off.

Check in time is quite late; only at 16h and check out is at 12h. They did keep our bags and gave us the tickets so we could go to Ocean Park. I asked to keep my son medicine in refrigerator, and they did.

We had a room with a nice view to a mountain. It is larger than average in Hong Kong, and it had two large beds (queen size). It has free wifi (they give you the password when you check in).
Toilet is also big, and has a big glass to the room, so you can use the natural light. It has blinds that you can close for privacy.

The hotel has a pool but we didn’t try it. We also didn’t try the breakfast or the restaurant.

There are tour groups coming to this hotel and they are very noisy, early in the morning or late in the evening or at any other time, slamming the doors and shouting or talking very loud.
My son had a strong headache and couldn’t rest in the room in the afternoon.

We had a problem with the air con. Even when turned off, the room temperature was at 19ºC. We complain and they send someone to repair it.

Last thing, I would recommend the hotel to have a cartoon channel for kids, like Disney or Nickelodeon as I saw a few families with kids there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear SmasKim

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us as your comments do assist us in refining our quality of services.

We apologize for any discomfort and inconvenience, please rest assured that your comments will be shared among our team for review and future improvements.

We hope to be of service to you again on your next visit to Hong Kong. Thank you once again and we will be delighted to welcome you back at L'hotel Island South in the near future.

Best regards,
Venus Fung
Director of Sales
L'hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I found this hotel to be very modern and clean. Very spacious rooms with good size bathrooms. The bar and cafe had a good selection of food and drink, and the staff were very friendly.if you are planning a trip to Ocean Park you could not choose a better location. Shuttle bus into central.

Room Tip: I chose a room with LiS package. Was on the 30th floor so great views over the city. Very quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for 7 nights and we were very well looked after. Nothing was too much trouble and every little detail is taken care of. We got an excellent deal from lastminute.com and it was amazing value for money. We were upgraded to a Hill view room on the 31st floor. The staff were all courteous and helpful. The only drawback was the location is not yet easy to get to. The underground will soon be opening to Wong Chuk Hang which will make commuting to Central and Causeway Bay easier. Otherwise, taxi rides are not that expensive. There is also a free shuttle bus every thirty minutes.

The hotel staff at the taxi rank have a nice habit of writing down taxi registration numbers for you so that if you are unfortunate enough to leave something behind, you will stand a chance in getting it back!

We feel very welcome there and will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'hotel Island South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Island South

Address: No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'hotel Island South 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located in the southern district of Hong Kong Island, the contemporary L’hotel Island South is the development of the Chinachem Group. This 37-storey hotel offers 432 spacious and design-led guestrooms and suites that are redefining conventional notions of comfort and style. As a convenience for today's global travelers, L'hotel Island South provides complimentary Wi-Fi internet connection and an array of other advanced technologies, plus superb meeting and banquet venues, a gymnasium and an outdoor pool that offer green vistas, and comprehensive business support. Complementing all of these is an eco-friendly attitude as well as a smart casual service style from our friendly and highly dynamic hotel crew. Whether for business or leisure, guests also enjoy quick and easy access to the territory's prime business, shopping, dining and entertainment hubs as well as a host of nice beaches, nature parks, plus heritage and cultural trails along the southern end of Hong Kong Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your L'hotel Island South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Island South Hotel Hong Kong
L'Hotel Island South Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'hotel Island South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.