We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'hotel Island South

Save Saved
You added L'hotel Island South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
L'hotel Island South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 652 Hotels in Hong Kong
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel was convenient for a conference, the room modern and bright with a good view. Otherwise I would not choose to stay here. The breakfast buffet was very disappointing, with limited choices and indelible hot food. The location is a long way from most standard tourist destinations except Ocean Park, and the staff, with the exception of the friendly lady manager, we're not particularly helpful

Room Tip: Choose a high ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Hanella

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us as your comments do assist us in refining our quality of services.

We sincerely apologize that our breakfast selection has not met with your expectation. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared among our team for review and future improvements. Moreover, we will further reinforce our staff training to ensure exceptional customer service delivery.

In addition, we would like to share with you that we do offer complimentary daily scheduled shuttle bus service to/from our hotel, Ocean Park, and Hong Kong Station for Airport Express (Central).

Thank you once again for bringing your comments to our attention. We treasure your support and look forward to having an opportunity of serving you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Venus Fung
Director of Sales
L'hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    157
    52
    11
    11
See reviews for
81
66
26
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macao
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I am a Macau resident and I booked this hotel after a friend’s recommendation to benefit from the Ocean Park promotion for Hong Kong and Macau residents, so it was a very good price for one night stay and two days entry tickets for 2 adults and 2 kids.
The hotel is close to Ocean Park and they have a shuttle bus service to go to Ocean Park, or you can take a taxi for only HK20.

It is not near if you plan to go to Hong Kong for sightseeing or shopping, but you can take their shuttle bus or the city bus; stations are just outside the side entrance and there are a lot of buses to Central, Tsim Sha Tsui, Admiralty or Stanley.
I saw MTR construction nearby, so in the future this hotel will be much easier to reach.
We took the bus 37 at Macau Ferry Terminal to go to this hotel and asked the driver where we should get off.

Check in time is quite late; only at 16h and check out is at 12h. They did keep our bags and gave us the tickets so we could go to Ocean Park. I asked to keep my son medicine in refrigerator, and they did.

We had a room with a nice view to a mountain. It is larger than average in Hong Kong, and it had two large beds (queen size). It has free wifi (they give you the password when you check in).
Toilet is also big, and has a big glass to the room, so you can use the natural light. It has blinds that you can close for privacy.

The hotel has a pool but we didn’t try it. We also didn’t try the breakfast or the restaurant.

There are tour groups coming to this hotel and they are very noisy, early in the morning or late in the evening or at any other time, slamming the doors and shouting or talking very loud.
My son had a strong headache and couldn’t rest in the room in the afternoon.

We had a problem with the air con. Even when turned off, the room temperature was at 19ºC. We complain and they send someone to repair it.

Last thing, I would recommend the hotel to have a cartoon channel for kids, like Disney or Nickelodeon as I saw a few families with kids there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales at L'hotel Island South, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear SmasKim

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us as your comments do assist us in refining our quality of services.

We apologize for any discomfort and inconvenience, please rest assured that your comments will be shared among our team for review and future improvements.

We hope to be of service to you again on your next visit to Hong Kong. Thank you once again and we will be delighted to welcome you back at L'hotel Island South in the near future.

Best regards,
Venus Fung
Director of Sales
L'hotel Island South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I found this hotel to be very modern and clean. Very spacious rooms with good size bathrooms. The bar and cafe had a good selection of food and drink, and the staff were very friendly.if you are planning a trip to Ocean Park you could not choose a better location. Shuttle bus into central.

Room Tip: I chose a room with LiS package. Was on the 30th floor so great views over the city. Very quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for 7 nights and we were very well looked after. Nothing was too much trouble and every little detail is taken care of. We got an excellent deal from lastminute.com and it was amazing value for money. We were upgraded to a Hill view room on the 31st floor. The staff were all courteous and helpful. The only drawback was the location is not yet easy to get to. The underground will soon be opening to Wong Chuk Hang which will make commuting to Central and Causeway Bay easier. Otherwise, taxi rides are not that expensive. There is also a free shuttle bus every thirty minutes.

The hotel staff at the taxi rank have a nice habit of writing down taxi registration numbers for you so that if you are unfortunate enough to leave something behind, you will stand a chance in getting it back!

We feel very welcome there and will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The interior design of this hotel is very nice and chic. The rooms are spacious and clean. More importantly, their service is really very very nice, all their staff wear a smile and are very polite. They are very attentive to each customer and try their best to meet the guests' needs. For example, this morning my mom was having breakfast at the lounge, and she said to me "I'm a vegetarian, but there is meat mixed in the congee, probably I can't eat this....." this was overheard by a waiter, and he immediately get a plain congee for my mom from the kitchen with a big smile without hesitation. That's really professional!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel itself is very nice. The rooms are big and clean with a very good mountain view (city view is less expensive). I like the shuttle bus service a lot since it has a bus every hour going to various places such as Ocean Park (5-min ride), Hong Kong station, or Causeway Bay, etc. It is easy to get to the hotel via public transportation as there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel with buses such as 41A or 42. Only minor complaint is the floor tiles in the room look kind of old. Be warned though there is no convenient store anywhere close to the hotel, as the area is pretty remote.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

On the island, but not. In Aberdeen, on the south shore of Hong Kong Island, with free and regular transportation to several points throughout central Hong Kong, this property has a quiet elegance about it. A top choice if you can book it at a discount to similar luxury properties on the other side of HKI.

Rooms are larger here and nicely appointed, although the clear glass of the shower/bath -- an unwelcome and odd but increasingly common element -- is less than ideal even with the blind that sort of covers it. The beds are, as is common throughout Asia, firm but comfortable with nice linens. Unlike many hotel rooms in Hong Kong, the rooms can easily accommodate a third person.

The pool area, open seasonally, is also a nice touch with the green mountainous backdrop further reinforcing the quiet, but not isolated, nature of the property. The gym has a good selection of equipment and is staffed. Food in the restaurant was consistently good, as was the service there and in the adjacent bar. Both appeared to draw a local clientele and not rely solely on in-house guests.

Depending upon price, and your needs, this hotel has much to offer. High-style, without the attitude or price. And a top-notch staff that always appeared to be there to assist with whatever request or need the guest had.

If you are going to Ocean Park, there is no better destination for a stay as you can easily walk there if you opt to not take the free shuttle. (Should you not be heading to Ocean Park, however, and find yourself at this property on a weekend or around a special event, expect larger groups with children that might not be as well-mannered as the business clientele on the other side of the island.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'hotel Island South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Island South

Address: No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'hotel Island South 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located in the southern district of Hong Kong Island, the contemporary L’hotel Island South is the development of the Chinachem Group. This 37-storey hotel offers 432 spacious and design-led guestrooms and suites that are redefining conventional notions of comfort and style. As a convenience for today's global travelers, L'hotel Island South provides complimentary Wi-Fi internet connection and an array of other advanced technologies, plus superb meeting and banquet venues, a gymnasium and an outdoor pool that offer green vistas, and comprehensive business support. Complementing all of these is an eco-friendly attitude as well as a smart casual service style from our friendly and highly dynamic hotel crew. Whether for business or leisure, guests also enjoy quick and easy access to the territory's prime business, shopping, dining and entertainment hubs as well as a host of nice beaches, nature parks, plus heritage and cultural trails along the southern end of Hong Kong Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your L'hotel Island South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Island South Hotel Hong Kong
L'Hotel Island South Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'hotel Island South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.