We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular decor especially the bathroom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bar Peninsula

The Bar Peninsula
The Peninsula Hotel, Salisbury Road, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)
852-26966773
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 4,346 restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: At The Peninsula’s handsome, reconceived Bar, finely-crafted classic cocktails served in a discreet, intimate setting define the drinking experience. Richly muted panelled walls and club-style seating, accompanied by a jazz singer and pianist, lend an ambiance of warm, understated elegance. Craft cocktails, rare whiskies and vintage Armagnacs define The Bar’s golden era list of libations.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Spectacular decor especially the bathroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were there with my husband's business partner since it was the first time he came to HK. It was pretty packed when we were there but it's absolute worth it with the decoration, view and surrounding. Wide selection of cocktail, wine and snack with professional service just exactly what you would expected for these kind of place. It's a perfect spot to impress your friends who came the first time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    30
    15
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A stylish and fun treat-- and check out the bathrooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Felix bar at the top of the Peninsula is a grand place to watch the sunset. They offer a nice cocktail list, several craft beers, and wine as well as appetizers to enjoy while you take in the view of Victoria Harbor. If you visit, you must at least peek into the bathroom, where there are unobstructed glass walls overlooking the skyline.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Peninsular Hotel Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We originally went to the hotel for te but since you can't amke reservations we would have had to stand in line for about 2 hours (really). We decided to go upstairs to have a late lunch and it was lovely. No crowds or noise and the food was really good. Then chose something from the cake trolley. Was a great place to relax and enjoy the ambience of this hotel without all the commotion downstairs. I really couldn't figure out why one would stand in along line to have a tea in such a noisy place. I guess the rep it has. If you are use to teas in London or other places you will probably be dissapointed. This hotel is grand but the arrangement for tea is not.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always busy and for good reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had the pleasure of enjoying breakfast and high tea in the lobby. you are encouraged make a reservation for high tea if you can, you will end up queuing for quite some time on busy days.

The meals and service we enjoyed were truly spectacular.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great cocktails (although not cheap) and amazing views in this small space bar at the top of The Peninsula hotel. Only wish they would remove or pull up the wooden blinds! And don't miss the bathrooms where you can "do your business" while overlooking the city!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bar Peninsula also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to The Bar Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bar Peninsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.