We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tim Ho Wan, the Dim-Sum Specialists

Tim Ho Wan, the Dim-Sum Specialists
Shop 72, G/F, Olympian City 2, 18 Hoi Ting Road, Tai Kok Tsui | Olympian City Mall, Hong Kong, China (Mong Kok)
852-23322896
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 4,653 Restaurants in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 906 Reviews
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mong Kok
Ukiah, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were excited by the reviews and ordered half the menu to try, in short all of it was tasteless, slimey and at best just about edible. We love asian food and have lived in Asia for several years. This was without a doubt the worst meal we've had. On the up side the service was okay and thankfully, having left most of it, it was cheap.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    313
    115
    30
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

1) besides the crispy pork bun,others are normal. Can simply get tastier dinsum in any other place.

2) service of their waitresses is good. But the cashier is not, kinda proud.

3) the price is cheap but wont be highly recommended since the food is so so.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“excellent value for money especially for a city like Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Simple dim sum, not a wide selection. The waiting time can be quite long (at least 20 min or so during peak hours). But everything they serve is very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit - best value dim-sum in Hong Kong.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent a fair amount of time trying to track this little beauty down, mainly due to us having the old address in Mong Kok. As other reviewers have said, Tim Ho Wan has moved to several new bases around Hong Kong. We eventually tracked it down to Olympian City (a short walk from Olympic MTR and through the Mall) and it was definitely worth the effort.

Despite having read the reviews and being prepared to wait for up to half an hour for a table we were actually seated within 5 minutes! Whilst we waited we filled out an order sheet so that by the time we sat down our order was already being processed. They have an extremely efficient system in place in order to speed up waiting times, free up tables etc. and the food was brought out to us very quickly considering it was freshly prepared.

The menu is select but what they do they do very well. We tried several dishes and were urged by the manager to also try the pork buns as we hadn't included these in our order - something which now horrifies me slightly as these were absolutely delicious!!! The price is also ridiculously cheap for the quality of the food served.

The food was so good we had to return before leaving Hong Kong and went to the North Point branch which was a 15 minute walk from our hotel (Harbour Grand).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing pork buns & fab value for Michelin restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

You have to go here if in hong kong! Great value tasted a great array of buns, dumplings, and good local atmosphere!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tim Ho Wan, the Dim-Sum Specialists also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Tim Ho Wan, the Dim-Sum Specialists? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tim Ho Wan, the Dim-Sum Specialists, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.