We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch only - great views, good service, but small portions and expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Concerto Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Concerto Inn to your Saves list
Concerto Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   No.28 Hung Shing Yeh Beach, Yung Shue Wan, Lamma Island, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 145 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
3.5 of 5 stars 47 Reviews
Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lunch only - great views, good service, but small portions and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Location - good beachfront
Service - attentive
Portions - small for price
Beware - mosquitos, we got bitten even with repellant on!
The state of the outdoor "restrooms" wouldn't entice me to stay....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Concerto Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Two_Travel_Addicts,
Thanks for your sharing and feedback!
Regarding to the food provided, we are now carrying out more choices of meals such as Afternoon Tea Set. BBQ, Hotpot and Candle Night Dinner set with the reasonable prices, for guests to choose from. Besides, our hotel has been renovated and the room facilities have also been upgraded and improved, for example, more effective mosquito repellent and misting system will be provided. Food portion size is also improved. We sincerely invite you to visit us again and experience the new environment again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
20
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Jesus, I have written it once, but the web site has dumped it.

Briefly then - arrived tired in the evening to find no food available (had to trek back into town), internet, room safe and shower not working. Food expensive, ate in the town all weekend.

My dears, the mosquities. A serious problem, nothing in the rooms to deter, lotion ineffective, expect to leave absolutely covered in bites.

Breakfast so-so. Good juice and coffee, good cheap barbecue next door Saturdays. But never again for me, What a shame.

Love from Lydia.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Concerto Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Lydia,
Thanks for your concerns and sharing, Lydia. We feel sorry about the bad experience you had had in the hotel. We have checked and we ensure all room amenities are working properly now. Regarding to the food provided, we would like you to understand that our operation hours is from 8am to 10pm and the last order is at 9pm. Please let us know earlier and we will try to arrange for you. Besides, we are now carrying out more choices of meals such as Afternoon Tea Set, BBQ, and Candle Night Dinner set for guests to choose from. We have also improved the breakfast by giving our guests more options and buffet style as well.

Also, to express our sincere apology for things happened during your stay, please kindly send us your contact information at welcome@concertoinn.com.hk, we will contact you shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We booked Concerto blindly and can honestly say I'm very happy we did because it's the best location in HK if you're looking for some relaxation. About a 20 minute walk from the ferry, there's a quaint little town with loads of fresh seafood restaurants, a few noodle joints and some Western places (pizza, pub, vegan/vegetarian hippie cafe).

Our issues were:
- The walk from the ferry was completely unmarked with COncerto signs so we got a bit lost. The staff then insisted there were signs. The next four days we walked back and forth to town at least once a day. There are no signs. Pay for them to carry your luggage - it's worth it, the hills are steep and you really need a guide.
- They wouldn't carry our luggage back b/c it was a public holiday despite initial offering the service. Which made no sense.
- The breakfast was mediocre - beans straight out of a can? Yech! Prices for lunch and dinner were outrageous, portions were tiny and food was mediocre. Luckily there's tons of great restaurants on the way to and in town.
- We were told our beds were doubles - they were somewhere in between a twin and a double and made for a tight squeeze. Rooms were also tiny, but there was a lovely terrace where we spent 90% of our time when we weren't on the beach or in town.

If I go back to Lamma, I'll def stay at Concerto because walking out on to Hung Shing Yeh beach can't be beaten, but I'll lower my expectations for everything else.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concerto_inn_lamma, General Manager at Concerto Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear jcb1031,

Thanks for your sharing and interest in visiting us again!
First of all, we are sorry about the inconvenience of the hotel, we will work out on the direction signage, and improve the luggage delivery standard as soon as possible in order to minimize the problems occurred.
Besides, regarding to our food provided, they are all freshly made and we are now carrying out more choices of meals such as BBQ, Hotpot and Candle Night Dinner set for guests to choose from.
Additionally, our hotel has been renovated at end of 2011 and the room layout and facilities have also been improved. You could reserve a more spacious room in phase 2.

We warmly invite to you to visit again and experience our new environment again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Concerto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concerto Inn

Address: No.28 Hung Shing Yeh Beach, Yung Shue Wan, Lamma Island, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Concerto Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE HAVE THE BEST BEACH IN HK. Hung Shing Yeh Beach ranked No. 1 in Hong Kong.~ WE ARE LOCATED IN ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION ZONE. The environmental control ensures fresh air and preserves the natural habitat of Lamma Island. ~ WE ACHIEVE QUALITY OF EXCELLENCE. We are the only hotel awarded member of Quality Tourism Service Association (QTSA) in outlying islands in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Concerto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concerto Hotel Hong Kong
Concerto Inn Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Concerto Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.