We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable Business Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of iclub Wan Chai Hotel

Save Saved
You added iclub Wan Chai Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.211 Johnston Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Breakfast Room Package
Ranked #169 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
Jakarta
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Suitable Business Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a suitable business hotel in downtown Wanchai and I would probably stay again. Rooms are small but you can see the size when you book on their website - I chose a larger room, which was fine.

This is not the sort of hotel where there is someone on hand for every need - there is no concierge - there are no bars or restaurants - but it is a suitable serviced room in the middle of the city in which you can sleep comfortably.

One big disappointment on my recent trip is that the DND sign was ignored. Note to management "Do NOT Disturb" means DO NOT DISTURB. I left my DND sign up as I did not need fresh towels or linen and I left several valuable items in the room as they needed charging - laptop, iPad, phones etc. as well as my business papers around the room. When I returned to the room the DND sign was gone - the room had been cleaned and whilst all my valuable were intact I prefer my instructions to be followed.

Otherwise a suitable hotel at a decent price.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    102
    50
    17
    24
See reviews for
15
46
37
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vicenza
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I use to be in Hong Kong very often, but I like to change Hotel everytime to get an idea on the quality and services offered.. This hotel has a small lobby with only two people taking care of check in and other services, but rooms are confortable and clean with a great shower and housekeeping is gentle.
The location is very convenient to the MTR station (two min. walking distance) and to the exibition center (10 minutes). It is close to the area of pubs and the night life and the most important thing, it is safe. Only breakfast is really poor: few choice of food and self service. I had to clean the table myself and only one person is replacing what's missing. Now the juice and then the cake or viceversa, sometime no coffee, sometimes machine out of service..... no.... much to improve. I probably will be back to this hotel, but just for sleeping. Breakfast will take outside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed two nights and I had got a good price, so I am super happy with my stay: good location, very quiet rooms, huge bathrooms with great shower, clean...but not immaculate either.
But breakfast can be disappointing. In my case, it was not a problem of choice: yogurts, cereals, coffee, tea, juice, different kind of cakes and breads, croissants, boiled eggs...I don't need more.
The problem is that the breakfast lounge is a self service place where customers are supposed to put their trash away themselves....which most of them don't do...and it ends being just really dirty, with nowhere to sit...

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights in February. First time I stayed on the island. This is close to the party area while still far enough away if you don't want to be part of it.
The room is smaller but works out great.
My room did not face the water but, I do not spend my holidays in my room.
Bathroom / shower was separated with total glass surround / glass doors. The glass had curtains covering areas, but definitely made the room seem bigger.
Free basic breakfast / coffee etc.
Worth the bucks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Totally happy with our stay there. We travelled three (couple + 1 more person), so booked two standard rooms. Upon check in we were offered free upgrade to 2 roomed suite, which was very nice. Extremely clean and new, very good and convenient design of room. Breakfast was average however. Location is OK if you can walk :) It is a bit off from MTR, but not far. Causeway bay area is walkable too, so convenient for shopping. Getting cheap local food might be a bit hard in that area, but there is supermarket & fast-food just across the street.

Room Tip: I haven't seen basic rooms, since we were upgraded to suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here March 2013 on business for 7 nights. I booked on Expedia.com and paid on average $200 per night.

It was ok in that it provided basic amenities but knowing the location and comparison to other hotels I wouldn't stay there again.

My main issues:
Where is it - a lot of people comment on this and I took their advice but nothing prepares you for arrival after a long flight in a new country. The 2 x taxi drivers had no idea, in the end to get rid of me the second pulled up outside a hotel and told me to go inside. When the concierge told me my hotel was a 20 min walk down the street the taxi was gone. VERY hard to find.

Noise - not from outside but inside, the door had big gaps around it and I heard the lift bell, other people coming and going and TVs going all night. I complained but it did no good.

Cleanliness - Although my room was cleaned, towels changed and bed made every day, the sheet were not changed at all, I noticed some stains on my bedding and they were there every day.

Included Breakfast - Of sorts, there are no food, restaurant of bar facilities at this hotel, it's more like a room in a block. I didn't see the gym but breakfast included a coffee vending machine and cereal or bread.

While it was safe and secure, I wasn't happy and would not go back.

Room Tip: Check out other hotels first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Decent hotel with limited number of rooms 2 minutes from Wan Chai, 15 minute walk to Central. Rooms are fairly small but clean and comfortable. Good bathroom plus kitchenette - tea, coffee, fridge and microwave. Didn't try any facilities except 5th floor lounge - which was disappointing -just coffee and tea really and breakfast was poor - croissant and toast all with throwaway cutlery, cups and plates. Best bit is certainly location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to iclub Wan Chai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iclub Wan Chai Hotel

Address: No.211 Johnston Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — iclub Wan Chai Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlike most traditional hotels that provide comprehensive concierge services and various dining options, iclub Wan Chai Hotel is a contemporary select-service hotel that designed for optimum functionality for the self-sufficient, tech savvy travelers. We understand your lifestyle and anticipate your needs, providing just the right products and services.iclub Wan Chai Hotel located in Hong Kong’s famed Wan Chai entertainment and business district, is the first carbon neutral hotel in Hong Kong featuring a revolutionary array of interactive services and innovative facilities. The hotel provides a smoke-free environment and 99 chic and trendy guestrooms and suites with striking decor, offering style and comfort.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your iclub Wan Chai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iclub Wan Chai Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage iclub Wan Chai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.