We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms, Central Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of iclub Wan Chai Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added iclub Wan Chai Hotel to your Saves list
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.211 Johnston Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer, Pay Less
Ranked #164 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Karachi, Pakistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent rooms, Central Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We went for the fair in HK Convention Center, It was a brilliant location for us. Just 5 minutes walk to the Exhibition Center. Its also a 10 minute walk to Times Square Shopping Center.

Bigger rooms as compared to other Hotels in HK. Small Kitchen, and in room free Broadband internet was an added point.

The room was advertised as "Breakfast Included" however its not breakfast. They just had Coffee / Juice and croissants. But overall it was a wonderful stay, and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegaliclubHotel, General Manager at iclub Wan Chai Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the trouble to write-up your comments after your recent visit to the Regal iClub Hotel. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback helps motivate us to continually work on improving our standards.

Please do have a look at our website for more details about Regal Hotels International, especially the great deals offered when booking through our website. The promotion that you enjoyed is still on which included complimentary internet in the room and free use of the shuttle bus to and from the airport.

Thank you for your support of the Regal iClub and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal iClub Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    115
    50
    18
    24
See reviews for
18
54
39
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, UK
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Room 1704

It is not the smallest room on the floor - strage shape, a corridor that goes around another room. So all in all, its not big - and other rooms are smaller! (I guess this is what "boutique" is all about)
2 x beds - that were not very comfortable, I found it too hard. The TV (OK) is mounted high - you have to lie on the bed, looking up, to see it.
Tea and coffee facility, but please add "English breakfast tea" to the selection!
Lots and lots of blinds - I had to lower and raise 5 blinds every day to keep the light out.
Fairly quiet room - I heard a few car horns from the street.

Foyer and lift carpet needed a good clean when I was there. Chairs in the lounge/breakfast room are badly stained.

Finding the hotel - I can see why some struggle, there is no signage at street level, just 211 Johnston Road but no clear hotel sign. Sitting in the restaurant opposite the street - I can see an I-Club sign, but its high up and not easy to see at street level.

Breakfast level 5 - small room, simple breakfast, not much fun in there.

Not much in the way of service - you just check in and out, and help yourself at the breakfast room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegaliclubHotel, General Manager at iclub Wan Chai Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Regal iClub Hong Kong. Sorry you found the beds too hard and I think this is a personal preference issue as generally we get good comments on the beds. Point noted about the TV position and we will look into that. Add English breakfast tea, no problem, we will do that. Yes the blinds can be a bit of an exercise but at least you have the option to open and close them. Then we will certainly deep clean the foyer and lift carpets. You will be pleased to know that the chairs in the lounge are being reupholstered. And the signage, good point, we will address this. Thank you again for your comments.

Yours sincerely,

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal iClub Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I generally don't make a point to rate hotels, but I have to say that this was certainly a pleasant stay. The location was close enough to the train and you were able to walk around by foot and enjoy much of the Hong Kong city. There are many food places around and the hotel breakfast which is next door was absolutely fabulous and plentiful. Rooms were fairly small but very convenient, modern and comfortable. I had no problems at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegaliclubHotel, General Manager at iclub Wan Chai Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the trouble to write-up your comments after your recent visit to the Regal iClub Hotel. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback helps motivate us to continually work on improving our standards.

Please do have a look at our website for more details about Regal Hotels International, especially the great deals offered when booking through our website. The promotion that you enjoyed is still on which included complimentary internet in the room and free use of the shuttle bus to and from the airport.

Thank you for your support of the Regal Hongkong and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal iClub Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Basic lobby, no services, but that is what I expected from this boutique hotel in any case so that is not an issue.

The rooms are compact but reasoably-sized for a boutique hotel in the city centre. Rooms are white with modern decor and very clean, large TV, good bathroom. The only negative is that the doors/walls are perhaps thin and I could hear the conversations of the people outside in the corridoor and no doubt they could also hear whats going on in our room.

A bit pricey though for a basic boutique hotel (albeit nice rooms). HKD1,400 + tax (about USD180 + tax). I could get a much larger and nicer room at East Hotel, for example, at this price.

But the location is good. Middle of Wanchai, tram stop just opposite the road, easy to get taxis.

Room Tip: Do not get rooms with twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegaliclubHotel, General Manager at iclub Wan Chai Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the trouble to write-up your comments after your recent visit to the Regal iClub Hotel. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback helps motivate us to continually work on improving our standards.

Please do have a look at our website for more details about Regal Hotels International, especially the great deals offered when booking through our website. The promotion that you enjoyed is still on which included complimentary internet in the room and free use of the shuttle bus to and from the airport.

Thank you for your support of the Regal Hongkong and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal iClub Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

This relatively new hotel offers no frills lodging in a convenient location. The "standard" room we stayed in is not bad, with quirky furniture in a tight but clean space. The bathroom is nice. The breakfast lounge is a decent place, yet we got tired of the same items everyday and bought some breakfast food from the grocery stores across the street. Two things got me disappointed though. First: the hotel did not offer voicemail for guests, yet phone calls may or may not get picked up by the reception staff. Second: rhe reception team did not really know how to help me get a taxi (for early morning departure), a small task I thought that you could rely on a real hotel. And also, I stayed during the weekend of the HK 7's Rugby event and paid the high price, sort of made me expect more.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegaliclubHotel, General Manager at iclub Wan Chai Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Thank you for the positive comments about the hotel. With regards to voicemail for the phones, we are now looking at having this facility installed. Then for the taxi service, we have a list of numbers to call so we are not sure why there was a problem on that day. We have certainly taken this up with the team so that they will be able to provide a fuller service to our guests.

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal iClub Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

check in on the 08/04/2011. after a long flight and trouble finding the Iclub hotel. Step in, no greeting from the staff or whatsoever. They never smile throughout the period. Worst, i was given a room on the 5th level just beside the breakfast lounge! FYI, the breakfast is served at level 5 kind of a room converted into a lounge.
Immediately asked the counter staff for change of room but got rejected straight without even trying to help. Worst, the staff said the amount i paid only deserve a room at level 5. For goodness sake, i paid close to US130 and i booked thru the iclub website, it was not given to me free ok!!!
As i am a light sleeper, couldnt take it and on the 2nd day requested for assistance for change of room but still got rejected. So everymorning i have got a VERY EFFECTIVE FREE ALARM clock right outside my room as early as 7AM ! (Distance from my room to the lounge?, 01 METRE)

Enough said.

1st class room design, 3rd class management staff.

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegaliclubHotel, General Manager at iclub Wan Chai Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Thank you for alerting us to the problems you experienced during your stay and we are very sorry that we failed to deliver you the service you quite rightly expected. All these issues have been taken up with the team to ensure that they do not happen again. This is certainly not the standard of service we want to offer our guests and I can only apologise for the inconvenience you were put to. We will contact you direct to further discuss the situation.

Regards,
Glen Farmer
GM of Regal iClub Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Deutschland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

The hotel is relatively new. Neatly designed. Everything white inside. Unfortunately located at the hooker area of Hong Kong. No lobby, just rooms.
I booked a room for 10 nights and made a booking mistake. I intended to go in April but somehow clicked March. Once I arrived they did not only give me no room and kicked me to the street - no they explained me that for reasons of No-Show, they will give me a penalty of the full 10 days ...1.500 € (!!!!!!!!!) for not being in the hotel for not even 1 hour !!
This is the most rediciulous behaviour of a hotel I have ever seen. If there is a no show of such kind, a decent hotel would write an email or would call to see what's the problem. They had all information. But they simply kept quiet, cashed the money in and even rented my room out 2 days after no show (this is what the "front desk" lady told me). The management has no integrity and will steal your money. Don't sleep in a hotel where the mafia serves you. Find a decent place. Hong Kong has many honest places. I recommend in the same price level: Langkwai Fong Boutique hotel.

Room Tip: secure a room elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegaliclubHotel, General Manager at iclub Wan Chai Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
We are very sorry to learn of the treatment you received at IClub on your recent visit and we are investigating the situation so that we can come back to you with a proper response. It is never our intention to be dishonest in any way and we take this sort of thing very seriously. We apologise for the way your booking was handled and will be in touch with you shortly.

Regards,
Glen Farmer
GM of Regal iClub Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to iclub Wan Chai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iclub Wan Chai Hotel

Address: No.211 Johnston Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — iclub Wan Chai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iclub Wan Chai Hotel, a contemporary select-service hotel located in Hong Kong’s famed Wan Chai entertainment and business district, is the first carbon neutral hotel in Hong Kong and also features a revolutionary array of interactive services and innovative facilities. The hotel provides a smoke-free environment and 99 chic and trendy guestrooms and suites with striking decor, offering style and comfort to discerning tech-savvy business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your iclub Wan Chai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iclub Wan Chai Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage iclub Wan Chai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.