We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms but satisfactory” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Plus Hostel

City Plus Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added City Plus Hostel to your Saves list
City Plus Hostel
Flat 902,9/F,Sincere House, No.83 Argyle Street, Hong Kong, China (Mong Kok)   |  
Ranked #288 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Small rooms but satisfactory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Room was tiny and expensive but we expected this for HK. Good location in Mong Kok, close to MTR and KCR stations. Owner was helpful and got us some discounted tickets. Good wifi, reasonably comfortable room but it was really, really small. Toiletries provided. A bit noisy, could hear the streets even though on 9th floor but we were able to sleep through it fine. Good for the price.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The location is great! It is located in central Mong Kok just next to the MTR and only 2 minutes walk to the ladies market.
But this is the only good thing about the hostel. The rooms are very small, but we expected that because of the price.
Me and my friend stayed for 5 nights and we got bitten by bed bugs.
I would not stay at this hostel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I found a better option for budget room after I had to deal with a bad behave owner at HK budget on the 5th, 7th floor at the same building, The city plus is located on the 9th and 14th floor of Sincere Building, Mong Kok which is a great location with subway station and shopping market nearby, also it takes only 10-15 mins Nathan Rd. If you are shopaholic person then you will love this location. As well as many many nice restaurants nearby.

more good things- nice owner with fluently english speaking, tv and wi-fi available.

Room Tip: Room and bathroom is very small, no much space for big luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated right in the centre of all the shops and restaurants. It's on the 14 floor of a large building.
It's easy to find if you catch the A21 from the airport and get off at Nathan's road.
The room its self is very small! It's liveable for a few days but was enough after 6 days for us, No room to move around just sleep or shower.
The room has air conditioning and free wifi.
The lady on reception is very nice and friendly, we enjoyed staying here just wish the room was a little bigger.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Pro's
- looks clean and tidy
- wifi is fast,free and always available
- hot water is always available
- you have an electric kettle in the room if you want to make hot beverages
- good customer service, Dina the receptionist is very welcoming and would help you if you have questions
- you have tv with cable
- lights and all the electrical outlets are working

Con's
- room is a bit small but if you're not a big group the room should be enough, should fit 4 people but we were able to go with 6
- the bathroom is very small
- sometimes its noisy because of the other guests

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at City Plus in Mongkok with a group of 8 other friends from 30th December until 1st January. The hostel itself is situated in bustling Mongkok, on the 9th floor of one of the ubiquitous residential/commercial blocks that are dotted all over Hong Kong. It seems to be spread over several parts of a corridor and includes several rooms of varying capacities. The doors to the hostel are locked at night and can be opened with a key that is provided with your individual room key.

We chose this hostel simply because, at short notice, it was the only one in pretty much all of Hong Kong that could accommodate a large group without having to take out a loan from the bank to cover the cost for the extremely busy New Year period. That said, the price paid was around 500 HKD for two nights per person, which I feel is very overpriced for what we were getting.



Indeed, what we got were a variety of double and triple "family" rooms that were all very tiny, which also had very tiny ensuites. I stayed in one of the doubles with my girlfriend and space was so limited that we had to alternate who would be standing in the only usable area of the room and who would be tucked neatly out of the way on the bed. Some of the bedding (including, in our case, one pillow and the mattress) were made out of a very hard foam-like substance. The receptionist, Elies, was happy to exchange my pillow for a slightly softer foamy one.



Nevertheless, the room was clean, came with a (small) TV, loo roll, shampoo and shower gel, slippers, cups and a kettle. However, for the price, I would have expected more.

Room Tip: There is a high probability that prices were elevated for the New Year period, but I have also been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

was here last November 2012 with 2 siblings and my mother.

it would most likely be your typical hostel rooms in Hong Kong but it was clean, convenient location( MTR Station, Ladies Market, CTS for your admission tickets, convenience store, etc.)

was not really comfortable using the cramped en suite bathroom so i always use the shared bathroom which has more space.

*the room we had was on the 14th flr while the reception was on the 9th flr.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms on the 14th flr since there are less people using the 2 elevators in the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Plus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Plus Hostel

Address: Flat 902,9/F,Sincere House, No.83 Argyle Street, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your City Plus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Plus Hotel Hong Kong
City Plus Hostel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Plus Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.