We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of some TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly On Morrison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly On Morrison to your Saves list
Butterfly On Morrison
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.39 Morrison Hill Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai / Causeway Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Only on butterflyhk.com
Ranked #67 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“In need of some TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here due to the great reviews on Trip Advisor. Our experience was not as others.

The location is great and the staff very, very friendly and helpful. The rooms are well appointed, but in need of some tender loving care. There were stains on the carpet and the cushions on the bed (which proudly stated 'clean'), the bathroom door almost falling off, and bathroom fittings broken. You could write you name in the dust in the mirrors in the lifts - somebody had written 'hello', which does not look good for the cleaners or management oversight.

With some attention, this place could be fabulous!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly On Morrison, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your sharing, we are happy to hear your compliments regarding our hotel location and services. It's disappointing that we were not able to offer you a stay with usual standard in room conditions, we will definitely pay more attention on the area you mentioned and make sure each guest room we assigned to our guests are in the same excellent quality. Thank you for constructive comments, and we look forward to give you a much improved Butterfly experience in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    390
    104
    16
    8
See reviews for
73
207
94
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Overall very happy with our stay. I hastily booked one hotel room online via ExPedia from China Mainland, in last minutes 'for better or worse', against protests of my wife and adult daughter....glad I did booking as HKG Immigration requires an address on the landing card ... Family thought the Butterfly on Morrison would be too far from the action district, but changed that opinion after our pleasant stay. The ExPedia booking allowed up to 4 adults to one room, so did Butterfly,...but I was confused as to how this would work with only two different bed choices a) Queen or b) two singles.(one or other but NOT both ) Butterfly to be complimented on this ( 4 per room policy ) as a budget conscious mother for instance might fit in a queen bed with 3 small children??..however this did not suite our family (3 big Canadians) ExPedia had billed me an extra $60 for third adult. Upon inspecting the room, our daughter decided to pay for her own room, and to credit of Butterfly, the management gave her a substantial discount. Later I got a call from front desk to say that Butterfly management would email ExPedia to request that I get my third adult charge refunded. The ball is now in ExPedia,s court.
The room was found to be very clean, however I did report to mgmt. that there was evidence that some construction/repair white dust (possible mortar/drywall dust ) was overlooked from clean up in bathroom.
The room was very convenient...bathroom was equipped with nicest of modern fixtures.(I photographed them for future building ideas in Canada) ..layout had interesting design, wife called it an 'open concept,...when the two sliding opaque glass doors (at 90 degrees ) are slid back allowed very easy access to/from bathroom to bedroom...nice for private couple/family, but not entirely private for a mix of guests.
AirCon worked fantastic, also WiFi was Very good....TV was great after mainland China experience. Views from 19th floor was great....saw cricket grounds....high rise buildings up mountain slopes in what appeared to be inaccessible places...nice sunset witnessed over mountain top about 5pm...but still light on streets for another hour.
Butterfly mgmt. allowed us to check out at 1pm next day and were very accommodating with storing all the bags and contraband (grand-kids presents) that my wife and daughter had bought in China. They also kindly assisted with phone calls for the Coach back to the HKG airport...bus departing at 8pm delayed...staff offered us bottled water during the wait in the Spartan but very clean lobby. I would definitely return to Butterfly. They tried very hard to please us and exceeded our expectation. Excellent value to cost ratio .Oh, I forgot to mention we slept well because the room was dark and quiet. One other comment...the Coach and Taxi would not/could not stop right in front of Butterfly on Morrison, but about 50 meters away in front of Pacific Hotel ...staff helped us with 7 bags to get on airport coach....above and beyond service. Another tip...if you take the BigBus tour (which we loved...included 'Peaks' tramway) best to join Big bus at 'break-point 4 or 5...go north on Morrison, then turn right (East) onto Hennessy....we went left and got lost in crush of people, and took wrong turn when Hennesy forked,. I think we followed tram tracks....lost hours....but still a great adventure.

Room Tip: We faced west (saw sunset) and were on 19th floor...so had good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly On Morrison, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your sharing. We are really pleased to hear you appreciated our hotel and services. It is great to hear you like our room layouts as we did put in a lot of effort to enhance the guest experience and ensure our guests have a comfortable and quiet rest in our rooms. At Butterfly hotel, our guest services teams are always happy to provide recommendations and assistance to our travelers. Thank you again for your wonderful compliments which will motivate us to work harder and provide even better services for you in your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Rooms were very clean and staff are very courteous. They even offered a complimentary room upgrade when they found out that we had a horrible experience with a taxi driver who drove us to the hotel from the airport.

Just a few minutes walk to Times Square and MTR. Would love to stay here again :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly On Morrison, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad your find our services to your liking. At Butterfly hotels, we hope to make each and every of our guests have a wonderful traveling experience in Hong Kong. We would love to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at this wonderful hotel for almost 3 weeks with my mother and I have absolutely no complaints! Whether price, room or service, in all respects we were highly satisfied.

First of all, my compliments to the most friendly staff members at the front desk. They helped us in every single small issue, were always patient with our requests ( and we made quite a few during our long stay) and they never lost their precious friendly smile.

Not only the staff at the front desk but also the service ladies did a very great job. We stayed in two different rooms, Deluxe with Twin beds and Deluxe with Queen Size Bed. Both rooms were on different floors and also the design was very different. Both rooms were spacious and clean.

The hotel has a very good location. It is very convenient and close to get to the shopping centres, MTR, restaurants and supermarkets.

If I go back to Hongkong in near future, I will for sure visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly On Morrison, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your thumbs up! We are more than delighted to hear such wonderful comments for our hotel and guest services team! We will continue to strive for improvements and service excellence and we can't wait to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here several days, getting a great price on the suite on the top floor. The suite had great views of the city, Happy Valley Racecourse and mountains.

About 5 minutes walk to Causeway Bay shopping precinct/MTR station.

Room was reasonably clean, although it could have been a bit better, and the hotel is missing a few of the typical creature comforts - no minibar (although the room did have a fridge) and no room service. However it is quite modern, has free Wi-Fi (which was slower at night), air conditioned, and did have daily cleaning and hotel laundry service.

A good, well priced experience in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Go for one of the bigger rooms - check the room size on their website, the cheapest rooms are quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly On Morrison, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We hope you enjoyed staying at Butterfly on Morrison and that our facilities and services were to your liking. Your opinions are much valued as they can help us to continue to improve our service quality. We look forward to invite you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Butterfly on Morrison hotel is a real bargain. It is located at an extremely convenient location and has the most wonderful staff, yet it is still priced very reasonably. My wife and I are in our 80s and the staff took great care of us, from responding to our special email requests in arranging the rooms to helping us with our luggage all the way to the taxi, the staff were always patient and friendly. In addition, the room was clean and the view was great. It was a perfect stay for us!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly On Morrison, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your compliments! We are very delighted to hear you had a perfect stay with us! Our guest services team is always happy to help our guests with their requests, please feel free to contact us again prior to your stay so we will have more time to prepare another perfect experience for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Butterfly on Morrison is charming, comfortable and conveniently located, and offers superb customer service for a hotel of this class and price. Over my 9 day stay, every request (and I made a few!) was met with a cheerful can-do attitude, and commendable efficiency. Brandon and Anthony on the front desk were particularly helpful, but the quality of service was uniformly excellent.

The deluxe rooms are spacious by Hong Kong standards and the queen size beds so comfortable that you'll want to have a lie-in every day. The floor to ceiling windows flood the rooms with light, and offer an ever changing panorama of the city by day and night. The rooms are thoughtfully designed to maximize space, and include little touches like adaptor plugs that means that you can get connected to the Butterfly's excellent free wifi service or charge your phone as soon as you check-in, and free bottled water everyday. The wardrobe is large and there is sufficient space to store a large suitcase and carry on luggage inside whilst still leaving plenty of hanging and storage space. The in-room safe is large enough for a notebook, tablet or small laptop and the (empty) fridge provided is much larger than a typical minibar, allowing you to stock up on breakfast essentials or snacks from the nearby Wellcome or Park n' Shop supermarkets on Hennessy Road or fruit from the market behind the hotel. The transparent bathroom walls that have caused such consternation have had a makeover, and now are modestly clad in blinds or a spray paint style decal, preserving modesty.

I was never once disturbed by noise from the neighbouring rooms and as there are only a handful of rooms on each floor the noise from fellow guests and staff using the lifts was minimal. If you are happy to forego the additional facilities offered by a full service hotel, then the stylish and service-orientated Butterfly on Morrison is an ideal option for leisure or business travel, and sexy enough for a romantic city break.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly On Morrison, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review, we hope you had a great time at Butterfly on Morrison. Your compliments are well received amongst our team as we did put in a lot of efforts to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable and relaxing stay at our hotel. Thank you for your time and we definitely look forward to make your next visit just as wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butterfly On Morrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly On Morrison

Address: No.39 Morrison Hill Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly On Morrison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining contemporary comfort with a classy dose of European pizzazz, Butterfly on Morrison cannot enjoy a better location than where it is at Causeway Bay. That means 5 minutes away from the heart of shopper's Hong Kong (think Times Square, Sogo and the brand new Hysan Place); 5 minutes from the high-octane actions of the Happy Valley racetrack and the Hong Kong stadium; 10 minutes from the nightlife and heritage cool of Wan Chai and the same number of minutes from the chic and quirks of Star Street Precinct. In short, everything that makes Hong Kong buzz and hum with energy is right outside. Inside, 98 guest rooms are filled to the brim with sophisticated amenities, offering every comfort for both work and play, including a free smartphone offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, Wi-Fi tethering, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. However busy the night gets, the hotel will be your refuge. So when you're tired from a day of non-stop shopping, Rugby Sevens watching or nightlife exploring, return to us, relax and lounge. Our 24-hour front desk and 'Local Ambassadors' have got you covered. How well connected are we? - 6-minute walk to Causeway Bay MTR. - 15-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Butterfly On Morrison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Morrison Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Morrison Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly On Morrison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.