We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and nice amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly On Morrison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly On Morrison to your Saves list
Butterfly On Morrison
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.39 Morrison Hill Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
only on butterflyhk.com
Ranked #71 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good value and nice amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you like horse racing (or shopping), this hotel is right in the action - near Happy Valley racecourse and Times Square Shopping Complex. Our deluxe room overlooked the racecourse and it looked amazing lit up at night, and was a close walk - check out the Wednesday night racing schedule; its a fun filled night on the lawn with music between races and lots of fun happening on course amongst locals and expats alike. The hotel is boutique - nice (small) rooms, nice amenities ad everything you need for comfort - only 4 rooms per floor so noise is minimal, which is great. Helpful staff and a nice atmosphere all round.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking racecourse
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    353
    93
    11
    7
See reviews for
60
177
77
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was in HK a few weeks ago and we stayed at Dorsett regency in Kennedy town and everything was awesome however the location was far from everything. Coming back from taipei .. We decided to stay at butterfly on morrison in HK thinking itd be great since we booked an executive room on the 28th floor. To my surprise... It wasnt great, it was horrible. The shower and bassin are always clogged even after i complained 3 times! The bathroom floor looks dirty. They try to ask their so called engineer to fix the drain problem but its useless and the front desk keeps on apologizing .... But nothing is done or improved. For the price i paid i expected much better. The only reason why i havent left yet is because of the location. Never again will i stay at this boutique hotel

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Executive Assistant Manager at Butterfly On Morrison, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn about your disappointment.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel due to its easy access to MTR subway station, Times Square and the popular Causeway Bay shopping and entertainment area.

Obviously, it was the drainage problem that spoiled your stay. From our record, the service team promptly addressed to your enquiry and had the problem fixed. According to my experience, it could be the strong water pressure that causes the slow-down of drainage.

We thank you for your valuable comment and hope you would give us another chance to serve you again on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Raymond Siu
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Good price for a comfortable bed, nice pillows, good shower and free wifi. Very noisy from the traffic noise.. but where in HK is not? Great central location. Occasional bad smell from the bathroom sink and hard to find the phone number as the only place they had it printed was on the key card.. don't know who did their branding!! Overall good value for an easy place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in June 2012. To get to the hotel I took the Airport Express to Hong Kong Station - I was meeting a friend who lives in Hong Kong, so we took a taxi to the hotel (or rather the road it was on, as the taxi driver hadn't heard of it) - this cost about HK$45 including HK$5 for my luggage (this was a Sunday evening so traffic wasn't an issue, might cost more at peak times). The entrance is pretty easy to find although it isn't big - take the lift to the 3rd floor for reception.

Check-in was swift and the staff speak very good English. I was given an upgrade to a deluxe room, which was great - still don't quite understand how hotels dish out their upgrades, but it might be because I booked directly via the hotel's website; it was cheaper than every website comparison site I could find and means they don't pay commission. On check-in, they did give me the wrong room key at first - it was obvious though from the fact the room had someone else's stuff in and by the time I'd gone back reception, the staff were already coming to meet me with the correct key. I didn't find this a big deal as it was an honest mistake and I did notice later that the hotel is full of security cameras (in the hallways and lifts) so your belongings are secure.

My room was on the 16th floor and was of ample size - other reviewers have complained about the size of the rooms but I can only comment on the one I had, which would be sufficient for two people, even with luggage. Sadly, I wasn't on the Happy Valley side (although you could still see the corner of the race-course as the photo shows) but being high up you still get a good view of the city and can't hear any of the traffic noise below. The room was exactly as it's described - there were tea/coffee making facilities, a fridge (built in to part of the wardrobe, along with a valuables safe), an iPod dock (worth noting though that it didn't charge my iPhone 4, so make sure you still bring your cable), plus an LCD TV, with several English channels, and a DVD player (didn't use the latter, it was by the bed though rather than under the TV). One reviewer had problems finding plug sockets but this wasn't an issue - there was one by the desk and one under the bedside cabinet.

The bed was very comfy, probably because the hotel's relatively new. The air con worked very well and has a sleep mode, which cranks the noise down to help you at night while still keeping things cool. Do see what other reviewers have meant about the bathroom - e.g. there's just a clear glass panel enclosing the shower, then the walls between the bathroom and bedroom are glass - although there are now blinds to provide some sort of privacy - given that most of the hotel is double rooms, then this shouldn't be a problem for single travellers or couples. Was plenty of hot water and good water pressure - got 2 new toothbrushes and mini-tubes of toothpaste every day as well as 2 small bottles of water. The rooms were also cleaned to a very high standard and on the day I did see the housekeeper, she was apologetic for disturbing me (it was 10am or so mind!). The wifi was good, had a strong signal and speed was good.

Location-wise, it's about a 10-15 minute walk to the MTR (Exit A at Times Square), although it's worth noting that you'll walk for another 10 minutes from Exit A to the actual trains. There are other exits for Causeway Bay station that are a further walk above ground, but get you nearer to the trains. There's a 7/11 (corner shop) just down from the hotel and one across the road too. Just down a bit further is Hennessy Road where you can get one of the trams (well worth the experience). Between the MTR and Hennessy Road is a local market, great for photos and to see some of the local food on offer.

Overall, I'd definitely use this hotel again as the facilities are modern whilst available at a reasonable price. The location is also great, as it's slightly away from the bustle of Time Square, but a short walk to get to the MTR and shops.

Room Tip: As usual, ask for a higher room for a better room and if you get one over Happy Valley, the view mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Hotel is quite new, the room is quite big by hong kong standard. Bath room is excellent. My room viewing the race course, high rise building and mountain. The night view was awesome. It is located about 3 minute walks to times square shopping center and causeway MTR. Another 2min walks further down,SOGO departmental store is just across the road. Famous eatery shops are also located in this area example the famous Mak wanton mee, deserts and etc. At the back of the hotel, there is a market and stalls selling fruits and dried stuff like dried shrimp, dried abolone, scallop and many more Chinese medicinal products are reasonable price due to these stalls are patronized by local. If you want to do your own laundry, there is self service kiosk (with dryer) pay by octopus card is located at the back of the hotel.
The hotel staffs are very helpful and will do whatever to ensure that your requests are met. We enjoy our 5 night stay and thanks for the good hospitality. i definitely will go back to this hotel in my return trip.
From Danny and family, JB, pMalaysia

Room Tip: Ask for room at 20th floor and above to get good view of the race course or peak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Nice room.i stayed at a deluxe room.it was quite spacious for hongkong standard. Location is very near to times square.jz 5min walking distance.but it was a 15min walking distance to mtr.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

After 10 days at the Butterfly on Wellington, I wanted to change the scenery and moved to Causeway Bay. At first, I regretted it, the location on Morrison is not that great, then I saw my room...I booked a superior room, that's what I had on Wellington and it was so spacious. Obviously, the room at Morrison are tinier. I couldn't fit my three suitcases, I immediately went down to the reception to complain. And they upgraded me to a Deluxe room which was much better. I liked the modern decoration very much, there is even a chair similar to the one I have in my own bedroom at home. But still, I don't think I would come back to that hotel, the area is noisier, you can hear the traffic.The staff is polite and professional, but not as warm and friendly as they are on Wellington. The other day I was lost in Central, I went back to Butterfly hotel to ask for guidance and use the Wifi in the lobby. They've been so kind, they even wrote down the address I was going to in Chinese, to make it easier for me if I needed to ask a taxi or someone in the street. I've heard that Butterfly hotel will open a new location in Causeway Bay in July near by the metro, maybe worth to check it out...

Room Tip: Nothing less than a Deluxe room otherwise it's tiny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butterfly On Morrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly On Morrison

Address: No.39 Morrison Hill Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly On Morrison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butterfly On Morrison is specially designed for the discerning international business and leisure travelers looking for higher levels of style and comfort, personalized service, and quality facilities including top-brand bedding, stylish bathroom and high speed broadband Internet access.Butterfly On Morrison offers unique accommodations to match with your high expectations through its European interior design and relaxing ambience, plus access to a range of dining, shopping and entertainment options in the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Butterfly On Morrison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Morrison Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Morrison Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly On Morrison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.