We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated and expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Luk Yu Tea House

Luk Yu Tea House
No.24-26 Stanley Street, Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)
852-25235464
Improve this listing
Ranked #858 of 4,640 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central
KL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Over-rated and expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went past lunch time about 1.30pm. Wanted to try their dim sum Didn't understand the menu which was only written in Chinese. So asked the waiter to recommend though we wanted some normal stuff like steamed pork bun, prawn dumplings and siew mai. He recommended another three. Two were more dessert like. One was some fish stomach. Just for these and a pot of tea cost HKD335. I was slow in taking the change and the waiter just grabbed it! So the meal cost HKD350. I can definitely find better and much cheaper dim sum in KL and my hometown in Ipoh.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    105
    47
    32
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taplow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great food, plenty of history but staff so rude!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I guess I should have been warned by most of the reviews how rude staff can be there. But this old place was full on a Saturday lunch. The food was excellent, I thoroughly enjoyed my Dim Sums.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you want dim-sum in an authentic place, this is for you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I would give 5 points for the authentic feeling and food, however, it deserves only 4 because the service was quite bad. In fact, one of the worst in town from my short stay experience. On the other hand, dim sums are amazing! I tried them in other places, but I liked it here the most. Just order several of them. I could probably eat 3-4 dishes.

Moreover, the feeling is very authentic. Especially if you get a seat at the street level. If you want dim-sum in an authentic place, this is definitely for you!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Actually the food is good not great, they still make the dim sum on the premise, so many tea houses now buy same from a factory. Tea is excellent but the good not great food is also a bit pricey, but what you are really getting is a wonderful historical environment. Some of the waiters have been there over 50 years, like Mr Chan waiter #31 on the 3rd floor. While tourists are sort of welcomed there is a long hard core loyal patrons. As a loyal patron since Luk Yu relocated to this location in 1976, I can say I love this Tea House and its history.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Happily Disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Remember going to this place over 20 years ago and all I remembered was how loud this restaurant was and the attitude of the waiters that this restaurant is famous for,

It is not easy to get a reservation there and we made an effort to book a table for 10 pax about 10 days ahead. Just a get-together with friends so we did not preorder some of their specialities. Of course we had both sweet and sour pork with pineapple and ribs with ginger which this restaurant is famous for and both these and other dishes were really good.

The service staff were really helpful and extremely friendly (maybe my expectation was very low) recommendations for what dishes to order was spot on . Even told us not to over order.

The dinner was excellent and before we left we ask whether there was available booking for the next evening and happily they had a table available. We had a family dinner planned at a different restaurant already and cancelled that booking to come back here. We also ordered some of their specialities which requires 24 hour preparation. Salt Baked Chicken and Eight Treasure Braised Duck.

Salt Baked Chicken is a standout, Juicy, and full of flavor. Definitely one of the best I ever had, and highly recommend this dish.

We had different service staff for both night and both nights they were really attentive and helpful . Nothing like what I expected.

Lastly the dessert of almond tea with egg white is smooth and not so sweet but very tasty.

Will be on my list whenever I get back to Hong Kong again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luk Yu Tea House also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Luk Yu Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luk Yu Tea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.