We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEWLY BUILT WITH FREE BUS SERVICE - HIGHLY RECCOMENDED HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees to your Saves list
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.199 Kowloon City Road, Tokwawan, Kowloon | Kowloon,, Hong Kong, China (Kowloon City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi & Room Upgrade
Ranked #166 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 475 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“NEWLY BUILT WITH FREE BUS SERVICE - HIGHLY RECCOMENDED HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I would highly reccomend this hotel - sue to the fact its new and its more than you expect - very good service & free bus service to the downtown and station.

the location is not in the town but the free shuttle just does it as its very often and drops you /picks you from Nathan Road (downtown Kawloon)

flat screens in each room adn reccomend to stay on top floor as the views are just fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    203
    140
    34
    25
See reviews for
108
120
32
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

This hotel is very much isolated (no acceptable restaurant in the general area), about one hour away from the airport by a poorly organized shuttle bus (HKD 130), far from any MTR (HK subway) station. Going there, and going anywhere from there will cost you money and time. if you factor that in, it is much better to invest the extra HKD 300 that a daily taxi trip for two from the airport and your (at least once daily) round trip into town will cost you.

We had booked a King size bed, and got two single beds, which we had to put together ourselves, since the staff never came to the room to help or to put something on the mattresses to avoid the gap between. We asked for a heater, as it was very cold in HK and the A/C does not have a heating setting. The heater never came. Anything you may want to do means having to go down to the front desk and queue up for 20 minutes, as the staff is not very well trained (although quite friendly).

Another thing is that the rooms, however clean and nice, have no view on anything but a highway for the luckiest guests. Bath tubs are quite small. The options for foot or body massage around the hotel are not very appealing (not very clean), and the spa in the hotel is substandard.

The reason why we chose this hotel is that the gym seemed very nice. In fact, the equipment is not very good, even by HK hotel standards. Also, the gym is used as an extra ball room, and there was a marriage going on in it on the day we got there. the equipment was moved aside and there were tables set in the middle. Very festive indeed... There would not be any using the gym on that day, of course.

The hotel's options for food are limited, not very good and quite expensive. There are no seats in the foyer area, unless you want to have a coffee at the local espresso bar. And this is not good coffee. There is a 7-Eleven nearby, though, but I guess that there is no place in HK sufficiently isolated not to have a convenience store within a 300 feet radius.

Finally, the hotel is packed with very noisy and poorly educated tourists from the mainland, who seem to spend their days roaming the corridors shouting obscenities in Chinese (mostly complaining about the service, which is quite amusing). This means that the hotel management must have some agreement with a state-owned travel agency in China. This also means that you will have to fight for a taxi and will be pushed in and out of elevators.

I would give a wide berth to this hotel. It is a very poor choice for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

The location of this hotel is such far from almost everything. We went to Hong Kong for more than 10 times but this is no-where hotel. Once we arrived the hotel, we suddenly planned to move out. Although the hotel is new and looks sophisticated but it's just the surface.

We made the reservation online, it said we're supposed to pay about HKD5,000 for six nights during christmas holidays. yes, sound good but once we checked-in, the reception asked for more HKD3,000 for guarantee. It was so weird to ask for that big money. They insisted to get 3,000 more eventhough we were about to pay the whole expenses then. No clear explanation for this.

The next day, we asked for a set of plate and fork, they normally had one set in the room for some fruits. The housekeeping informed us that they would bring the paper plate and plastic fork with charge.

The quality of service was also not consistant. Some room had bath robe but some didn't.

I agree with other comments to pay a bit more in order to get much better than this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

I stayed at this hotel and it was great, I don't know why people moan about the location, there is a bus right outside takes you to Hung hom station and also will take you to the ferry, I think it is the 5c. it is great, the shops and eateries around the hotel are good and the 711 down the road is very handy

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

The rooms are small, but it's clean and nice. Same for the bathroom. Breakfast was average, I've had better. The location is not really ideal for backpacker or those who travels in a small group, since it's located in, I don't even know. It's not somewhere far from civilization or anything, I think it's a business district, but a quiet, old one.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Hotel is OK - but certainly not cheap (few hotels are cheap in Hong Kong !). It is located in an old residential area near the old airport - many of the surrounding buildings are derelict. There are many local shops and restaurants within walking distance - these are good value but its difficult to find a menu in English, and the shop prices are generally negotiable !! English is not so widely spoken nowadays, so discussions can be tricky. I did not find a bar within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus every hour to the MTR stations & the tourist shopping area of Tsim Sha Tsui - which is really useful. The fitness room in the hotel exists - but is very basic. There is also a pool, but it was closed in December. The one complaint I had was that on two nights I stayed there they had private functions. This meant that the bar was closed to residents (which the hotel did not mention at check--in). So there was nowhere to go to go to work outside the small bedroom,or to relax after a day of sightseeing or shopping. Overall, I reckon its better to stay in the tourist area of Kowloon, which seem much more "visitor friendly".

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

I have been booking this hotel with my wife initially because of a very good offer publicized on the hotel website, we knew Hong Kong pretty well and being away from downtown wasn't a turn down point for us. Problems began prior our arrival when we had to anticipate our vacation to a week earlier! We were told that the room rate we chose over the internet was no longer available and we were forced to pay "double" or loose everything! Hotel lobby (rather small) was packed with tour package tourists of the worst kind "if you know what I mean ..." those that come with buses in hordes, screaming and spitting around! Room was just on average with a bathroom quite below the standard! TV guide claimed channels that were actually not available!
First night we could not sleep 'till 3:00 a.m. due to a nasty smell that was coming out from the air condition! We insisted with the hotel manager until we were moved to another room (lower floor). Just to find out that the same terrible smell was again there. The following day we complained again and a service guy came to change the air-condition filter, situation did not improve at all and we had to spend another smelly night! Thank God, temperature dropped in Hong Kong and for our last night we could sleep without air condition! No discount nor help was offered by the hotel staff, who was totally unable to face the situation! We had our worst hotel experience ever in Asia! Whoever gave 4 stars to this hotel should seriously consider to change job!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees

Address: No.199 Kowloon City Road, Tokwawan, Kowloon | Kowloon,, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Kowloon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#95 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees 4*
Number of rooms: 702
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the Kai Tak Cruise Terminal and Mongkok area, close to Tsimshatsui shopping, entertainment and sightseeing destinations, MTR Hunghom Station, Kowloon Bay & Kwun Tong are conveniently reachable by the complimentary hotel shuttle bus. The award winning Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees has a unique twist to its lobby, designed with utmost innovation creating an optical illusion where it feels as if you're inside Italy's Leaning Tower of Pisa. Features 702 guestrooms and suites, boasting a 32-inch LCD TV, in-room Wi-Fi access, mini-bar, tea & coffee-making facilities. Two restaurants offer International, Asian, Halal and Indian cuisines, one inviting bar, a full service Business Centre, a well-equipped Fitness Centre, a relaxing sauna and a distinctively shaped outdoor swimming pool, children's pool and whirlpool surrounded by a lush landscape. Three Executive Floors with a Harbour Club Lounge offering complimentary afternoon tea, evening refreshments, breakfast buffet at Cafe 8 Degrees, etc. Offering hospitable service and excellent facilities, Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees distinguishes itself admirably among travelers appealing to business, leisure, family vacation or romantic getaway looking for comfortable and pleasurable accommodation at great value. Please note hotel outdoor swimming pool will be closed during winter from 01 December 2014 and will open till further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.