We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whacky design, good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees to your Saves list
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.199 Kowloon City Road, Tokwawan, Kowloon | Kowloon,, Hong Kong, China (Kowloon City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi & Room Upgrade
Ranked #165 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“whacky design, good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The lobby has a slanted theme to the design, so everything feels very disorienting particularly after a long flight. the rooms are very spacious for Hong Kong with a sleeping and a sitting area. They are comfortable and nicely designed. The restaurant is good with a wide assortment of breakfast choices. The location was a short cab ride to central Kowloon, which is a low cost ride. Overall, I'd rather pay for a cab to have some space in the room.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    203
    140
    34
    25
See reviews for
108
120
32
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed twice as a stopover for a few days. Location was not ideal. Room service was excellent, limited menu though. Any extras are all payable. Overall, very average, have had the same or better experience with budget hotels.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon Haryana, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Its a normal hotel. Nothing new with this hotel. The bathroom is smallest i have ever seen. Breakfast is below what i had expected. Everything is chargeable. The best part is the list on the inner side of the room door mentioning some 35 articles with there rate in case the guest break one of them. Really very funny. I will not recommend this property to any one.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed as part of a tour. The rooms are clean but small. The bathroom is tiny. The decor is to a good standard in the rooms and public areas, very stylish.The wifi wasn't free and expensive The breakfast was very good, great variety. The location of the hotel isn't great but the free shuttle bus helped a lot. Staff are friendly and very helpful. The walls are paper thin, meaning you can hear people walking up and down the corridors and other people in the next rooms, we stayed for 2 nights and I didn't sleep at all. We will return to Hong Kong but will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We follow a group tour and stay in this hotel for 3 nights. I can see there are many group check in during our stay.

The rooms are clean but small. Not much space especially in bathroom.

The wifi is chargeable and this is a big let down. The charges are quite high too (about HKD120) and it is better we use our own data roaming.

The good thing are there are some eating shops and 7 eleven nearby. So it is very convenient if you want to get some supper.

Our tour do not include breakfast and the hotel told us a charge of about HKD118 per person if we want to take buffet breakfast. It is kind of high and it is better to walk a few streets to get your breakfast at the nearby shops.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on an official trip and were at the 17th floor. The rooms were fresh and decent and the entire hotel including the restaurant, pool n bar was well maintained. Room amenities were good however i felt the bath amenities could improve as we ran out of bath gel on the final day as i guess the dispensers were not re-filled. Also the size of the bath rooms was very small..I can understand the space constraints in hong kong. Wi-fi is chargeable which i found really strange in this age of smart phones and for a foreigner its an asset to be connected as interaction sometimes becomes difficult. The buffet breakfast spread was huge would love more varieties in the room service menu. The staff were great and understanding both at the front desk and restaurant and bar and also the tour guy at the hotel were really supportive in getting us our lost items in the tour. Overall a wonderful property to stay.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in a City Deluxe Room which is located on the top floor - 21st floor. That was very good as it was well away from the noise from street level as well as big mainland tourist groups who stayed on floors below. Wifi was included in the room rate and worked fine. Amenities not great - no milk provided for teas and coffees, shampoo and shower gel dispensed from a wall mounted dispenser in the shower room. Breakfast not included in room rate but with so many shops and cafes in the surrounding area, it wasn't necessary. Room was decent, clean and in good order. The area is well served by buses and taxis but unfortunately no MTR (metro/Tube/subway). The hotel shuttle bus was handy but I use the local bus apps to help me get around pretty efficiently. All in all, pretty okay for the friendly room rates. Just don't expect luxury, though!

Room Tip: Definitely try getting a room on the 21st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees

Address: No.199 Kowloon City Road, Tokwawan, Kowloon | Kowloon,, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Kowloon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#95 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees 4*
Number of rooms: 702
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the Kai Tak Cruise Terminal and Mongkok area, close to Tsimshatsui shopping, entertainment and sightseeing destinations, MTR Hunghom Station, Kowloon Bay & Kwun Tong are conveniently reachable by the complimentary hotel shuttle bus. The award winning Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees has a unique twist to its lobby, designed with utmost innovation creating an optical illusion where it feels as if you're inside Italy's Leaning Tower of Pisa. Features 702 guestrooms and suites, boasting a 32-inch LCD TV, in-room Wi-Fi access, mini-bar, tea & coffee-making facilities. Two restaurants offer International, Asian, Halal and Indian cuisines, one inviting bar, a full service Business Centre, a well-equipped Fitness Centre, a relaxing sauna and a distinctively shaped outdoor swimming pool, children's pool and whirlpool surrounded by a lush landscape. Three Executive Floors with a Harbour Club Lounge offering complimentary afternoon tea, evening refreshments, breakfast buffet at Cafe 8 Degrees, etc. Offering hospitable service and excellent facilities, Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees distinguishes itself admirably among travelers appealing to business, leisure, family vacation or romantic getaway looking for comfortable and pleasurable accommodation at great value. Please note hotel outdoor swimming pool will be closed during winter from 01 December 2014 and will open till further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.