We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in a residential neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees to your Saves list
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.199 Kowloon City Road, Tokwawan, Kowloon | Kowloon,, Hong Kong, China (Kowloon City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi & Room Upgrade
Ranked #165 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel in a residential neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I alway stay 12 to15 day in Hong kong and I always pack light so before my trip I walk the neighborhood of a new location with Google map to spot restaurant, laundry shop, attraction and public transit location, This Hotel do not disapoint as this is my second stay with this group (last time was the Harbour Plaza Metropolis in Hung Hom), My room was at the Harbour club on the 21 floor with view of the Victoria harbour, I really enjoy every second of my stay to this hotel the staf work so hard over there to make you happy, the pool is fantastic with a beautif ul terrace what els do you need, on the main floor they have a convinient coffe shop with lots of food and coffee this is very useful, they have as well a full restaurant on the main floor as well from Breakfast to Dinner, Hotel price buffet style or a la Carte
but you have lot of restaurant arround your hotel at very reasonable price as this Koloon city location is not a tourist destination the price of shop around the Hotel are very reasonable

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    202
    140
    34
    25
See reviews for
108
120
32
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel several times when other hotel rates are sky high during high season and / or when special events are taking place in the city. It's a modern, clean hotel but it's in a extremely remote location of the city. The hotel runs a shuttle but it's a minimum of 20 - 25 mins just to get to Nathan Rd. A taxi ride is only about $8 each way but quite often it's difficult to get one for the return trip.
This whole thing is fine for a few days but if you're staying any longer, I suggest stay somewhere a little more central.
None the less, the rooms are clean and very comfortable and they have a nice pool. The hotel has a basic gym with some cardio equipment, a rack of dumbbells and benches. The restaurant and pool bar are very good as well.
All in all, the remote location aside, this hotel is a pretty good value!

A final word... The lobby is a big optical illusion! EVERYTHING on the walls are offset at a 3.99° angle giving the impression that the floor is not level. It's designed to mimic the angle of the Leaning Tower of Pisa. Although you quickly acclimate to this unique design, after a 15 hour flight it's a bit unsettling.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for three nights as a finale to a 7 week tour of Australia. The hotel is modern and well appointed and the check in service was quick and efficient. WiFi is charged for and we were told it was cheaper to pay to upgrade our room with complimentary wifi than pay for wifi! In this day and age of internet communication I found this strange! The room was on the upper floors with a view over the opposite block of flats. The room was very clean and well appointed though the noise all night from other guests shouting down the corridor to each other was disconcerting. Shouting back to shut up seemed to work wonders! The surrounding area seems to be mainly car/tyre repair shops and is really unatractive and a long way from the Harbour! No convenient public transport though there is a complimentary shuttle bus but you need to be early and have wide shoulders to push your way on. The buffet breakfast was very good but we didn't try the dinner as it looked very expensive. A 5 min walk to local resturants produced wonderful inexpensive HK food and don't worry about not reading or speaking chinese. The menu's have photo's and English descriptions and the local people are brilliant and willing to help. We wouldnt stay here again mainly becuse of the position but have to say value for money it was good. One final comment, if you book a tour through the hotel desk as we did, and its cancelled, as ours was. Then the crdit chrage is instant electronic, the refund is snail pace via paper. It took 2 months to get our refund!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here during a short business trip and was pleasantly surprised at the reception to be given a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room. The room was simply huge with a full length mirror/wardrobe, microwave, separate sink and hotplate area and fairly big bathroom.
A good place to stay if your traveling on business because a taxi will get you from the hotel to Kowloon Bay offices for around HKD40. Generally about 1 hours drive from the airport (approx. HKD250 by taxi)
The concierge and other staff at the reception were friendly and approachable.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for 2 months last year. Overall this is very nice hotel with affordable price, especially if you stay long for business will get good deal. The room is big, with very comfortable bed.
Only we should consider about the location, quite far from the city (Harbour City area or Central). And also far from nearest MTR station. But they provide shuttle bus every 30min to Harbour City Area and Hunghom MTR station. But sometimes if you need to hurry, you need to walk about 10 minutes to nearest bus station or take cab if really in hurry.
Overall very nice hotel with affordable price......

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China Lake, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is still brand new, the staffs are friendly and helpful, the facilities are lovely and we love the room so much, very big room and easy to find food around. Generally, it's a great stay for 2 days. I will definitely go back with my family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have stayed at the Luxe Manor in Tsim Sha Tsui in the past and have an idea of what to expect from a starred HK Hotel, I am horribly disappointed by the service offered by Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees, rooms are filthy, staff just have the word ' NO' in their mouth. The Management just ignore your basic request. They enter your room even with a sign saying "do not disturb" For the rates they charge for access to the Club Lounge, they provide just a few drinks, At their breakfast buffet they are reluctant to replenish. Do not clean the rooms regularly which are worn out. I would definitely not return to this Hotel and not recommend this Hotel to anybody as they do not even provide the Basics.

Room Tip: Don't book this Hotel, unless you are prepared for a nightmare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees

Address: No.199 Kowloon City Road, Tokwawan, Kowloon | Kowloon,, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Kowloon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#95 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees 4*
Number of rooms: 702
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the Kai Tak Cruise Terminal and Mongkok area, close to Tsimshatsui shopping, entertainment and sightseeing destinations, MTR Hunghom Station, Kowloon Bay & Kwun Tong are conveniently reachable by the complimentary hotel shuttle bus. The award winning Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees has a unique twist to its lobby, designed with utmost innovation creating an optical illusion where it feels as if you're inside Italy's Leaning Tower of Pisa. Features 702 guestrooms and suites, boasting a 32-inch LCD TV, in-room Wi-Fi access, mini-bar, tea & coffee-making facilities. Two restaurants offer International, Asian, Halal and Indian cuisines, one inviting bar, a full service Business Centre, a well-equipped Fitness Centre, a relaxing sauna and a distinctively shaped outdoor swimming pool, children's pool and whirlpool surrounded by a lush landscape. Three Executive Floors with a Harbour Club Lounge offering complimentary afternoon tea, evening refreshments, breakfast buffet at Cafe 8 Degrees, etc. Offering hospitable service and excellent facilities, Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees distinguishes itself admirably among travelers appealing to business, leisure, family vacation or romantic getaway looking for comfortable and pleasurable accommodation at great value. Please note hotel outdoor swimming pool will be closed during winter from 01 December 2014 and will open till further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.