We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees to your Saves list
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.199 Kowloon City Road, Tokwawan, Kowloon | Kowloon,, Hong Kong, China (Kowloon City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 653 Hotels in Hong Kong
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel & Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife & I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights and we had a fantastic and memorable stay.

>>We took a taxi from airport and the driver dropped us beside the hotel which was one of HK driver's strategy to ripped of some unsuspected guests like us. We don't want to argue so we got out and walk towards the lobby. When the the man in Black suite spotted us, he hurriedly run towards us and offer assistance.

>>The moment we stepped inside the hotel, a lady manager greeted us and guide us to the check in counter

>>The young chinese lady was all smile doing our check in. It was done with warm welcome and explained us the shuttle bus service, HK map and the nearby area.

>> After checked in we went up to our perfectly well cleaned room.

>>When i want to use the Wifi, i called the reception and i was told that i have to pay $120/day. at first i was shocked but then realized that different hotels have different rules and as guests we have to respect.

My Wife & I are well travelled couple and have stayed in some of the worlds most private & expensive resorts / hotels & islands. We stayed at this hotel as recommended by one of our friends due to the excellent service and the hotel itself is new and has big rooms.

We would definitely come back & stay here again.

Such a GREAT & LOVELY Hotel! Kodus to to the staff and Managers.

Room Tip: Suites are much bigger. But if you are on tight budget, superior room will do and big enough compare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    192
    127
    31
    24
See reviews for
102
108
30
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is nice,a little away from the main city,but the rooms are neat and clean,the view is not too good.The breakfast has a good variety,also there were nearby, local restaurants that offered great local foods.

The staff were nice. They guided us how to move from one place to the other.The shuttles to Tsim Tsa Tsui came frequently .

There are better 4 stars in the city,but if u decide last minute and can't find a better place,then this is the place to be :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

my husband and I stayed for 2 nights in late october and had a very pleasant experience.We arrived after a long flight from melbourne and unfortunately the patio room our travel agent had booked did not have acess to the patio for me to smoke.After some very professional and courteous handling of the situation by the staff member ,we were given a king suite for the price of a deluxe room,which had a very comfortable bed! We had dinner at the hotel both nights,once at the restaurant and on the poolside deck and both were wonderful.The breakfast was also good,offering both asian and western food.The hotel is in a great area to explore markets and everyday life in honkong.We loved this and spent many hours walking through the streets.The bus stops right outside the front door and the taxis are very cheap and clean.It took us 15 minutes to get to the star ferry in a taxi,so this hotel is still close enough to enjoy the main island.Overall I would highly recommend this hotel,especially for people who wish to see the cultural side of Honkong

Room Tip: The king suites have a bit more room and the bed is extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

hotel full of indians but no indian breakfast.even after request indian breakfast was not provided. even service in room very poor. no cleanliness in room.i hope i should not go back in this hotel.
due to travel agent commission i think this hotel is running

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

1. Check-in Mess: We arrived at hotel around 2 pm in the afternoon. I have no idea whether it’s Ctrip or your hotel’s fault that we were given two King-size room instead of two double-bed room we requested. It should have not been a problem, however, it took your staff 30 minutes to solve the problem. They are not that helpful and flexible. Since it’s a business trip, we had tight schedule to complete, our driver waited for the additional 30 minutes, and we had to shorten our meeting and tighten the rest plans. Can I ask who is supposed to be responsible for all these?
Room 1703 & Room 1717 (King-size Rooms), Room 1703 changed to Room 1019 (double-bed Room)

2. Complimentary Bottle Water: we were not informed by any means from both your hotel and Ctrip that there are no complimentary bottle water offered by your hotel, until we found no drinking water at Room 1019 and asked the room service staff. It’s a common sense in most hotels in this world that at least two bottles of drink water should be available in each hotel room, isn’t it? It’s not a big deal if your hotel charge your guest with the drinking water, how do you explain there are two bottles of drinking water in room 1703? Can I take them as the special birthday gifts your hotel offered? You know what? after we asked for the drinking water, no matter it’s free or not, your staff promised we would have them for the rest days we stayed. However, again you ate your words, and we didn’t have those water during our stay at your hotel. What a disappointment it was! Can I just comment and share my experience on Trip Advisor?

3. Locked Mimi Bar: Finding no drinking water in our room, we wanted to find something in the mini bar. We didn’t care too much of the charge, I mentioned it’s a business trip and most of the cost would be covered by the company. Can you imagine or were you informed of what happened? It’s so incredible that the mini bar was locked! Are you guys crazy by doing that? We called your staff and this problem was not solved until we complained when we checked out. Is it the common way you treat your guests? or is it the special treatment to us only?

4. Lobby WiFi: We found the hotel introduction from Ctrip’s website that your hotel offer WiFi service in public area. It’s also common sense that WiFi service in public area is free for use. Actually, those two WiFi users are not familiar with English language, they could only understand room number and user’s birthday, not to say your charge policies. More importantly, I remember Hong Kong is always Chinese territory and Chinese language is always one of the official language in Hong Kong. How can you only use English as the guide language?

5. Noise Control: The room door is not that sound proofing. I still remember how I was waken around 6:00 am on Sunday morning by corridor noise.

6. Service Attitude: The hardware in your hotel is great, the whole construction is amazingly designed. However, the services are terrible! Apart from the above issues I mentioned, I felt bad when your staff including the South Asian manager dealing with my complaint when we checked out. Their attitude, their wording, they gestures implied that they/your hotel do not welcome us as the guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed this hotel. Some perks/upsides were that it was a very clean hotel room - and very spacious. The staff were accommodating. The elevators were incredibly fast and efficient.

The shuttles to Tsim Tsa Tsui came frequent (every 15 minutes or so), the drivers were incredibly helpful and the surrounding area of the hotel was fun. There were nearby, local restaurants that offered great local foods.

The dinner buffet offered a variety of good dinner dishes including sashimi, sushi, lamb, prime rib and more. However, it was very expensive -- it was $70 USD per person.

The downsides to this hotel were that it is far from the main area of HK. It also does not provide a shuttle to and from the airport which was a bit of an inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hello,
This was my first trip to Hong Kong and it was a Business trip. Everone at this hotel was super friendly. The hotel and room was VERY clean and comfortable. Rooms service was very very good. The mango Napolian in the bakery downstairs was wonderful! It was a perfect place for my buiness trip. The only down side is that it is in a residential area. So there are not that many places to walk to. A short cab ride away could take you to a shopping area. I felt safe and well taken care of. The last night i was there i went swimming in their beautiful pool and got a foot massage, which was excellent! The buffet brackfast was just ok. I really like the room service better. Really good club sandwiches, ask for fresh fruit with that!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees

Address: No.199 Kowloon City Road, Tokwawan, Kowloon | Kowloon,, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Kowloon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees 4*
Number of rooms: 702
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning chic Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees has much to celebrate including its’ five awards achieved in a short period of time. The hotel is located in an uprising area in Kowloon near the former Kai Tak Airport region and Mongkok, just minutes from Hong Kong’s diverse sightseeing, shopping and entertainment hotspots. Minutes to the MTR Station and bustling Tsimshatsui by frequent complimentary hotel shuttle bus that’s not just a ride but also a city tour through one of Hong Kong’s oldest districts. This upscale 4-star hotel features 702 charming guestrooms and suites with fully equipped kitchenette, a fantastic outdoor Swimming Pool, Children’s Pool and Whirlpool, a spa and a well-equipped Fitness Centre. All rooms boast a 32’’ flat-screen TV, mini-bar and tea & coffee-making facilities. The hotel gets its name 8 degrees referring to the 8 degree descent pilots had to make to descend onto the runway here - the architects have taken it further by actually giving the lobby the optical illusion of being inclined at that angle too! Hospitable service and excellent facilities, this hotel appeals to all business, leisure, long staying and family travellers looking for comfortable and attractive accommodation in the pearl of the orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip DaoDao, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;