We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees to your Saves list
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.199 Kowloon City Road, Tokwawan, Kowloon | Kowloon,, Hong Kong, China (Kowloon City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 653 Hotels in Hong Kong
Aurangabad, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is nice and the service is good. The locality is also nice and the hotel has their own bus which takes you two fix destinations ...In case you have to go to the market there are taxis and local buses available which takes you to the harbour and you can take a ferry from there to other side of Hongkong....in all we found it convinient

Room Tip: Rooms are Good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    192
    127
    31
    24
See reviews for
102
108
30
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herk-de-Stad
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We booked the hotel based on the references in TripAdvisor and it turned out to be a very good choice. It is located at some distance of the Kowloon waterfront, but with the very low taxi prices in Hong Kong that is no problem. A trip from the Star Ferry pier to the hotel would take 10 to 15 minutes and cost around 50 HKD. When travelling by MTR (which you should seriously consider in HKD) you get out at the Mongkok station and taxi to the hotel is 5 minutes and 25 HKD. The hotel itself is very good, definitely when taking into account the price. HK is very expensive if it comes to hotel, so we were very happy to get spacious and well equipped rooms for just under 2.000 HKD. Service is fine, breakfast is very good (at 140 HKD you may expect so). Definitely a place I will go back to on my next stay in HKD, whether it on a business or holiday trip (as it was this time, parents with 2 kids)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our inept tour company booked us into this hotel at the end of a China trip. An in-room booklet says it is “the latest addition to Harbour Plaza Hotels & Resorts” and is “located near the former Kai Tak Airport area.” This area is now full of grubby hi-rises, garages, butcher markets, low-end shops and is far, far away from any tourist sites. If you want to see animals and fish being chopped up for sale and cars being repaired and painted on the street then this is the hotel for you. The view from my room #331 was of a workplace obscured by six floor-to-ceiling piles of black tires waiting to be sold. The room itself was sparse modern with a dark wood desk/closet/wall unit and white duvet, bed linens and towels. When I first arrived the room smelled vaguely of stale milk. The bathroom featured an above-counter sink and one miniscule shelf. No handrails/grab bars in the tub/shower. This was the first hotel on the trip which did not provide facecloths. Luckily I travel with disposable ones. The bathroom door and the ‘wall’ facing the room were made of pale translucent glass. The modish lobby is off-center and off-putting. It tries too hard to be avant-garde. Quoting that in-room booklet again, the lobby is “spectacular” and “designed with utmost innovation where an optical illusion has been created to feel as though you’re inside Italy’s Leaning Tower of Pisa”. So, it looks crooked. Must be wicked painful the morning after you have had too much fermented beverage. The buffet breakfast with Asian and Western selections was served in the ground floor Café 8 Degrees and light meals/snacks were available at the Garden Terrace near the pool area. Two bottles of water per person per day were provided in-room by the hotel since the tap water was questionable plus coffee/tea fixings were replenished daily. Because this hotel is so far from anyplace tourists might want to go, management provides a complimentary shuttle bus to Middle Road across from the Kowloon Hotel (where we could have stayed) and Tsim Sha Tsui shopping/restaurant/club area. A printed bus timetable is available at the lobby concierge desk. If a tour company you are considering has booked this hotel, think twice about what other bad decisions they may have made.

Room Tip: Stay ta another hotel that is coser to Middle Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I'm currently staying in this accommodation and have been for a few weeks.
The staff are exceptionally friendly the pool is nice and if you have been working late the room service is pretty good.
However since I have stayed here there have been an endless stream of guests from tour parties, cruise ships etc - they wake up at 6:00am onward and make a huge amount of noise so don't expect to get any sleep!!! The warning signs should have been clear when you see the notice to please keep your voice down to not disturb other guests
I'm glad to be moving out soon to a more respectful establishment

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

This is my second stay here, and the problems are not with the hotel.
The location is far from downtown locations, and usually I don't mind as the price reflects this.
However there are lots of local roadworks which make the journey too long, and there is no mtr service within reach.
The hotel courtesy bus is now too small for demand, leaving the taxi or local bus as the only way to the main areas.
On the plus side the room is comfortable, and the restaurant did is excellent
Be aware of the exhorbitant price of internet access, which surely should be free in this day and age.



Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our last stop on a Travelsphere holiday and wasn't disappointed. Rooms were large, comfortable with all the usual facilities. Loved the area which included a fascinating market opposite the hotel, many restaurants and shops with nearby banks. Only tried one of the restaurants (Four Point Chiu Chow restaurant) and had an excellent meal, although some of the items on the menu would put off most western palettes. The lobby's 8 degree slant could be disorienting, but the pool bar was excellent (particularly the Dry Martinis) if not somewhat expensive. Food was excellent. The hotel shuttle bus was invaluable to get around, although the Bus and Metro systems are excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here after our Travelsphere Tour of China, our room was on the 21 floor and very quiet, the room was slightly smaller than your average hotel.We had most of the hotel comforts hairdrier, shampoo, conditioner, toothbrushes etc. Comfy beds and plenty of hot water once we had worked the 8degree taps out.

This is a very new hotel and has a reception based upon the 8degrees theory, it didn't impress me. We found there to be no seating in the reception so it lacked atmostphere for us as we like to sit and chat with other guests. We never used the hotel facilities, as we found them to be very over priced. There is a 7eleven just up the road, which sold excellent buns, drinks etc. The hotel it's self is about two miles from downtown... so a free bus is available outside the hotel. Some people have said that it can be a bit of a bun fight getting on the bus, we never found this, each time we used the bus which has 30 seats we always got a seat. I understand that an MTR station will be opening in 2016, as a new port terminal will be opening by the hotel, this is great news as the hotel was very good and met all of our needs.

The taxi's are very cheap, and there is plenty to see, don't be afraid to use the underground its easy and very cheap.

Room Tip: Go high up as you won't hear any traffic....the pool is great after a long day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees

Address: No.199 Kowloon City Road, Tokwawan, Kowloon | Kowloon,, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Kowloon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees 4*
Number of rooms: 702
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning chic Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees has much to celebrate including its’ five awards achieved in a short period of time. The hotel is located in an uprising area in Kowloon near the former Kai Tak Airport region and Mongkok, just minutes from Hong Kong’s diverse sightseeing, shopping and entertainment hotspots. Minutes to the MTR Station and bustling Tsimshatsui by frequent complimentary hotel shuttle bus that’s not just a ride but also a city tour through one of Hong Kong’s oldest districts. This upscale 4-star hotel features 702 charming guestrooms and suites with fully equipped kitchenette, a fantastic outdoor Swimming Pool, Children’s Pool and Whirlpool, a spa and a well-equipped Fitness Centre. All rooms boast a 32’’ flat-screen TV, mini-bar and tea & coffee-making facilities. The hotel gets its name 8 degrees referring to the 8 degree descent pilots had to make to descend onto the runway here - the architects have taken it further by actually giving the lobby the optical illusion of being inclined at that angle too! Hospitable service and excellent facilities, this hotel appeals to all business, leisure, long staying and family travellers looking for comfortable and attractive accommodation in the pearl of the orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.