We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees

Save Saved
You added Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.199 Kowloon City Road, Tokwawan, Kowloon | Kowloon,, Hong Kong, China (Kowloon City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
Perth, WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The unusual design of the foyer (8 degrees theme) was made welcoming by the extremely helpful staff who were always available to help with any questions. The tour desk being very knowledgable and helpful.
Our room was comfortable with a pleasant view over some residential gardens where we could watch the locals exercise while we enjoyed our morning cup of tea.
Situated in a busy residential area meant there were many restaurants to choose from. Although the hotel provided a shuttle bus to various destinations the public bus service allowed easy access to the main ferry terminal and beyond. Taxis were a cheap option as there were 4 of us travelling together.
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    179
    121
    30
    23
See reviews for
94
102
28
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I don't know what the fuss is about with the location of this hotel. It's a great location. there is buss at the door that takes you to the Star Ferry. it's 35HKD taxi to HungHom MTR station, so all in all it's a nice location. I liked the neighborhood, it was in my mind, authentic, a local area that you don't see behind all the glitz and glamor. there was from the looks a beautification project on for some of the buildings.

I stayed here back in 2010 and will be staying here for 8 nights in december this year. It had great service, nice rooms, 10 out of 10 in my books

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for five nights. It is essentially a tourist hotel and so if on business (like I was) then it may not be quite right. The room I had was small but entirely reasonable. It was quiet, clean and had a mini bar and tea making facilities. It's location might be a small issue for ome, but taxis are cheap, and public transport even cheaper. It is also very close to Kowloon City which hosts a massive amount of decent restaurants. The food in this hotel is average. I had breakfast here four times and lunch only once. Breakfasts were ok, and lunch was not good. The bar appears to be a bit of an afterthought being found on the second floor in a dark corner. The charge for Internet connection is steep. Why dont hotels build this cost into their room rates? It must cost these places very little to run the service, yet they feel the need to charge well over £10 a day for connection. A rip off I would say.
Having said that, I would stay here gain. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

If you want a good hotel, and don't want to pay big hotel prices, this is ideal
It's not in a great tourist area, but buses and taxis are cheap in Hong Kong, and I really enjoyed the hotel.
The room was bigger and better equipped than others I have stayed in and paid a lot more for.
There is a bus stop right outside the front door and it takes you to the star ferry, every 15 minutes. There is also a hotel shuttle bus, but I never needed to use it.
The front entrance is a real feature. |It is an optical illusion that makes you think you are walking down hill. An amazing piece of architecture.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

No complain at all...we were just there to sleep & so far, we enjoyed our stay & the room was so nice for the three of us.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Enjoyed my 4days stayed in this Hotel.. Room are clean, staff are friendly and helpful, great Coffee served at the Lobby, not a perfect location to catch public transport but we're very pleased that they provide Bus shuttle to the MTR.
Overall we're very happy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I travel quite a bit for business and this was my first time in HK (Jan 2012). The hotel had been booked for me so I didn't know what to expect.
First impression was a bit disappointing as the hotel is not very central, and the area around it has a lot of car mechanics' shops etc so it doesn't look very inviting.
The hotel looks a lot like a transit hotel with a small lobby, packed with people.
My room was technically a double but doesn't offer much in terms of space, so don't share it with people you're not 100% comfortable with. My biggest gripe as a business traveller is that wifi is charged per device (not per room) and i couldn't even get a signal in my room. My advice would be to go out and buy a prepaid SIM for a small fee and get unlimited 3G data that way.
Once I got over my initial annoyances the hotel was OK, the rooms were clean and quiet and beds comfortable.
To get around, the hotel offers a complimentary shuttles bus to the city centre, but at these buses can be very full so don't count on getting a seat in the morning or evening.

Room Tip: don't expect to get a WIFI signal in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees

Address: No.199 Kowloon City Road, Tokwawan, Kowloon | Kowloon,, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Kowloon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning chic Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees has much to celebrate including its’ five awards achieved in a short period of time. The hotel is located in an uprising area in Kowloon near the former Kai Tak Airport region and Mongkok, just minutes from Hong Kong’s diverse sightseeing, shopping and entertainment hotspots. Minutes to the MTR Station and bustling Tsimshatsui by frequent complimentary hotel shuttle bus that’s not just a ride but also a city tour through one of Hong Kong’s oldest districts. This upscale 4-star hotel features 702 charming guestrooms and suites with fully equipped kitchenette, a fantastic outdoor Swimming Pool, Children’s Pool and Whirlpool, a spa and a well-equipped Fitness Centre. All rooms boast a 32’’ flat-screen TV, mini-bar and tea & coffee-making facilities. The hotel gets its name 8 degrees referring to the 8 degree descent pilots had to make to descend onto the runway here - the architects have taken it further by actually giving the lobby the optical illusion of being inclined at that angle too! Hospitable service and excellent facilities, this hotel appeals to all business, leisure, long staying and family travellers looking for comfortable and attractive accommodation in the pearl of the orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel and Venere so you can book your Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.