We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Affordable and Friendly Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CHI Residences 279

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added CHI Residences 279 to your Saves list
CHI Residences 279
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.279 Shanghai Street,Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Yau Ma Tei)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, Affordable and Friendly Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Spent a night here on April 8th 2013. From Ya Ma Tei MTR it took less than 5 mins to get there which was great! From the outside it looks a little run down, but security at the front door was a nice touch. Once you get past the lobby door its like a brand new hotel. Very modern and cozy. Had lots of informative little cards downstairs letting you know where and whats good to see around Hong Kong. Kate (admin officer) was very friendly, spoke english very well and check in was a breeze. Once we got into the Hotel it felt more like a mini home than a hotel. Room came with all the things you would expect and more. Room came equipped with our OWN wifi, dvd player, (had DVDs downstairs to borrow) air purifier, portable heater, and and a nice TV with a sound system.
Shower had great water pressure and closet space was more than enough for a longer stay.
At night once, you walk out of the hotel, Temple Street Night Market is 2 mins away which was nice. Lots of food around the area was a plus. The only small quibble I have about this place is they don't offer robes which is a VERY small problem IMO. Overall everything about this place was fantastic. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an encouraging review of CHI 279. We are extremely glad that the CHI staff were able to make you feel welcomed and comfortable in your CHI home.
We will be sure to pass along all your kind words to the hard staff of CHI 279.
Please let us know when you plan to return to Hong Kong, we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    54
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
48
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent 8 days 7 nights in Hong Kong last year to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Needed an accommodation where it will be convenient, comfortable and yet not too expensive as hotel rates in HK is not cheap.

Through Tripadvisor, we found the reviews for Chi Residences 279 very favorable. Although it does not have the complete facilities of a hotel, our satisfaction with the boutique serviced apartment through our 7 nights stay was beyond any hotel that we have stayed in HK.

Located at Shanghai Street, Chi Residence 279 is about 10 minutes walk to/fro Yau Ma Tei MTR Exit C. We were warmly welcomed by the staff who helped us with our luggage and settling us down. Room was exceptionally spacious and clean! Living room, kitchen, toilet and a queen size bed is all we need for our long staycation in HK. The children love the free DVD rental and enjoying their late night movies while I like the coziness of the unit. There are also washing machines and dryers on the roof top which saved us a lot of trouble bringing back loads of dirty laundry.

Lots of eateries nearby and Temple street is not too far away. Security is well-thought of and we feel safe. If there's anything for us to pick on would be the little staircase before we reach the lift which may pose a little inconvenience. Other than that, we had an excellent stay with Chi Residence 279! Truly made us feel at home and we will definitely love to be back again! ^_^

http://bpdgtravels.blogspot.sg/2012/10/hong-kong-2012-day-1-part-1.html

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you Heng family for taking the time to write such an in-depth, informative and encouraging review and thank you for all your coverage of CHI 279 on you Family Travels Blog. We couldn't be more pleased that we were able to help make your trip to Hong Kong comfortable and enjoyable.
Please do contact us directly the next time you plan to come to Hong Kong, we would love to have you back at CHI 279 or any of our other CHI Residences locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

A very clean and comfortable serviced apartment, strategic location (close to downtown Kowloon), friendly staff (ask for "Uncle Johnny"!), outstanding WiFi in room. The only pet peeve is the interiors (both room and building) are a bit "cramped" (but I guess it's how all the buildings in the area are structured, so it is what it is). All in all, an enjoyable stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive and encouraging review. We appreciate all the kind words you've shared with us and our staff and we will be sure to pass along your kind words to Johnny and everyone else at CHI 279.
Please let us know when you're next in Hong Kong, we'd love to have you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed over 2 nights prior to a cruise and found Chi 279 to be exactly what other reviewers have claimed. It's an equipped small apartment with a comfortable bed and small refrigerator. It's in an area where you can easily walk to Nathan Road and the Temple Street Market in the evening. The neighborhood is full of eateries and close to the MTR which will bring you all over the city. There's a Wellcome market and 7-11 nearby.

We chose to stay here because we have visited Hong Kong before and had previously stayed at the Excelsior on Hong Kong Island and the Sheraton on Kowloon and wanted to be away from the very crowded tourist areas. From the airport, we chose to take a taxi to the hotel rather than using the train or bus. The fare was 235 Hong Kong dollars. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hi to Kate and all we met at Chi 279.

We had a very enjoyable stay with you, together with our 2 girls. The room was sufficient to put out luggage and yet be able to walk. Location was fantastic as it was near to good food and supermarket. Thanks to Zoe for the daily supply of mineral water for us. It helped us worrying about getting water for the kids. The water pressure in the room was also great. Thanks Emily for allocating a high floor for our family. Can hardly hear the traffic noise.

We will definitely return to Chi 279 if we were to go to Hong Kong

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Same as what others have reviewed, clean and spacious. Location is ideal and only minutes from the MTR station. Great service from the counter and the staff could speak English.

Lots of food stalls around and I love the dim sum shop a street away from the apartment, went to eat there for 2 mornings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Our first trip to Hong Kong and this place was perfect.
Ideally located for many of Kowloon's must-sees and handily placed for Metro and buses to everywhere else you need to get to.
Apartment was clean with ample kitchen facilities (comp. tea/coffee/water daily), great shower, loads of storage and enough space to be private. Bed was super comfortable and noise level was low even though the rooms have very good Samsung A.V.
Air-con no problem and excellent wi-fi to our 'phones (smart T.V. with wireless keyboard available too).
Easily worth the asking price and well worth booking if you prefer the freedom of an apartment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CHI Residences 279? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHI Residences 279

Address: No.279 Shanghai Street,Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#104 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CHI Residences 279 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHI 279 by CHI Residences is a calm retreat from the city. Located on famous Shanghai Street, a fascinating eclectic array of shops and sights reveal the natural charm of Hong Kong. Daily, weekly and monthly rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your CHI Residences 279 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chi Residences 279 Hotel Hong Kong
CHI Residences 279 Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CHI Residences 279, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.