We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CHI Residences 279

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added CHI Residences 279 to your Saves list
CHI Residences 279
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.279 Shanghai Street,Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Yau Ma Tei)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 149 Reviews
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great value and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Our first trip to Hong Kong and this place was perfect.
Ideally located for many of Kowloon's must-sees and handily placed for Metro and buses to everywhere else you need to get to.
Apartment was clean with ample kitchen facilities (comp. tea/coffee/water daily), great shower, loads of storage and enough space to be private. Bed was super comfortable and noise level was low even though the rooms have very good Samsung A.V.
Air-con no problem and excellent wi-fi to our 'phones (smart T.V. with wireless keyboard available too).
Easily worth the asking price and well worth booking if you prefer the freedom of an apartment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    54
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
48
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March. It was great, met all our expectations. Good location in Kowloon and close to mtr. Staff were friendly and the check in and check out process was efficient and fast. The one room suite was brilliant, good size, comfortable, clean, with all necessary things available. We'd definitely come back here for our future trips to HK.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higashihiroshima, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very nicely decorated place, with professional services and its quite a big apartment for Hong Kong also with this high class feel to it. It was a perfect little piece of paradise which is always nice to come back to after a long day. This was the first accomodation that Ive seen in Hong Kong where I could really imagine staying for a long term stay even. It was so comfortable with really anything you might need, the personell was always helpfull. The place is very close to the subway and its right next to the Temple Street with night markets. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an encouraging review. We are extremely glad that we were able to make you feel comfortable, secure and at home during your trip to Hong Kong. We cannot thank you enough for your high praise please do let us know of your next trip to Hong Kong, we look forward to the opportunity to make you feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Last week was our third stay at CHI279. Our continued visits speak for themselves: it is a more than satisfactory holiday home, location is great, staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and comfortable, facilities are above average and prices are reasonable for such accommodation. We will be back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We really do appreciate your repeat visits, it truly is the highest form of compliment. Thanks again, we cannot wait to have you back with us on your next trip to Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed several times at CHI Residences 279 over the past few years and on one occasion had relatives join us. The small staff are very welcoming and go out of their way to assist you. There are complimentary laundry facilities on the roof top as well as a viewing area. This is not a hotel with a large lobby, but a small apartment building which rents studio suites. This Chi (there are others in Hong Kong) is right beside the Temple Street Night Market. The space is large for Hong Kong and very comfortable. There is always someone on duty in building to help. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write another encouraging review, we couldn't be more honored that you've chosen to make CHI Residences your home away from home. Thank you for all your tips and especially thank you for your kind words of encouragement for the CHI 279 team. We will be sure to pass along all your words of praise.
Again thank you for the great review, we look forward to having you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

There are afew chi residences in hong kong but only certain properties offer short term stays for tourists. Most of them cater more for long term guests. Ive stayed in chi 314 in my previous visit so i decided to try 279 this time. Again they have not failed to impress me. Spacious rooms, well equiped kitchen, wifi/smart tv, good bathroom with powerful shower, excellent location near temple street/yau ma tei/nathan road, restaurants/local eateries/laundry shop/super market all within walking distance. What impressed me most was the teamwork shown between all staff from management office to housekeeping. Everybody was friendly and helpful. Great job guys.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and positive review. We're so glad your stay with us able to help make your trip to Hong Kong a memorable one. We appreciate your comments and hope to have you back with us on your next visit to Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

A serviced apartment is a great alternative to a hotel. On previous Hong Kong holidays we have stayed at the Sheraton, the Excelsior, the Harbour Plaza, etc and this time we chose a serviced apartment. Ray, our host and the service team were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed the proximity to the MTR, the Temple Street night markets for a late night meal, the wireless internet in our room and the facilities in the kitchen and bathroom. If you are like us and don't spend a lot of time in the hotel room, don't require associated buffet breakfasts and restaurant service, then try the Chi.

Room Tip: All rooms offer "much the same" depending on how many beds/bedrooms are required. Ensure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a in-depth and positive review. We're so glad, our convenient location, amenities and friendly staff were able to make your trip to Hong Kong memorable and enjoyable. Thank you especially for your kind words for our staff, we really think they do an amazing job and are glad you agree. We'll be sure to pass along your compliments to all of them.
Thanks again for the kind review, tips and recommendations. We hope to have you back with us on your next trip to Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CHI Residences 279? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHI Residences 279

Address: No.279 Shanghai Street,Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#105 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CHI Residences 279 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHI 279 by CHI Residences is a calm retreat from the city. Located on famous Shanghai Street, a fascinating eclectic array of shops and sights reveal the natural charm of Hong Kong. Daily, weekly and monthly rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your CHI Residences 279 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chi Residences 279 Hotel Hong Kong
CHI Residences 279 Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CHI Residences 279, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.