We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will definitely stay @ Chi 279” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CHI Residences 279

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added CHI Residences 279 to your Saves list
CHI Residences 279
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.279 Shanghai Street,Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Jordan / Yau Ma Tei)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 693 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pasig, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“will definitely stay @ Chi 279”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I will definitely come back and stay at CHI 279. The location, amenities and the service was great. Ms. Fellin, Ms. Kate and Mr. Johnny were all very helpful and accommodating (we got to check in before 2:00 pm). This is my second time in Hong Kong and I'm glad I decided to try CHI.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay at CHI 279 and plan to return in the future. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to Fellin, Kate and Johnny, we think they do an excellent job and are glad that you agree. Thanks again, we can't wait to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    60
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
51
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We've stayed in CHI residence in October for few nights during our visit to Hong Kong. It is very well maintained and clean. We had one bed room and it has enough place for two. I can't compare with other hotels in Hong Kong, but for me it was enough big.
Hotel is located very closer to Yau Ma Tei MTR station and it is really easy to find it. If you go from the airport - take the express train and then MTR. It is also within short walk to temple street, ladies market and Mongkok area.
There are few things which can be improved - simple breakfast and washing machine in the room would help a lot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We searched long and hard for a place to stay in Hong Kong for our 13-night stay, we always use tripadvisor as our guide and were very pleased when we managed to get our preferred option - Chi 279. We had a thoroughly good stay and can only reiterate what others have said about Chi 279, lovely helpful and friendly staff (special mention to Fellin, Kate & Ray), great unit (comfortable king size bed and an awesome shower), good location to Temple St Market, Nathan Rd shops and just a 5-minute walk to Yau Mei Tei MTR station (extremely easy to go anywhere from here).

The advantage that this facility offered us over others is a well-equipped kitchen, free Internet access via Smart TV and free resident laundry facilities (which happen to be on the roof - 2 washing machines and 2 dryers). With a longer stay we were really keen to have access to these things.

To Fellin (the Manager), you can be justifiably proud of your facility and the service you and your staff provide. Your administrative processes (from booking, welcome emails, recommendations and advice, etc) are first class. Thank you.

Well done Chi 279, we have absolutely no hesitation in recommending your facility to others.


Steve & Sue
Christchurch
New Zealand

Room Tip: Hong Kong is a busy place and large traffic volumes (and noise) are normal. Although the windows of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Steve and Sue, thank you for your review and kind words! We are glad you could stay at CHI and enjoyed the facilities and apartment amenities available. I have passed on your message to Fellin, Kate and Ray, and thank you for your encouraging comments. We look forward to welcoming you both back to your Hong Kong home at CHI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tura Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The staff were amazing - they were genuinely interested in making our stay there as comfortable and pleasant as possible. The night manager even came out to the street with us (in the rain) to flag down a taxi when we left. The unit itself was fairly large by HK Standards when compared with a standard hotel room, very well-equipped (including wi-fi access and an in-room "thin client" internet PC, excellent DVD player and big TV), clean and very comfortable. Good-sized bathroom with ***massive*** shower enclosure.

The location was brilliant - 2 minutes walk to Nathan Rd, 1 minute to Temple Street Night Markets, 1 minute to supermarket, 3 minutes to MTR station, under 10 minutes stroll to Kowloon Park, maybe 20 minutes (or an MTR ride + 5 minutes walk) to the Harbour. Taxi to airport around HK$250.

We were lucky to stay in a number of excellent hotels and units while we were away (Europe and Hong Kong) and this was as good as any of them. A modern, professionally-run apartment hotel.

Room Tip: Traffic noise from Shanghai St was noticeable but not intrusive from our room on the 7th floor. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was my first stay in Hong Kong I will definately be back for longer. The staff at the Chi are the stars everything was anticipated Kate was so helpfull and the lovely lady who came outside to hail a cab for me on the day I left. I was on the 12th floor so very quiet I coild not fault the apartment HUGE shower, great bed nothing was too much trouble. Will definately recomend to others.

Sandra New Zealand

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Sandra, thank you for your review and we're glad we could make your first time to Hong Kong a memorable one. Do let us know when you are planning your next trip and we will make sure your stay is just as comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast, australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have used TripAdvisor on numerous occasions to research accommodation and have never written a review before for a variety of reasons. Lots of places we have stayed all around the world deserve a positive review but I have usually arrived home a day or two before returning to work and then time flies by and I never seem to get around to doing it BUT this time I am as the Chi Residences is " a hidden white pearl in the middle of chaos".
Having only stopped in Hong Kong for 2 days on a previous trip on our way to Europe, we were determined to return and explore further. We required a place that had a kitchen so we had the option of preparing our own meals, if we wished and room to spread out a bit, not just a hotel room. The use of space is cleverly used. The apartment has everything you could want. We stayed for 5 days and the location is excellent, so handy to everything, local markets for shopping, a "normal" supermarket, a Wellcome, a block or 2 away for western style groceries, eg, milk, cereal etc. The staff were always helpful and very friendly and the cleanliness of the apartment was so lovely to walk back into at the end of a hot day of sightseeing and shopping. The towels were thick and lovely and I agree the shower was the best. I loved the red shower door also.
We always check out the front of a place on Google Earth before travelling there so we know what to look for and the Chi Residences does has a large sign just not at street level.It is illuminated at night.We were on the 3rd floor and even though Shanghai St is very busy in the day, it does settle at night. I am a light sleeper but was not woken once by street noise.Even though the Chi was fully booked during the Mid Autumn festival, we did not hear other people,as there are only 3 units per floor.
Staying in the area of Ya Ma Tei gives Westerners a taste and feel of real Hong Kong. It is a street that has everyday people going about their daily business. We always felt safe even when returning late at night.The A21 bus to and from the airport is in Nathan Rd just around the corner as is the MRT which takes you anywhere quickly and cheaply. We will most definitely be staying here again when we return next year. Our Check out process was quick.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Firstly, congratulations on your first Tripadvisor review and thank you for writing such an encouraging one for us. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities and a comfortable stay in our apartments. Yau Ma Tei does give an authentic Hong Kong experience and it's good to know you enjoyed exploring the neighbourhood. Thanks again for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back to CHI, your Hong Kong home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kowloon City, null, Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I allow you to leave a little comment on this resident CHI 279 it is now 13 months since I live here.
although sometimes there are slight noise but this evening and a lack of education of some person passing.
First of all you are very comfortable apartment with complete equipment very clean with household makes every day which is not the case with alot of other apartment in hong kong.
Your staff is very courteous and very professional.
all my congratulations to all of you for this excellent service

regards / ck

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Christophe, thank you for taking time to write an encouraging review even after some months of your stay with us. It's nice to know our CHI hospitality has been memorable and we hope we can extend this service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CHI Residences 279? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHI Residences 279

Address: No.279 Shanghai Street,Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CHI Residences 279 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHI 279 by CHI Residences is a calm retreat from the city. Located on famous Shanghai Street, a fascinating eclectic array of shops and sights reveal the natural charm of Hong Kong. Daily, weekly and monthly rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your CHI Residences 279 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chi Residences 279 Hotel Hong Kong
CHI Residences 279 Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CHI Residences 279, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.