We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel, wonderful service and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Causeway Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #35 of 645 hotels in Hong Kong
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A great hotel, wonderful service and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Was only at the Crowne Plaza for 2 nights recently on a work trip - wished I had more time here. It's a great hotel. Location is fantastic. The tram stops out the front of the hotel (look for trams going to "Happy Valley") and the underground train station is only two short blocks from the hotel located underneath a large shopping and food complex.

Rooms were really well proportioned. I'm a tall guy and was expecting to get a small room, but the king bed standard room is really quite large by Asian and European room standards. Bed was incredibly comfortable and the bathroom and rain shower were just what I needed to unwind after a long trip into Hong Kong.

Pool near the rooftop is great - although I was there in a colder month, so didn't use it. My only criticism if I was to be very picky is that the gym is very underwhelming. I tend to use hotel gyms quite a bit when travelling and I thought the lack of weight machines was a bit of a disappointment - but as I say, this really is only a very minor point.

Breakfast is incredibly good. The selection of Asian and Western cuisine is well thought out and ample in options. And best of all, it all tastes as good as it looks. Really is a wonderful way to start the day.

This was my first time at the Crowne Plaza and I can tell you that whenever I travel to Hong Kong in the future for work and personal trips, I will always stay here. Very highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    242
    54
    4
    3
See reviews for
94
147
54
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I always enjoy going to the Crown Plaza in Hong Kong. Its conveniently located in causeway Bay, close to Times Square Shopping mall and the MTR (subway system). There are a few Starbuck's in the direct vicinity and plenty of restaurants. The lobby tends to be a bit chaotic (although they do have a separate check-in counter for Priority club Gold and Platinum members), the 28th floor bar is a good place to unwind with a great view. Breakfast buffet is quite good but a bit expensive. Although the hotel has a pool it is very tiny and directly besides the bar on the 28th floor so you need to be a "supermodel" to feel comfortable swimming there.

Room Tip: If you book this hotel try to get on one of the higher floors (sometimes at a premium) overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKG,SIN,CAN
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I'm a Platinum Priority Club member and it's my second time staying at the hotel. I booked the cheapest room on an Advanced Purchase rate, and was upgraded to the Executive Suite with full benefits

The regular rooms are pretty spacious for Hong Kong and the executive suite was also pretty big considering they only charge between HK$4-6k for them. There is a 1/2 bathroom in the living room. The highlight is the full length windows in the bedroom overlooking the race course and the bath with the view over the racecourse. The master bathroom was extremely spacious.

Good:
- Excellent upgrade and check-in granted at 10am.
- Location.
- Full club lounge benefits. (I only took in breakfasts as was out most of the day). The usual for Plats is Free Breakfast and Internet.
- Fantastic Bulgari White Tea amenities. (These are my favorite, much better than the Green Tea or L'Occtaine that you sometimes find at IC's) - Was very surprised as the last time i had White Tea amenities it was at a Four Seasons.
- They now have a Priority Club Desk to the right of the lobby (didn't have that on my last stay) with pre-prepared registration forms and very attentive staff.

Bad:
- This is just personal preference, but the mattress was just too soft for me and would have appreciated a choice of pillows available.
- Rude guests from North of the Border - One of the guys walked into the lift smoking a lit cigarette. Hell no, with my 2 kids in the lift. Told him to get out, so he put the cigarette out on the floor of the lift!
- Would appreciate a laundry benefit for Club guests - similar to what they offer at the Holiday Inn Orchard in Singapore.
- Repetitive breakfasts - the buffet hasn't changed at all (With the exception of adding a cheese station) since my last stay here 8 months ago. Exact same dishes on the buffet. A good spread, but some variety would be appreciated.

The hotel represents excellent value for money. It's usually more expensive than the Grand Stanford Intercon, but still represents good value. Rooms are new(ish) and spacious, service is good. I would choose the CP over both the IC's in HK.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Had one of my best business hotel stays ever. Impeccable service, especially from the doormen who were always incredibly helpful in helping me find my way around. And the front desk are always helpful and warm.

And as a priority club member, I not only got a free upgrade to a higher floor for a non-smoking room, I also got complimentary wifi.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wagga wagga Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza, for 5 nights from Nov 13th. We arrived 8am from early flight, Hotel staff anticipated early arrival and Kristy happily checked us in to our room, which was fabulous we were expecting just to leave our bags as check was 2pm. We did a lot of tours from this Hotel and the Concierge was helpful in organizing them. Convenient to good shopping in Causeway Bay and really close to Happy Valley for morning walk.

We found it easy to get to anywhere on HK island by cheap taxi from this Hotel.

Need to mention, Kristy front counter, Tony the Concierge, John the Doorman .

We loved breakfast in the Hotel each morning and it was fantastic, lovely variety and all the staff great.

Overall fabulous stay on HK Island, would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Happy Valley, we forgot to and it is a nice outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for a little over a week and were quite impressed. Check-in was a breeze. Staff are very polite and helpful. Our room was large to HK standards, and equipped with an iPod dock. Comfortable bed and the rain shower was a nice touch but free wifi would have made our stay more pleasant. There's good food and shopping nearby or you can catch a train elsewhere as the hotel is located a short walk from the MRT Station.

All in all a great hotel with amazing views, though the pool should be made a bit more private. We'll be back next time we're in HK!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

this hotel was recommended by a colleague who have stayed with them. I liked the room instantly when i walked in. Spotting an uncanny resemblance to Marriott's Renaissance Bangkok, it has a shower which can be seen through from the bedroom. Not an issue at all since I was alone. The door covering it is however outside the bathroom, strange!

The guest room is very spacious with high ceiling, very firm bed and soft pillows which offered a good night's sleep. Shower's great and the internet connection is very stable. Suggestion on the internet: please provide an option for more than 1 day connection. It can be annoying having to log on every 24 hours. You may want to speak with your service provider about it?

I was offered a value add package which includes daily breakfast and internet (no limit on the number of devices) at a nominal sum, while it was a good offer, I wondered why wasn't I offered to sign up for the Priority membership to enjoy free internet access in the first place.

The housekeeping staff who serviced my room was attentive enough to offer me a mouse pad and adapter as I was working in the room after my daily appointments. The doormen were very helpful with hailing taxis for us every morning too.

While not located close to Causeway Bay MTR station, the short walk to Sogo and Times Square was not too much an issue.

Breakfast at Kudos was good. The soup noodle was too salty for my liking. Staff are very very efficient to ensure you sign your bill before you leave though.

It was overall a very great stay and I certainly look forward to come back to this hotel during my future visits to HK. Will also not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers face the Happy Valley, but be sure to request for high floor to get a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Address: 8 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Causeway Bay, Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay is just 3 minutes’ walk to the renowned Times Square. The international brand business hotel offers 263 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring the high-tech Citywide In-room Mobile, WiFi and wired Internet connectivity, iPod Docking Entertainment Center, 5.1 Surround Sound System and a 42 inch LCD TV. Our Club at 28, rooftop swimming pool and fitness center are perfect for unwind. Kudos, the all-day-dining restaurant, features an extensive selection of international cuisine to appeal to all appetites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Expedia, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.