We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #47 of 692 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at Crowne Plaza as my usual hotel in Causeway Bay was sold out. But I think I am converted and will return. I use cabs frequently whenever I am in Hong Kong for work. Compared to the other hotel, the queue for taxi at Crowne Plaza was very much shorter. Distance-wise Crowne Plaza is less accessible to where I usually attend meetings, and traffic can be worse too (especially when returning to the hotel in the evenings). However Crowne Plaza is a winner when it comes to getting me a taxi in the mornings. Crowne Plaza is also very near to Times Square (for shopping and also for the trains if that is preferred). And Mak's wanton noodles is just across the road. Its location is thus a big plus for me. The rooms are fresh and of decent size. Internet access (wired, wifi) is not free though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    291
    64
    4
    6
See reviews for
120
168
63
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed five nights in this brand new hotel in the heart of Causeway Bay. The location might not be the best if you are in HK for business and you need to be in Central or Wanchai. However, the MTR (metro) station Causeway Bay is only a 10 minute walk, so if the climate allows it, you can make that walk and then move by public transport. The Causeway Bay shopping area starts accross the street, and the Times Square shopping mall is only a short stroll away.
My Deluxe room was large to HK standards, with iPod and internet connections provided. The Queen bed was very comfortable and everything in the room was in good working order, also because it was all band new. The bathroom had a comfortable rain shower and bath tub.
Breakfast was plenty and varied, and available in continental as well as Chinese version. I also tried the restaurant on the Second Floor (same as where breakfast is served), which was surprisingly good for a hotel restaurant, and prices were reasonable.
Go have a drink at the bar on the top floor: you'll have a unique view on the horse racing track and in the evening light balloons are floating in the pool.
Good to know: if you are a member of the hotel chain's Priority Club, then WiFi and usage of the two internet PC's in the lobby are provided free of charge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

WHAT I LIKED

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in September 2012 for 9 days. It was our first time in Hong Kong and we had put some research into where to stay. We decided on a superior room at the Crowne Plaza and I am glad we did.

The hotel is in a very convenient location. It is just a short walk to Times Square and the entrance to the subway system.

The room we got was spacious, modern and clean. The hotel staff was attentive and I absolutely loved the small details that made our stay there special. There are complimentary bottles of water in the room daily, the fresh fruit basket is always kept filled and after noticing my boyfriend ordering ice most evenings, the ice bucket was filled up on a daily basis as well.

The hotel has two nice bar on the top floors and it was nice to wind down with a drink soaking in the view of Happy Valley.

We had breakfast included in our rate. The breakfast room is spacious and the buffet has a lot of choices, Continental as well as Asian. The possibility of ordering freshly made omelets was an added bonus.

WHAT ID DIDN'T LIKE

There isn't much I didn't like. The pool area is a bit of a waste, as it is not private at all. The top level bar's windows view out onto the pool and I didn't feel it was private enough to use. In fact, I didn't see anyone using it. This however did not impact on our stay, as it wasn't one of the features we looked for in the Hotel.

The Chinese restaurant in the hotel should probably be avoided. It was quite pricey and I believe one can get better food elsewhere. However the restaurant is not part of the hotel and therefore it's nothing that negatively impacts the stay there.

IN SUMMARY

I am very happy with he choice of hotel and I believe it's a great option if one doesn't want to spend half a fortune for the luxury hotels. I was very pleasantly surprised by the level of service and the appointed room and would recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: We went for the superior room with Internet and breakfast included and it was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed over weekend here and had a blast. Excellent service and the room was fantastic. very clean, excellent bed. Located close to subway and bus service.
Breakfast was amazing, lots of excellent selections and options.

If I return to Hong Kong will be definitely back.
Congratulations!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I cannot add much to the other 5 star reviews. The service was impeccable and every need was anticipated. Made use of the wonderful sound system using my iPhone. Some food tips: The Mak Noodle restaurant across the street has great won ton noodle-- hard to find any better. Also there is well-stocked supermarket one floor below the Starbucks across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza between the 5th and 11th of November. We were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary and received a complimentary bottle of champagne on arrival. Our room was also upgraded to a Deluxe. The rooms are large and very clean. The bed is very comfortable and a good nights sleep was had each night. We swam in the pool every day and on a number of occasions had a drink by the pool. We had breakfast at the hotel once and this was delicious.
Times Square is close by and has excellent shopping and restaurants (try the Modern Chinese on 10/F). There is in fact quite a number of good restaurants and bars close by to the hotel. Trams run along the front of the hotel, the MTR is a 5 minute walk and taxis are readily available.
I travel quite a bit through Australia and Asia and this hotel is one the best I have stayed in. Will definitely be staying again the next time I am in HK.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Make sure you get view of racecourse. If poss go to races - well worth doing! Restaurant good - had French promotion while we were there - food superb and 20% discount for hotel guests (inc wine!!). Good central location close to trams, buses and trains. Dont miss happy hour with free drinks for privilege members. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Address: 8 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Causeway Bay, Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay is just 3 minutes’ walk to the renowned Times Square. The international brand business hotel offers 263 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring the high-tech Citywide In-room Mobile, WiFi and wired Internet connectivity, iPod Docking Entertainment Center, 5.1 Surround Sound System and a 42 inch LCD TV. Our Club at 28, rooftop swimming pool and fitness center are perfect for unwind. Kudos, the all-day-dining restaurant, features an extensive selection of international cuisine to appeal to all appetites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.