We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Causeway Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #36 of 652 Hotels in Hong Kong
Perth
1 review
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza between the 5th and 11th of November. We were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary and received a complimentary bottle of champagne on arrival. Our room was also upgraded to a Deluxe. The rooms are large and very clean. The bed is very comfortable and a good nights sleep was had each night. We swam in the pool every day and on a number of occasions had a drink by the pool. We had breakfast at the hotel once and this was delicious.
Times Square is close by and has excellent shopping and restaurants (try the Modern Chinese on 10/F). There is in fact quite a number of good restaurants and bars close by to the hotel. Trams run along the front of the hotel, the MTR is a 5 minute walk and taxis are readily available.
I travel quite a bit through Australia and Asia and this hotel is one the best I have stayed in. Will definitely be staying again the next time I am in HK.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    250
    55
    4
    3
See reviews for
99
149
54
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Make sure you get view of racecourse. If poss go to races - well worth doing! Restaurant good - had French promotion while we were there - food superb and 20% discount for hotel guests (inc wine!!). Good central location close to trams, buses and trains. Dont miss happy hour with free drinks for privilege members. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, california
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is well situated for the business and pleasure traveler with well insulated rooms from the bustling noise of HK. My colleague and I arrived at the hotel at 6:15am from 5:00am arrival from the states. The front desk was happy to greet us and said our rooms were not yet ready, but after breakfast, the bell man greeted us at the hotel restaurant and handed our room keys. Large rooms with big showers, along with cordial service are big pluses. I would return again for my next visit as well as my colleague. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in October 2012. Check in was friendly and efficient. Rooms were very well equipped with outlet adaptors/convertors, hair dryer, lots of toiletries, blow dryer and mini bar with snacks. Bed was very comforatable with lots of pillow. Wi-fi worked well. The bathroom walls were glass so no privacy from bedroom which is fine if travelling with spouse or partner but not so much if travelling with friends, co-workers or kids. See pic.

Ate at the buffet restaurant for dinner which was fine and had drinks at the top floor lounge which was crowded with well dressed, young, locals and had live music. In order to acess the pool you'll need to walk through the coctail lounge which was odd.

I would stay here again if travelling solo or with spouse. Area is good for shopping and very safe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in late October. On the positive side the rooms are lovely with quality furnishings and the bar on the 28th floor is chic and trendy with great views over the city and racecourse. On our first night they had some low key entertainment which gave the place a really nice feel. So why only 3 stars? During our stay there were a few issues that really bugged us..

1 Check-in was painfully slow. We were next in line behind the two people being dealt with but still had to wait more than 10 minutes just to be acknowledged. Not great after 16 hours of travelling
2 There just aren't enough lifts! Seems a small point but it took us nearly 15 minutes to get out of the hotel one day from the 11th floor as they had shut one of the 3 lifts off for a function and each lift can only get around 8 people in
3 The bar was "closed for a private function" for two of the nights we were there. The only alternative was a "pop up" bar on the open smokers floor which, besides the wind and the stale smoke smell has virtually no seats. Can't believe a hotel of this quality (and cost!) doesn't feel obliged to provide a proper bar for its residents when it hosts a function?

So, overall we enjoyed our stay but would probably look elsewhere if we visited again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Enter through a very modest lobby. Staff are efficient, but not very friendly. The restaurant on the first floor has zero atmosphere...and on the night that I ate in it they were hosting a woeful French promotion. The bars on 27 and 28 floor are open air and perfectly pleasant. The bed rooms are modern, the beds comfortable, the Internet expensive (and not included). The gym needs better air conditioning, but serves it's purpose. This is an ok business hotel, but one to make the frequent traveler feel that it is a city too far and a hotel too many.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The room were beautiful and the hotel was very clean. The staff were attentive and helpful. Budi the bell person was particularly great. He was welcoming and anticipated our needs. It made the stay even better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Address: 8 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Causeway Bay, Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay is just 3 minutes’ walk to the renowned Times Square. The international brand business hotel offers 263 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring the high-tech Citywide In-room Mobile, WiFi and wired Internet connectivity, iPod Docking Entertainment Center, 5.1 Surround Sound System and a 42 inch LCD TV. Our Club at 28, rooftop swimming pool and fitness center are perfect for unwind. Kudos, the all-day-dining restaurant, features an extensive selection of international cuisine to appeal to all appetites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.