We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Causeway Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #38 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 681 Reviews
Derby
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This hotel is only 2 years old. It's modern feel and cool room design, along with two outdoor bars, makes a great location for business and pleasure alike. The shower and bedroom is only separated by a glass screen, and the surround sound system compes with iPod connectivity and DVD player.

It's a short walk from Times Square, so the underground is close by. Priority Club members enjoy a separate check in area and complementary Internet PC's. The service is excellent, staff extremely helpful and polite.

The breakfast buffet is great with American, European and Asian specialities alike.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    262
    59
    4
    4
See reviews for
104
159
57
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I Love this hotel.
This is the first hotel that i think there's no dust on the pillow and the bedsheet!!
The location is good and pretty quiet. A bit far from the shopping area (comparing to other hotels in Causeway bay) but still reachable. There's the bus station in front of the the hotel. Very convenient, indeed.

you will get the terrific service at front. You can also keep the luggage in the hotel after checking out and go for shopping.

Only one thing is you have to bring your back to the room yourselves, but this is not a problem because the elevator is OK. maybe because there're lots of pp during that time when i checked in.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The accommodation is comfortable and located in a quiet corner of Causeway Bay - if you are planning to come by MTR, note that the hotel is very close to Times Square but unfortunately the train station can be quite unforgiving if you are carrying big luggages and facing a large crowd everywhere you go! Take the cab!

Service is consistently good! = ) The pool is small though and could be better if there was some privacy (there is a restaurant beside it). The gym s very small though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012 via mobile

My spouse and I stayed here for 3 nights in early Jan. As the main trip purpose was Lunar New Year shopping and meeting my sister who stays in Wan Chai, we decided on Hotel Crowne Plaza due to the good corporate room rate, it's proximity to causeway bay and Times Square. The recent positive reviews on Tripadvisor also helped in our choice.

It was 12 deg C when we arrived in HK on 5 Jan. After a short 30 mins ride on the Airport Express, we arrived at HK station (terminal station). As I bought the return airport express tickets online at HKD160 per person (HSBC credit card promotion), I collected the tickets from the Customer Service Counter before exiting the station. A short taxi ride from HK station to the hotel costs HKD32.

Check in was prompt and efficient. The guest room at 34 sq m is clearly one of the most spacious we have seen for HK and also one of the most well equipped: iPod/iPhone docking station, in-room mobile and ample sockets. Bed is comfortable and everything still looks new.

Across the road from the hotel are small eateries where we had our breakfasts. Our favorite Chi Kei wanton noodle restaurant at 52 Russell St, is 5 mins walk away. Our meal for 3 consisting costs HKD 110.

Another plus point especially for guests with young children is the gift of Chuppa Chup lollipops at the Concierge.

We had a most enjoyable stay and for those who love shopping in Causeway Bay this is the place to stay! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I have been a regular visitor of the Crowne Plaza since it opened it's doors .I had always regarded the hotel to be good value given it's excellent rooms for a Cauesway Bay location.However things just keep changing to the detriment of what was a good property.firstly the Club Lounge which was excellent was removed and replaced with a Chinese Restaurant.The lounge was then incorporated into the ground floor bar,this has now also been replaced with a home wares shop and refreshments for club patrons has moved to the pool bar.soon this will go and probably along with Kudos the only real F& B outlet in the hotel.
Room rates have increased lately at an extraordinarily high rate in fact it is possible to achieve the same or slightly lower rates at the Intercontinental in Kowloon.in fact I just achieved such for my next visit to Hong Kong.
Next Priority points required to redeem a room have just increased from 25000 points per night to 35000,once again certainly not in line with other hotel clubs ie Hilton ,Marriott and SPG.far quicker to redeem points for rooms at the Conrad hong Kong than Crowne Plaza Causeway Bay given the huge surge in points now required by Priority Club.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savio28, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write about your experience and for your loyal patronage. We truly cherish and value your business very much.

Your comments about the lack of Club Lounge and the additional Priority Club Reward points have been duly noted. We shall definately work on improving ourself to ensure that we meet your expectations.

May I kindly request you contact me directly thru my personal e-mail address at (jude.mendes@cphongkong.com) so that I can ensure we provide you with our quality service.

Once again thank you very much for taking the time to write about our hotel and we look forward in welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

With best regards,

Jude Mendes
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We travel to HK fairly often and usually stay at the Excelsior simply because of its location - the Excelsior rooms are fairly run down and in desperate need of refurbishment, but that is a story for another day.

We were unable to get a decently priced room at the Excelsior this time because of a fairly last minute booking, and went with the Crowne Plaza instead, so this was our first time here. It was a very pleasant surprise. Location-wise it is not situated smack in the middle of Causeway Bay like Excelsior, but slightly out of the way (it is near Times Square and the MTR exit at Times Square, but those familiar with HK will know that there is a longish walk through an underground tunnel from the Times Square exit to actually get to the main MTR station). This was the only downside. We took three deluxe rooms during the stay. All were very spacious, very new, clean, and had the latest in amenities like ipod docking stations, large flat screen tv. Beds were very comfy, not too hard or too soft. Sheets were incredibly smooth and silky. Bathrooms were large and well-appointed with both shower and bath (I should point out that although there is an option to have a see through glass panel between the shower and bedroom, there is a wooden sliding door which can be pulled over the panel if you prefer your privacy in the shower). The welcome platter of fruit was a nice touch. Reception was helpful though slightly slow on the uptake (we communicated with them in English), and although we had asked for a slightly complicated rooming arrangement with regard to our connecting rooms, this was arranged with no fuss at all, as was a late checkout on the last day.

The pool is small, really just for lounging in. The rooftop bar gives a great view of the city if you can see through the smog when you are there! We didn't try the food in the hotel - it looked pricey, but there are choices galore in the vicinity and throughout HK.

All in all a very good hotel for the price, especially in an expensive city like HK. Highly recommended, and we will definitely be back if prices stay as they are.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed at crown plaza in October. The location is very convenient, two minutes walk to times square and ten minutes drive to HK convention and exhibition centre. Lobby area is very limited, no lounge at all. The bar at the top is nice. The gym is very small. The pool is mainly decorative. The room however is perfect. It is very large, modern decorated, fully equipped, with last technology applications. Tv is huge, DVD available, cellular at my disposal, wifi etc. bathroom is amazing. There are all possible amenities somebody can find in a hotel bathroom. Finally food is ok and breakfast is average.
To sum up the room is fantastic but the hotel lacks common spaces. I would rate room 5 stars and rest hotel 3 stars.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Address: 8 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Causeway Bay, Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay is just 3 minutes’ walk to the renowned Times Square. The international brand business hotel offers 263 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring the high-tech Citywide In-room Mobile, WiFi and wired Internet connectivity, iPod Docking Entertainment Center, 5.1 Surround Sound System and a 42 inch LCD TV. Our Club at 28, rooftop swimming pool and fitness center are perfect for unwind. Kudos, the all-day-dining restaurant, features an extensive selection of international cuisine to appeal to all appetites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.