We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place to stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Man Hing Lung Hotel

Man Hing Lung Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hong Kong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Man Hing Lung Hotel
Flat F2 14/F, Mirador Mansion, 58 Nathan Rd., Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #416 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst place to stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Don't book in this hotel. The place is terrible. I ask my friend who lives in HK to check the place and make reservations if its good a month before. Upon first check my friend was brought to a good room which lead my friend to reserve the place. On the day we went to the place we were shocked that the place is terrible. The restroom is so small you have to go out just to change clothes. Aircon does not work at all, even the wall is not fully painted and the foam of the bed seems dirty. We requested to change room but because we have already paid for the place before, they told us that we can't. We are supposed to stay for 3 nights which was paid already but left and find other place to stay for the 3rd night. Only good thing about the place is the internet speed which is fast and free one you checked-in

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
1
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

On basis of a Lonely Planet recommendation, we had booked 3 nights at this hotel on arriving from UK. After a long tiring flight we arrived at the hotel only to realise immediately that, despite us having a wedge of confirmatory e-mails, there appeared to be a problem with our booking. The "friendly" (according to LP) Mr Chan was most evasive and asked us to wait while he sorted something out. After an hour of waiting and a non-appearance on Chan's part, we were still no nearer to either getting a room or having an explanation as to what the problem was. His wife during this period was positively rude. After an hour, I popped out to see what else might be available in the area but this proved to be difficult as conferences and exhibitions taking place in HK meant that short notice accommodation was at a premium - so we were stuck with Mr Chan. A further hour and a lot of hassle later, we finally got Mrs Chan to agree to providing a room - Mr Chan had disappeared totally from the scene. Although the incredibly rude Mrs Chan made an awful room available, it had to be for 3 nights at a total cost of HK$2500. We realised that this, in the light of their published room rates, was a total rip-off but, in the circumstances - hot, tired and burdened with luggage - we had no option but to accept. However, we were so disenchanted with the whole situation that we checked out the following day and moved to a much nicer and much cheaper hotel - there was no offer of a refund of the cost of the 2 nights unused accommodation. We accepted this"write-off" as we were so pleased to get out of the place. We feel that this was a deliberate rip-off on the Chan's part and that we needed to let Trip Advisor members know about this - we are writing also to Lonely Planet to ask them to review their recommendation of this hotel and also to the Hong Kong Tourist Board who have registered this hotel. So, please be warned.

Room Tip: Don't rely on Lonely Planet - use Trip Adviser!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I ve stayed here several times, but always just for a night or two on the way to europe or to get a visa.The rooms are tiny, but clean, and safe. The location in Tsim Sha Tsui is good; but yes, nothing fancy. The rooms are spread out over different flats; some rooms even have an outside window, but most don t. But at 200 dollar a night, in hong kong that is cheap.
Big people with lot of luggage might not fit into some rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 via mobile

I only went to Hong Kong to get a visa processed for Mainland China so it served my purposes, but I wouldn't recommend this play for longer term stay for rooms may be too small and uncomfortable.

The room was definitely clean. I stayed in a single room which was the smallest room I have ever slept in!!! But the upsides were: air conditioning, a television, and decent service.

There is a lady who speaks fluent English who can help with communicating with the folks who actually own the place.

Someone cleaned my room every day and everyone there was flexible.

I would definitely recommend this place for people who need a couple of nights and want to be in the middle of the center of Hong Kong.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We booked this hotel online, provided our credit card details and had a confirmation back from Mr Chan (Steve) who is the manager. The confirmation listed 200 HK$, buit when we show up after a looog flight. There are no rooms available and when Mr Chang is phoned he claims that the price is now 600HK$!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

All hotels in Hongkong were booked out and dues to last minute plans, I needed a place to stay. I booked through the lonely planet website. Bookigng was a breeze. Rates are low for hongkong (abt 300 hkd per day). The hotel is lousy - rooms are tiny like shoe boxes. The bathroom is really small - you may injure yourself trying to turn! Thank God it had hot water and free internet wifi in the room. there is a common comp at the entrance. Safety appears high - the owners family is always around, the alleyways connectign the 10 odd rooms were filled with luggage (I guess ppl keep their luggage out so there is some space inside the room!).

Mirador mansion is basically a residential building, but many floors have turned some rooms into "hotels".

The ground floor has all kinds of unsavoury characters. There is a police check up you need to pass through if entering the building after midnight - I am not sure if this made me feel safer or worried me more!

On the whole, unless you are REALLY cash strapped, avoid this hotel.

(Oh - surprise, my shoe box had a big window and no cockroaches!)

I do admit this place is very conveniently located - restaurants, barber shops, mtr, ferry, all were a stones throw away.31723893

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

There's no doubt about it, Man Hing Lung is a great hostel and travelers on a budget would definitely appreciate the low room rates. The room and the bathroom were clean, and they give fresh towels upon request. Also, the private bathroom is pretty decent for a hostel. Dont expect a five star room though. The typical HK hostel room is very small.

A warning: beware of the rude receptionist. When we got there, we were greeted by a cranky, disrespectful, discriminatory, and unaccommodating receptionist. She was rude, and most probably, if we didnt make a prior deposit/reservation, she would not have accommodated us. However, the real owners of Man Hing Lung were very nice when we rode with them at the elevator. Its probably just the female receptionist who was rude.

All in all, I would recommend staying here if you could get past the rude receptionist. If its any consolation, you would see her only during the first and last day of your stay in Hong Kong. However, the Mirador Mansion is not known for its very secure rooms. So before you leave your hostel, be sure to lock your doors.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Man Hing Lung Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Man Hing Lung Hotel

Address: Flat F2 14/F, Mirador Mansion, 58 Nathan Rd., Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #416 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
Also Known As:
Man Hing Lung Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Man Hing Lung Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Man Hing Lung Hotel to your Saves list