We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mingle Place By The Park

Save Saved
You added Mingle Place By The Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mingle Place By The Park
No.143 Wanchai Road,Wanchai, Hong Kong, China (Central)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 645 hotels in Hong Kong
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A very nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Well , I got to this hotel , by chance at all . I had some problems with my credit card and I have to spent the night somewhere , and not much cash so I choose this hotel only becasue of price . BUT , I the experince was nice . First I have to say that the room is preatty small , but if you are alone on business trip can be enough . The bath room si new and nice , and also the room si new and very comfortable bed . I slept very well . Please do not understand that is a 5 star hotel, I do think that you cannot spend more than 2-3 nights there . For the 500 HKS /night ( tax included ) I got a nice room , comfy bed , free wireless in the room !!! ( which i snot very common ) and good Location . So for me it was a nice surprise this hotel . If you just want somewhere to sleep this is a good-cheap choice . Also Flat TV in the room ! I stayed at 3 rd floor and I even had a small balcony . Interesting experince . I would recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    34
    20
    10
    12
See reviews for
3
19
37
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I was looking for something in Hong Kong which is almost impossible to find: that 1960s touch that is brilliantly staged in Wong Kar-wai movies. Tiny rooms, side by side long balconies that face the busy and bright streets which used to be the old harbor of Hong Kong. I found this all and more at the Mingle Place By the Park. The "more" stands for amazing shower (believe me, I needed after long flight connections and 2 weeks surfing in the Philippines), great location, and super friendly staff. Go to the park, located just behind the hotel, for a rest or walk - the park connects Wan Chai with Happy Valley. I couldn't think of a better place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My room was small, but considering the price, I expected that. Everything was clean. The fixtures are all modern. Everything was in good repair. The furniture and fixtures are cleverly designed to make maximum use of the small space available. The Internet, wired and wireless, was good. The staff all did their jobs well. Mingle Place at the Park is really an extension of Mingle Place With the Star, in an older adjacent building at a lower price. The check-in for both is in the lobby of the Star, so, when you arrive, don't make the mistake of trekking up the steps at the Park with your bags looking for a lobby because you'll just have to haul your stuff back down and go to the the adjacent building. There is a small sign telling you this at street level, but I missed it the first time. While there is no elevator in this six story building, the Star has an elevator and there are two connections between Park and Star, one at the roof (7th level) and one at the second level. So, you can take the elevator up at the Star, cross over, then haul your stuff down at the Park. Actually, the helpful staff will do that for you. Park is advertised as a historic hotel. Considering that I was built before this hotel was built, I don't see it that way, but I suppose it is true. It has interesting historical pictures on the walls of the staircase. My room did have a balcony, but it is so tiny that if you can get out on to it, it might not be big enough to turn around on - certainly no room to sit there. Wan Chai Station on the MTR is a short walk, maybe 5 minutes, or less. Overall, I got a good clean room for a great price, so I'm completely happy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

You might think this is a hotel, but it clearly states on the door of your room that in fact it is a guest house.

Plus points, very helpful and friendly staff, from the cleaning ladies to the girls on the front desk and the polite and helpful manager Henry. They will help you with any questions you may have.
Even the guys carting your luggage up those stairs are kind and don't complain.

I must say the room was spotless, and cleaned extremely thoroughly every morning.

The area is very interesting and it is handy for taxis, trams, etc. lots of little cafes and restaurants around. The restaurant adjoining the Mingle has wonderful and very fresh Chinese food...again, the staff are lovely.

Negative point...room is absolutely minute! But I did have a little patio all to myself with table and chairs which made it more bearable. I do think it was overpriced, but then, you are on HK Island
And HK is notorious for highly priced hotel rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

People are nice here. That is true. But the rooms (I stayed in 203 and 405) are really, well, nòt nice. I started laughing when I entered my first room. Than I tried to touch the four walls at the same time. I could. Easily. I heard some rooms are better than others, so make sure you see the rooms before making a final reservation/ payment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahahual, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I was mortified to arrive in the lobby and see a paper on the desk with all my confidential information of my credit card in plain view of anyone entering the lobby. The amount I was charged was over 100 dollars u.s. more than the quoted prices of the hotel lobby and the printed prices in the room. I made the reservation through booking.com that guarantees the lowest price and that was not the case. The hotel you arrive to is not where the room is. They take you up the elevator and up and down staircases and across a roof to an old apartment building to your room. It's a nightmare in the rain and with suitcases. Nothing like you imagine. The room was very tiny but clean. It should be listed as a hostel or apartment not a hotel. An extreme inconvienance to get to and from. I would never recommend it.

Room Tip: Before you pay ask to see the actual room you will be staying in, not the pretty pictures they show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Pros:

Convenient location
Cheap price
Free wi-fi
Air-con

Cons:
Very, very hard, uncomfortable bed.
No curtains on the windows and bright street lights. Eye mask was a necessity.
Very thin walls, I could hear every time my neighbour received a text message. I could hear everything happening on the street. I could hear everyone who walked up and down the stairs. I could hear my drunk neighbours screaming in the corridor at 3am. Earplugs were a necessity.
On my first night I received 2 automated wake up calls as well as another wake up call from the front desk staff between 2 am - 6 am. None of which I had booked.
The front desk staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful.
There was alot of mildew around the airconditioner which constantly dripped onto my pillows/head

I would never stay here again nor would I ever recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
Central
Mingle Place On The Wing
Mingle Place On The Wing
#168 of 645 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Wan Chai, Non s...
Show More
Wan Chai
Mingle Place With The Star
Mingle Place With The Star
#193 of 645 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Quiet, Luxury...
Show More
Central
Bishop Lei International House
Bishop Lei International House
#135 of 645 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Sai Wan
Hong Kong Cosco Hotel
Hong Kong Cosco Hotel
#381 of 645 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
Wan Chai
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#333 of 645 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
Central
The Garden View - YWCA
The Garden View - YWCA
#120 of 645 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingle Place By The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingle Place By The Park

Address: No.143 Wanchai Road,Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 645 hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Old Colonial Hong Kong at this Unique Culture Hotel! This hotel is based on a vintage 1960's old Chinese residential building with splashes of colonial architectural style (e.g. small balconies facing the main street), carefully restored for a truely unique, authentic experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Mingle Place By The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingle Place By The Park Hotel Hong Kong
Mingle Place By The Park Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mingle Place By The Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.