We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, Angela!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Chak Cheung Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #44 of 690 Hotels in Hong Kong
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Thank you, Angela!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I highly recommend getting a cute green New Territories cab from the airport if you've got too much stuff to cram into the Airport Express. The Hyatt's location seems out of the way, but there is a taxi stand and bus station nearby as well as University Station on the MTR and the hotel has a shuttle to Tsim Sha Tsui. Bonus: the shuttle has free WiFi!!
Upon arrival at the Hyatt, my family and I were greeted by the nicest agent, Angela. She answered all our questions and made us feel completely at home. She noticed there were three of us and, in light of our rooms unable to be together due to availability, suggested an upgrade to a family suite. We turned that down and she instead, in honor of my mother's birthday, upgraded my parents to a room on the 16th floor with a living room, kitchen and second bathroom.
She also provided us with a city map, MTR map and shuttle schedule. A word of warning: The TST Hyatt is a bit hard to find. So if you're heading there to get a shuttle back to Sha Tin, allocate some time for the search. Also, the shuttle tends to leave a little earlier than scheduled.
Every time we returned to the Hyatt, Angela was there at the desk. It became something like, "Oh, look! There's Angela. We're OK now."
Breakfast was not included in our stay but breakfast service in the cafe was wonderful. All three meal services are done buffet style. Coffee and tea are ordered separately from the buffet. Coffee is refilled constantly as the attendants are ever present, in a good way. As for tea, when you order it, you are provided with a small French press, loose leaves inside already steeping away. Very nice!
The room was absolutely lovely. A specially marked key was provided for the power supply slot in the wall by the door. It was 25ºC outside, so the AC was on. I turned it off. The privacy curtain for the bathroom was to be lowered manually via a pull chain. There was free WiFi being provided during my stay. Angela explained how to connect and mentioned that the access code could support multiple devices.
A million thanks to the Hyatt staff, especially Angela!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hamer, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear l337sp34kr,

Thank you for the compliments and happy belated birthday to your mother! We are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay here. I will share your kind applause for Angela and the rest of the team, they will be delighted to have their names highlighted on Tripadvisor! Hope to see you back with us soon!

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    278
    42
    13
    9
See reviews for
131
144
71
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was our first trip to Hong Kong and we are experienced travellers. The Hyatt was in a great location, easy access to ferry, subway and airport express service. The hotel staff were really exceptional and friendly. If you are in the Concierge floor you have spectacular views of Victoria Harbor. The hotel provides free shuttle to the airport express, which I highly recommend.
Very clean rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get 23rd flloor on concierge level, includes breakfast and cocktails and snacks, which are pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hamer, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear j61047,

We are delighted to receive the 5 stars review by experienced travelers such as you. It was our pleasure to have you here. Looking forward to having you with us next time when you are in Hong Kong.

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is about 30 mins from the CBD of Hong Kong by taxi and also has the train station right next door. It is nestled around the mountains and overlooking the Hong Kong Jockey Club.
This hotel has a great feel about it from the time you walk in the door the staff are incredibly friendly and go well beyond there call of duty to make you feel welcome.
The rooms are bright and modern and the beds super comfortable The club floor is amazing and certainly worth spending the extra money for a club room.
The Food and Beverage is next to none as all the locals come up from the CBD to have the buffet lunch and dinner .
The swimming pool and gym are amazing also. This hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of HK but still within reach and great value for money.

Room Tip: Club Suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hamer, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear David M,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We're glad that our friendly employees and convenient location were able to make you trip in Hong Kong an enjoyable one. Next time be sure to try our signature Sha Tin Apple Pie at Patisserie, which is my personal favorite. Thanks again for the encouraging review, we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel may be a bit away from central Hong Kong, but it is a nice place to stay if you want to check out the area (ShaTin, Sai Kung, etc.) The University train station is just a short walk away, and there's a hotel shuttle to go the Hyatt in Tsim Sha Shui as well.

Very modern design, and friendly service. The check-in and check-out was very quick, just wished they have the option of sending the bill via email instead of hard copies (like some modern hotel). The room is clean, comfortable bed and pillows. My room overlooks the bay, which is great. Lunch at the main cafe at the lobby is average, wish they have more selection.

Probably will come to stay again if I ever plan to go hike around the area next time.

Room Tip: Get the room facing the bay, lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hamer, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear K H,

Thank you for your 5 stars review. Being an urban resort hotel, we are very proud of our location and facilities. Please do come again for hiking next time, it is a very popular sport in the neighborhood. We will share your comment about the selection of food to the team. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last week to get a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of HK after our wedding in GZ. From the moment we arrived we've had such a great stay! while others may say its a little far from town, being from LA we were used to commuting. Its right next to the MTR and if you know what you are doing you can be in TST within 20-30 minutes. Even when we had a slight problem with our shower, it was fixed immediately and the team went out of their way to accommodate everyone of our obscure requests. As a mix from Resort/Business hotel, they make sure everyone is well attended to. Very modern and spacious it has all the amenities that one one needs.

But here's want makes this hotel "more than welcome" It's the team. Folks like Steve Lo and Peili Leung always greeted us by our names, made sure we got our needs met and offered a variety of help on a constant basis. We felt at home and I want to applaud Robert Hammer and his team! Please congratulate Seve and Peili for us.

Anthony and Sandy (Hyatt Diamond members)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hamer, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear smashadmns,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin. It is so rewarding to hear feedback such as yours. We are very proud of our employees and will share your compliments with them. Please visit us again soon!

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

As my house needed renovation, I stayed about two and half months in the hotel with my family, from Nov 2012 to Jan 2013. The location is good, extremely close to the MTR station. I stayed in a one-bedroom executive suite, equipped with cooking facilities. The suite is spacious and comfortable. One complaint is the housekeeping service. Perhaps they know I was a long-stay guest, the weekly cleaning was causal.

The hotel has good facilities like swimming pool, fitness centre, whirl pool and steam room.

For dinner, the Chinese restaurant offers good Chinese food at reasonable price. The peking duck is very tasty. As for lunch, the dim sum is just so-so and not cheap. I also tried the dinner buffet. The varieties are limited but the food is of good quality. The salad was fresh, and seafood was nice, e.g. the crab leg was yummy. The chocolate and cake sold in the cake shop are good and reasonably priced. A bit pity is that the bar closes at midnight and I think it is too early.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were booked in here as part of a package. It's adjacent the Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) and University MTR station. The MTR is cheap and the ride to STS is only 15-20 minutes so its not far away. The hotel is a Hyatt Regency so the quality is without question. The rooms are large and comfortable with bath and separate shower. Internet access is free. If you don't want the buffet breakfast just go to the patisserie. Staff very welcoming and helpful and it was a nice place to go back to after a busy day downtown. All in all highly recommended.

Room Tip: Breakfast in Patisserie if you are not particularly hungry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin

Address: No.18 Chak Cheung Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the latest urban oasis in Hong Kong, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin features 559 guestrooms and suites, including 132 well-furnished suites specially designed for long stay accommodation. Exciting dining options include Sha tin 18 Chinese restaurant, all-day-dining Cafe, Pool Bar, Tin Tin Bar and Patisserie. Recreational facilities include the luxurious Melo Spa, outdoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness centre with sauna and steam, tennis court, bike rental and Camp Hyatt for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Hyatt Regency

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.