We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Quality Hotel away from the hustle and bustle, but has excellent transport links to all the places you want to go in HK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Chak Cheung Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #41 of 667 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Quality Hotel away from the hustle and bustle, but has excellent transport links to all the places you want to go in HK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed there for 1 week for family reunion. It is perfectly situated between my family in Tai Po and Ma On Shan. We found the staff to be extremely polite and efficient, they recognised us regularly and gave us a welcoming stay. The rooms are good size for a HK hotel, new and fresh deco with large LCD tv, dressing gowns, slippers and loads of toiletries to cover every eventuatlities! The heated outdoor swimming pool is excellent with nice steam room and sauna. It's a real relaxing experience which makes you escape from the business of HK!
We have made use of the regular free shuttle bus service with free wi if on board, which takes you to Kowloon Airport express station or TST MTR station.
Dinner in the Shatin 18 restuarant was authenticity served with amazing fresh roasted duck, which is a HK speciality in its own right. The Buffet breakfast is always a delight, catering for both Chinese and Western guests.
For half the price of inner city hotels of similar standards, you get more room and a more peaceful stay. For us, It is definitely worth the extra 30min commute to the city.
The only criticism is that there is no free Wifi in the hotel, as it costs $150 per day!! But the free wifi on the shuttle bus served us well. We would definitely stay there again, if the hotel prices remain competitive.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertHamer, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Hokster

Thank you so much for posting such a detailed review regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our rooms, restaurants, facilities and had a relaxing getaway. Please visit us again soon!

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    268
    42
    12
    9
See reviews for
128
141
71
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Veldhoven
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I,ve been here a dozen times already, while visiting the Science Park for business. This is an excellent hotel that offer good value for money, but....it is way out of town. MTR (University station nearby) is 45 minutes to HK island, with 2 transfers. Taxi is 25 minutes outside peak hours. Airport by taxi is 40 min. For those visiting the Science Park, all that is no issue, but if you are tourist, the only reason to stay here is perhaps the price, i.e. if you can get a good rate from your operator. The rooms are very nice, modern and complete, with excellent finishing. The beds are a miracle, unlike some of the hard beds offered by some hotels in Asia. The only drawbacks for me in the room is that the aircon could be less noisy and the windows should have double glazing. Those 2 things unfortunately are in contrast with the general comfort level the hotel offers. Breakfast is one of the best I had: abundant choice of everything. The Chinese restaurant is worth every penny you spend there - top quality food. I was told by local colleaugues they would patron the restaurant, even while it is situated outside town - on the other had, if you live in Sha Tin the hotel is close.

Room Tip: Choose the back side if you want less noise from traffic (there is a train service from 6 AM, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asti, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It is placed at the "University" exit of MTR in Sha-Tin area, in front of the sea and few minutes from Science Park business park.
I have been upgraded to a suite in "Regency club".
The room was at 16 floor with windows on the back of the Hotel facing the mountains. It is a very big suite with sofa, table and a desk.
You can check-in and check-out at the 25th floor.
There you can find the Regency Club, where you can have breakfast in the morning and a snack and aperitif in the evening.
SPA and outdoor swimming pool (with heated water) and fitness are included.
During week-end there are wedding parties, but this is not annoying.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hamer, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear cidi69,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent experience with us. We are delighted you had an amazing time and our staff took such great care of you. We are often complimented as the perfect venue for weddings with scenic views and I enjoy seeing all the happy couples getting married at our hotel, hope you like it too. Please visit us again soon!

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed at Shall Tin Hyatt when my plane was delayed. About an hour by bus from airport. Near Disney theme park. A bit far bit had no choice. Service was exceptional. The room was real nice as well. The buffet provided was awesome. Prime rib, steak, seafood and desserts just to name a few. At least a hundred items provided. Had to pay for wifi which was a downer. The hotel bar was very classy. Got me differeent snack when found out i didn't like nuts. Great hotel for an airline problem that brought me here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdithCheng, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Mitraveler65,

Thank you very much for your great review. We are pleased to hear that you like our room, service and buffet in Café. I have passed all your positive comments to the team. Looking forward to welcome you back soon and hope it will not because of plane delay.

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed for a week at this hotel and enjoyed it very much. The location is very good, with beautiful views of the Tolo harbor and the mountains. It is located about half an hour by metro from downtown Kowloon, and the hotel offers free shuttle bus service to and from town several times a day. Next to the hotel there is a metro (train) station and a bus stop. The pool area is very good, and there is a jacuzzi and a sauna in the changing room. I didn't try the fitness room but it looked good to me. The room I stayed in was wonderful, large and comfortable. There are two excellent restaurants, the ShaTin 18 serving fantastic Chinese cuisine, and the cafe serving the most amazing buffets as well as à la carte and afternoon tea.

The only down side is that WiFi is not complimentary, and if you are not staying at the hotel but just visiting the restaurant for example there is no WiFi at all. That is very peculiar as the location next to the Chinese University should make it a perfect place for teachers and researchers to go for brunch etc.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are terrific and try to get one as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrsching, Deutschland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A new and modern hotel situated a taxi ride away from the hustle and bustle of Kowloon and Hong Kong Island but an excellent all round place to stay. Spacious and comfortable rooms with also a large bathroom, large flat screen TV and well designed amenities. The breakfast is just everything you could wish for a choice of, European, English breakfast, Asian food or healthy fruit choices. Very good value for money...less expensive than being down town and more peaceful surroundings. Outside pool and outside BBQ when the weather permits. Fitness center and choice of restaurants. Good choice if you are on a business trip, located near he Science Park, or wish to explore Hong Kong. One small point...WiFi costs extra...out of date!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Not so practical for downtown Hong Kong, but there is a metro station across the road, and you can stay in a Hyatt for a very reasonable price. The hotel offers limo transportation from the airport, but taking a cab is convenient and much less expensive. The room is trendy, large with excellent amenities and design. The gym is very well equipped and offers a view over the bay, great if you like jogging and are badly jetlagged.
Breakfast was fantastic, with a very nice taste of cantonese and western food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdithCheng, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear lrt61,

We are thrilled by your comments and delighted to hear that you enjoyed our rooms, restaurants, and facilities. Next time be sure to try our signature Sha Tin Apple Pie at Patisserie, which is my personal favorite. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin

Address: No.18 Chak Cheung Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#18 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the latest urban oasis in Hong Kong, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin features 559 guestrooms and suites, including 132 well-furnished suites specially designed for long stay accommodation. Exciting dining options include Sha tin 18 Chinese restaurant, all-day-dining Cafe, Pool Bar, Tin Tin Bar and Patisserie. Recreational facilities include the luxurious Melo Spa, outdoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness centre with sauna and steam, tennis court, bike rental and Camp Hyatt for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Hyatt Regency

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.