We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly on Prat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly on Prat to your Saves list
Butterfly on Prat
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.21 Prat Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
only on butterflyhk.com
Ranked #65 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,277 Reviews
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Ideal location and great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed here either side of a week in China. First for 4 nights and then 6 on second occasion. Easy taxi ride from Kowloon MTR station on airport express line into HK. About 10 minutes walk to the waterfront & Star Ferry, and only a few minutes walk to the nearest MTR station. Close to local shops and restaurants.
Both rooms we booked had a fridge was very useful. Shower excellent and we had no problems with the wifi for our i-pad. Air con seemed very efficient.
Staff all friendly and happy to help whenever asked. Check-in and check out both very easy and desk open 24/7.
No restaurant but cafe just round the corner for breakfast.
We'd go there again if we go back to HK as it was such good value for money.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the highest floor you can get. Some nights there was a disco down the street that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We feel fabulous that you found everything great here at Butterfly on Prat. It's lovely that we are capable to offer you a comfortable and convenient experience, we definitely look forward to be at your service again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    621
    140
    31
    14
See reviews for
177
463
139
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I would first like to not that calling this hotel "simple" isn't necessarily a bad thing. It is a nice, comfortable hotel in the heart of Kowloon, but there really are no amenities at the hotel.

My experience at the Butterfly was short. My one night stay was in a fairly comfortable room. Though there are limited amenities, there are a lot of food options in the immediate vicinity.

The Butterfly on Pratt is a great location and jumping off point for Hong Kong, just don't go there expecting more than a nice rest, which is really all you need a hotel for anyway I suppose.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoy this one night stay over with us and found our location convenient. Besides being 'simple', we believe Butterfly is more than capable to offer you much more memorable experience. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for a longer and more pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We love the location. It's 2-minute walk to the MTR, 1-lane away from the airport express bus stop, and several eating places are just down the road. The deluxe room is of a comfortable size for a tall couple like us.

The wifi was unstable. We addressed it to the staff. The hotel was only able to rectify it on the third day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
It's great to hear that you like hotel location and found our deluxe room comfortable for your stay. But we also wish to extend our apologize regarding the lead time for fixing the Wi-Fi connection issue, the efficiently of such is way from our usual standard and we will surely review and make improvement on that. We are glad your overall experience is a nice one and we hope to see you again soon at Butterfly on Prat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Like others commented there are a lack of amenities- it's sometimes nice to have a lobby to wait for others rather than a couple of plastic chairs. Having said that check in was quick and fast lifts. Rooms small ( even the de-luxe) but functional with good free Internet and decent showers. I did get woken up several times by a banging fire door beside my room which the cleaners used but hopefully they will have fixed that. We paid a high rate as it was sevens weekend but overall not a bad choice for location and amenities surrounding being 5 mins from MTR and 10 mins from star ferry. Perfect for a no frills stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to share your recent experience with us! It is so great that you found our conveniently location and efficient guest services to be good. We apologize for the noise that you experienced in the morning, it's not up to our usual standard and we will surely review and rectify it timely.

We are glad you had an overall nice stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11375
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Maybe it's because I spent the last few days of my 2 week Asia trip here, of which the rest of the trip was true 5 star hotels, that it can't understand the people giving this 5 stars. It's a solid 3 star at best and that's only helped by the awesome location. The hotel is really a glorified motel with no lobby and no amenities, but I knew this when I booked it. My issue is with the rest of the experience - the front door is tiny and irritating to bring luggage through, the check in process took forever, the elevators are slow, and the staff seem poorly trained (if you ask they'll assist but there's no initiative). And I haven't even touched on the rooms yet. They were European sized but well laid out, it's just that the towels/sheets weren't very good quality and the room wasn't very clean.

Again I'm ok with everything at the price I paid and knowing its 3 stars, but I can't see how anyone gives it 4-5 stars unless they stayed for free.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It's regretful to read how we felt short in providing you a pleasant experience, as those aspects you mentioned are on the contrary the areas we did best in most occasions. As most of other TripAdvisor users who shared their comments here, the welcoming services have been a very important factor that differentiate us from other hotels. In view of your comments, we will definitely pay extra attention to monitor, to train and to ensure all of our guests are enjoying the great service quality we set for our hotel group. We are confident to offer you a much more impressive experience, and we sincerely hope you would consider to visit us again so we could win back your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Do not let the exterior of the hotel fool you. Walk along the streets of Tsim Tsa Tsui and you might easily miss this hotel.
Yet, once you step in, you will understand the meaning of "never judge the book by its cover".
The first you will encounter when you walk through the hotel doors are the exceptionally pleasant voices of the counter staffs welcoming you. Cannot book in yet? Leave your bags with them and ask them for their friendly advice on what's around. The staffs could speak fluent English and Chinese so don't worry on language barrier!
Regardless of what time of the day nor when nor whom, they are always ready, patient and glad to help you. From down to in the middle of the night for requesting additional towels to a quick tidy up before we leave the hotel, the people at butterfly are always happy to help us. =). During this period of time, we are especially happy to meet one of the staff, ms Bibiana who helped us a lot.
The room, though small, is very cosy. The queen size bed is very comfy with a total of four pillows, two hard and two soft depending on which you need for sleeping.
Lastly, the wifi! The signal strength so strong you would have no problem downloading movies which I did! Haha!
All in all, I will definitely come back and stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! It’s so great to hear your experience was a good one and especially what an amazing job Bibianna and our guest services team did. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong, we’ll be surely making the best arrangements to make your stay even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Walking distance to famous places and main station.Staff v friendly and helpful.
The room is cozy and nice decoration, bed is comfortable
would definitely recommend it to friends and will seek this as an option when visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Great to get your positive feedback on most aspects of our hotel. Our pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your next visit in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butterfly on Prat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Prat

Address: No.21 Prat Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Prat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic and contemporary boutique hotel Butterfly on Prat is strategically situated in the heart of vibrant Tsim Sha Tsui providing a perfect location for shopping and sightseeing. The hotel’s 122 rooms are decorated in a bright orange or earthy green color tone offering unparallel comfortable setting and relaxing atmosphere.The hotel is just a few minutes walk from exciting tourist spots and vibrant shopping malls. Explore Kowloon Park, discover Avenue of Stars, or take-in the shopping hub of Harbour City or the luxury name brands along Canton Road.The hotel enjoys a perfect transportation network that allows one to easily cross Victoria Harbour by Star Ferry or by MTR to Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, or further afield to Hong Kong International Airport and AsiaWorld-Expo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Butterfly on Prat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Prat Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Prat Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly on Prat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.