We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, no amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly on Prat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly on Prat to your Saves list
Butterfly on Prat
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.21 Prat Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
only on butterflyhk.com
Ranked #64 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
11375
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location, no amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Maybe it's because I spent the last few days of my 2 week Asia trip here, of which the rest of the trip was true 5 star hotels, that it can't understand the people giving this 5 stars. It's a solid 3 star at best and that's only helped by the awesome location. The hotel is really a glorified motel with no lobby and no amenities, but I knew this when I booked it. My issue is with the rest of the experience - the front door is tiny and irritating to bring luggage through, the check in process took forever, the elevators are slow, and the staff seem poorly trained (if you ask they'll assist but there's no initiative). And I haven't even touched on the rooms yet. They were European sized but well laid out, it's just that the towels/sheets weren't very good quality and the room wasn't very clean.

Again I'm ok with everything at the price I paid and knowing its 3 stars, but I can't see how anyone gives it 4-5 stars unless they stayed for free.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It's regretful to read how we felt short in providing you a pleasant experience, as those aspects you mentioned are on the contrary the areas we did best in most occasions. As most of other TripAdvisor users who shared their comments here, the welcoming services have been a very important factor that differentiate us from other hotels. In view of your comments, we will definitely pay extra attention to monitor, to train and to ensure all of our guests are enjoying the great service quality we set for our hotel group. We are confident to offer you a much more impressive experience, and we sincerely hope you would consider to visit us again so we could win back your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    617
    139
    31
    14
See reviews for
175
461
139
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Do not let the exterior of the hotel fool you. Walk along the streets of Tsim Tsa Tsui and you might easily miss this hotel.
Yet, once you step in, you will understand the meaning of "never judge the book by its cover".
The first you will encounter when you walk through the hotel doors are the exceptionally pleasant voices of the counter staffs welcoming you. Cannot book in yet? Leave your bags with them and ask them for their friendly advice on what's around. The staffs could speak fluent English and Chinese so don't worry on language barrier!
Regardless of what time of the day nor when nor whom, they are always ready, patient and glad to help you. From down to in the middle of the night for requesting additional towels to a quick tidy up before we leave the hotel, the people at butterfly are always happy to help us. =). During this period of time, we are especially happy to meet one of the staff, ms Bibiana who helped us a lot.
The room, though small, is very cosy. The queen size bed is very comfy with a total of four pillows, two hard and two soft depending on which you need for sleeping.
Lastly, the wifi! The signal strength so strong you would have no problem downloading movies which I did! Haha!
All in all, I will definitely come back and stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! It’s so great to hear your experience was a good one and especially what an amazing job Bibianna and our guest services team did. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong, we’ll be surely making the best arrangements to make your stay even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Walking distance to famous places and main station.Staff v friendly and helpful.
The room is cozy and nice decoration, bed is comfortable
would definitely recommend it to friends and will seek this as an option when visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Great to get your positive feedback on most aspects of our hotel. Our pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your next visit in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have stayed at the Butterfly on Prat twice now, with another stay booked. The hotel is in a great location, close to food, a grocery store and the MTR.

Rooms are stylish, comfortable and clean. The staff is warm and helpful. Our airline lost our luggage and the desk staff helpfully tracked it down for us. We had it in a few hours!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your support to Butterfly on Prat! We are thrilled to know you had a pleasant stay with us, and we are certainly pleased to have solved you a problem to ensure your trip is more enjoyable one . Looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I had travelled to HK with my family and stayed at this hotel. It’s in the heart of the city with all amenities just round the corner, you have to just step out of the hotel to access anything you want - starting for medical shop, to general shop, 7-11, anything you want - it’s there in the vicinity. There is a 24 hrs McDonalds just around 200m from the hotel, the metro station is a 5 mins walk. Rooms are clean, comfortable bed, not very big room and sufficient enough to stay comfortably (it was me, my wife and 6 yr old son), don’t expect a view from the room. They don't have a restaurant of their own, but there are several ones serving all type of cuisines just around the hotel. The staff is extremely courteous and helpful (best part - they understand & speak English very well). The free wifi is a boon - the signal strength is not great but sufficient for browsing. The room had a microwave which helped us a lot and would be helpful for all travelling with kids. I would definitely want to stay there in my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
It's utmost pleasure of us bringing you and your family a comfortable, wonderful experience at Butterfly on Prat. We are so glad that you found everything satisfying here and were impressed by our guest services team members. Thanks a lot for your support and we can't wait to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

very good hotel to stay if you dont like rush in chungking mansion but need it , good location , had good and comfortable stay, clean and comfortable rooms , big bathroom , have some supermarkets on opposite road if you need anything

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location and found the accommodation we offered a comfortable one. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed in HK for 7 days to sightsee and experience the ambience of the city. We selected Butterfly on Prat from the hundreds of hotels on offer based on reviews, the central Kowloon location and convenient connection to the airport by Airport Express and shuttle bus.

We were not disappointed. The 'deluxe' room was certainly spacious enough, comfortable, modern, extremely clean and quiet (17th floor).
We were aware there was no restaurant in the hotel for breakfast, but the Delifrance nearby opens at 8:00 (early for HK), and typical HK 'supermarkets' within a block or two provided for self-catering. The room has an adequately-sized refrigerator uncluttered by a 'mini-bar'.

Unfortunately, the HK weather for our whole stay was consistently drizzley, foggy and windy with limited visibility. This was not ideal for visiting the Peak or any other of HK's attractions at any altitude.
As a result, we spent more time in our room that we otherwise would, and were thankful for the comfortable room.
Most of HK's interesting museums are within a few hundred metres and we became frequent visitors.
Staff were efficient, friendly and courteous.
This is not a budget hotel, but it is certainly value for money in HK.
Once again, our hotel choice based mainly on Tripadvisor reviews was spot-on!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were satisfied all the way. Thanks for your compliment about our guest services team too, we will keep up our great standard and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butterfly on Prat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Prat

Address: No.21 Prat Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Prat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic and contemporary boutique hotel Butterfly on Prat is strategically situated in the heart of vibrant Tsim Sha Tsui providing a perfect location for shopping and sightseeing. The hotel’s 122 rooms are decorated in a bright orange or earthy green color tone offering unparallel comfortable setting and relaxing atmosphere.The hotel is just a few minutes walk from exciting tourist spots and vibrant shopping malls. Explore Kowloon Park, discover Avenue of Stars, or take-in the shopping hub of Harbour City or the luxury name brands along Canton Road.The hotel enjoys a perfect transportation network that allows one to easily cross Victoria Harbour by Star Ferry or by MTR to Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, or further afield to Hong Kong International Airport and AsiaWorld-Expo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Butterfly on Prat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Prat Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Prat Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly on Prat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.