We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice retreat from HK island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheung Chau Island

Cheung Chau Island
Southwest of Hongkong Island, Hong Kong, China
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Cheung Chau Island like an insider
Top Rated
$88*
and up
Cheung Chau (Long Island) Tour with Dim Sum lunch
Ranked #33 of 712 things to do in Hong Kong
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice retreat from HK island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nice beaches, lots of seafood restaurant on the waterfront. very nice atmosphere on week end, not so far from HK Island by Ferry

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    291
    67
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Charming Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This charming island has lots to offer so is well worth a visit, easily reached on the ferry from Central. Once there you can laze on the beach, windsurf or explore the island and enjoy a meal.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Seafood Lunch on Cheung Chau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Probably less well known than Lamma Island but equally as enjoyable. Seafood lunch on the harbour front is a must and you could not ask for more.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cheung Chau Island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I had a nice time walking around the island. You do have to be careful of the bikes, though. I wish that I had been brave enough to go down into the caves. I started to but my claustrophobia took over. The seaside walk is very welcoming and the view of the rocks are just beautiful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRG
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice... a litlle step back in time, layed back...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We went on a week day, we took the ferry to Cheung Chua from central - about 1 hour trip. first class ticket - an affordable HK$28 one way. The island has few motorized cars so walking around is easy -lots restaurants to walk past, seafood abounds, affordable and fresh too. A great walks on the paths to outlook points, temples. Well worth the trip!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheung Chau Island also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Cheung Chau Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheung Chau Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.