We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious affordable food, great service, good ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jo Jo Indian Cuisine Lockhart road

Jo Jo Indian Cuisine Lockhart road
2/f David House, 37-39 Lockhart road, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)
852-25273776
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #439 of 4,346 restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $13 - $13
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Wan Chai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Delicious affordable food, great service, good ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We are rarely in the Wanchai area around dinner time, that last few times we were there we tried Khana Khazana, which I have reviewed separately, but last December we happened to visit Indian Jojo in Wanchai.
Our previous experiences at this restaurant at Discovery Bay were not such great since we used to visit it with some friends who stayed there then
Based on that experience we reluctantly visited the restaurant in Wanchai, as we did not have much choice as it wa getting late and we were all starving.
The food was great and more reasonably priced than many other Indian restaurants on HK Island who seem to be competing with more expensive price tags for dishes which lack totally in taste.
However evy dish at Khana Khazana was a perfect taste, the ambiance was very nice, as is usual at Indian restaurants on HK Island as compared to the ones in Kowloon esp. Woodlands and Branto, and the service was very warm and effecient and quick. All the dishes were reasonably priced.
We loved the food and the overall experience and shall make Indian Jojo our destination whenever we are on HK Island around meal time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    12
    14
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not the Same”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We visited JO-JOs two years ago and thought it was the best Indian food. We were looking forward to a repeat visit for the best. The service is attentive and friendly, but the meal was not prepared as well as the last time. I tried one of the chicken specialities with onions and peppers that was just ok. My partner had lamb korma and he felt the same. The presentation is very good in interesting cooper pots. The bill with nan, rice and 2 wine and 2 beer was US$58. I would problem try it again on a return visit just to see if it was an off night. It is convenient from the Harbourview Hotel

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had dinner here last week, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Once you find your way in, you are greeted by a pleasant room and attentive staff. The view from the window is great for people-watching!

Service was good, the food beautifully prepared and presented, and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Indian restaturant in centre of HongKong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had the seafood soup wich was excellent but could taste different from time to time.
The red pickeld sause taste very good, adn after I use to take Butter chicken the lamb that I had once wasen't that good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Established Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

On the 2nd or 3rd floor, went on a previous trip? The food is good and the service attentive and seemed popular with the local populace. I did find the price slightly higher than I have experienced before- maybe inflation? However, the standard remains good and would definitely go again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jo Jo Indian Cuisine Lockhart road also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Jo Jo Indian Cuisine Lockhart road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jo Jo Indian Cuisine Lockhart road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.