We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel but tiny room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong to your Saves list
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok) (Tai Kok Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 Disney / Ocean Park Tkt
Ranked #60 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent hotel but tiny room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The room was so tiny, but it's so common in HKG. They provide quit good amenities in room and clean up the room every day. Wi-fi only free at lobby but still OK for me.

They also provide shuttle that can take you to several main area in HKG. Try to stop by Langham place which is close to ladies market and Hong Kong City Mall, if you are looking branded outlet shop.

The location was so nice, many 7-11 and fast food restaurant like McD's is just a stone away from the hotel. But quit far from the nearest MTR Station (Olympic). It can be reached by walking distance but it takes around 10 minutes.

The closest mall is Olympian city and kowloon plaza, but i suggest to go to Olympian city mall. Overall this hotel was good and i will comeback again in the near future!

Room Tip: Prefer room with high floor , so you can see the HKG night view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    1,020
    224
    39
    17
See reviews for
495
687
175
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Service very good, friendly and helpful. Rooms a little small for two so not much room for luggage hanging space. Breakfast OK but not great. Shuttle bus service to other parts of Kowloon including Airport Express station a big plus. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us. We’re happy that you were pleased with our hospitality, it has been our pleasure serving you.

For the guestrooms size, we offer five types of rooms in different sizes to suite a wide range of travelling preference. Our Suite Premier is the perfect option for guests looking for a more spacious stay while our Room Family Quad – both measured at 42 sq.m. is ideal for a family of four. We hope the next time you will have a chance to try out one of these room types. We have also noted your comment on the breakfast, please rest assured that we will communicate with the restaurant manager to improve the quality of the food.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I can't write something negative about this hotel. The room is big enough for one person and, what's in my opinion is more important, it's clean. The location of the hotel is also good and, if you don't want to walk, there is a free shuttle service to different spots.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Staff great. Rooms a bit on the smallish side but well provisioned, comfortable and spotless. Cable TV included. Free in room wifi and breakfast included in our tariff - rates vary so ensure you use wotif/booking.com/zuji etc to get a good rate. We paid less than $120 AUD for superior room with breakfast and free wifi. Bed was too firm for us but staff added an extra underlay which helped a bit. Breakfast adequate - not much bling - with plenty of choice and eggs cooked to order. Location may not suit first timers to HK but easy walk to Olympic MTR or free shuttle to/from Langham centre (Mongkok MTR), China/Macau Ferry terminal and Kowloon Station (Airport express) made access easy. Lifts can get busy - we used the staff lift (round the corner) when it got very busy.

Room Tip: Bit of road noise from nearby flyover but not significant. Maybe choose room away from the main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us.

In fact, our hotel is centrally located on the cusp of Mongkok and Tai Kok Tsui with the nearest Olympic MTR station (where the iconic IFC and Elements shopping arcades are located only two stations away from Olympic Station) being only 4-min walk away. The Mongkok and Tai Kok Tsui area is known for its rich local culture and activities, which within 10-15 mins walk from the hotel you will reach some of the most popular bazaars in Hong Kong such as Ladies Market, Temple Street and Fa Yuen Street. Mega shopping mall like Langham Place is also in the vicinity

With regards to the elevator, at the moment, we have three elevators operating concurrently, our apology for the occasionally lengthened waiting time possibly due to high occupancy rate during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was quite pleased with the services provided by the staffs. 5 minutes walk from Olympic MTR and 24/7 McDonald's opposite. The shuttle bus is quite useful I would say? I prefer walking to the MTR station directly. The room is a little small but it is comfortable. Will recommend family and friends here. Overall, not that bad.

Room Tip: Could probably ask for a better view room? My room view is the back of the neighbouring buildings..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I was in desperate need of a hotel, and found a good deal at this one online. I was most pleasantly surprised. The staff was great, the room modern and super clean with a fantastic view (request a room on a higher floor), the shuttle to nearby mall and subway generous and efficient. My only problem is the lack of free wifi in the rooms - why? (There is free wifi in the lobby though)

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for killer views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel is not only cheap, its location is also pretty ideal, as you can head to any places/attractions conveniently. If you trying to find a cheap hotel + yet reliable and safe + great and friendly service + comfortable and cosy room + convenient location, i am sure this Dorsett Mongkok Hotel is the one you looking for. I would definitely choose this hotel again on my next visit. Also, many travel bloggers have given a thumbup on this affordable and great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.