We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Kowloon/Hong Kong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok) (Tai Kok Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
Baltimore
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great stay in Kowloon/Hong Kong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We enjoyed our two nights in this modern hotel, as well as it's eco-consciousness. Our room was very small but considering other rooms I've stayed in in cities such as NYC and London, it was probably average for a metropolitan location. The room was also modern and clean, had massive windows and a great view (we were on the 19th floor) and was decently laid out for a room that size. They also had a nice design feature in the minuscule bathroom: the shower was depressed into the floor so water didn't go everywhere. We felt the bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet and relaxing.
The location was good and the hotel was easy to reach from two different metro stops by walking, or by taking a shuttle provided to/from one of them. Their shuttle also went to the Harbor area, and that was very convenient. There are plenty of places to get food in the neighborhood, as well as a small grocery store that is catty-corner, and a 24-hour McDonald's across the street. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and they spoke great English which is always helpful. They were happy to hold our luggage on our last day and when they found out one bag contained camera equipment, they stowed it in the back office which was much appreciated.
We did get a deal on this room but I was very happy with our stay and felt it was a great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    458
    698
    164
    31
    12
See reviews for
364
451
107
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We traveled in three including a 3yrs old child and booked the hotel online. Checking was prompt and the staffs were friendly and helpful. We took the cosmogenic room. We were disappointed with the small room and a small queen size bed (not as advertised on the website). The room was actually similar with the superior room. Actually, we did not really know whether we were given the correct room because initially we were only given 2 bottles of water for the water bar. After checking with the staffs, they provided us 4 bottles of mineral water each day. NO pillow selection as advertised (NOT EVEN extra pillow). Prior to that, they promised to give a surprise gift and cake for my son's birthday. It did not happened. Although the room came with a large glass window, no great view from the hotel. Breakfast was poor. I would suggest to take the breakfast at the nearby local restaurants.The plus point for this hotel was great location - very near to Olympia MTR. And, OlympiaCity was a really great place to shop. The free shuttle bus service was good - the route covers Langham and TST. Unfortunately, there was only one shuttle bus at the time, so we had get down to the lobby early to book the seat. Otherwise, the minibus stand was just opposite the hotel. Taking the minibus was a great experience for us. As summary, apart from great location, I might not consider this hotel again.

Room Tip: No significant difference between cosmogenic and superior room except you have to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Teikhin

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok.

Upon investigation, you were assigned in our Room Cosmorganic during your stay with us. Regret that it was an overlook from our part for the replenishment of bottles of water. We have reminded our housekeeping team to make sure they always double check the in-room amenities upon cleaning the room.

Regarding the room’s size, in fact the hotel comprises five room types sizing up to 42 sq.m. Our Suite Air or Room Family quad can accommodate a travel group of 4 comfortably, you may try it on your next visit with your family for a more spacious and carefree stay.

For the pillow selection, we do provide 11 choices of pillows for guests to choose from at no cost. I hope that you had the chance to ask our Guest Service team for immediate assistance on the spot to have the extra pillow and the pillow menu delivered to your room. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused.

We also noted your comment on the gift, we trust our Guest Services team has contacted you via email to arrange for postage of the gift, we are looking forward to a response from you in order to reconfirm the mailing address. Please accept our most sincere apologies.

We also regret that you were not satisfied with the breakfast served in the restaurant. Your comment has been passed on to the restaurant manager, who will take on board the message to improve the food quality in the future.

Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you. We truly hope to welcoming you and your family back very soon for another promising stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Staying at Cosmo for the last two days of a hectic two week trip was a perfect way to end my holidays. As a solo traveller I'm also conscience of the price and quality you receive and therefore was pleasantly surprice in both regards.

The room per night was reasonably affordable. Since my parents where also staying there the check in Staff kindly offered to move me into a room on the same floor thus upgrading me. This high quality of customer service was evident throughout our stay where they proved themselves to be always polite and helpful.

The room itself was a lovely surprise. Spacious compared to other similar priced hotels in Hong kong and made to feel even bigger by one wall consisting entirely of glass giving great views. All amendities were provided for: mini bar, coffee and tea facilities, flat screen T.V, radio/alarm clock that also caters for ipods, hairdryer and international adaptor. Housekeeping kept the room spotless.

Location, the hotel is situated directly opposite restuarants, including a 24hrs MacDonalds, and small supermarket. Within a 5-10min walk is an oldish mall and then a massive new mall with everything including access to the MRT.

Mongkok is also the last stop before you reach the Disney train line making it really convenient in this instance.

Overall after staying at four different hotels throughout my trip, Cosmo was by far one of the best hotel that I stayed at providing the best value for money and service. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The higher your room the better the view. I stayed on floor 16 and had partial view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is my 3rd trip to hong kong and chose to stay at cosmo this time.

The good:
1)Very good and accessible location. Near Langham and many shopping places.
Shuttle service was also prompt and fantastic.
2) Really Comfy beds (would be great if the pillows are this good too)
3) Service staff are very polite and prompt (Thumbs up!)

The bad:

1) Our flight arrived at HKIA at 5am (earlier the expected) I tried calling the hotel to get an earlier check in but was told there was no rooms available even though I have stated to early check in on my booking and was therefore told to pay for an upgraded room.

2) The pillows to this hotel are a little too soft which results in a very uncomfortable sleep for the first night. It was much better after I requested for another pillow (this was done very promptly)

3) The rooms in the hotels are abit smaller then expected but it is fine to accommodate 2 girls :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Jacqueline

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok. It’s delightful to know that you were pleased with your stay with its convenient location and warm hospitality.

However, we regret that we were not able to extend flexibility on early check-in this time due to high occupancy. We appreciate your kind understanding on this.

We have taken note of your comment on the pillows, and happy to introduce the pillow menu featuring 11 choices of pillows from the softer choices of feather and scented pillows to the firmer choices of buckwheat. They are all costless to guests booking Room CosMorganic or above. We’re pleased that your sleeping experience had improved for the remaining stay with us.

Regarding the room’s size, we offer 5 types of rooms in different sizes to suit a wide range of travelling preferences. You may consider staying in our Suite room measuring 42 sq.m. for a more spacious stay on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I booked this hotel while booking my flight to HK I thought I had booked the cosmopolitan. it's close to the MTR however the rooms are very small even though I upgraded to a larger room.The breakfast was poor,the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear David

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok.

Regarding the room’s size, we offer 5 types of rooms in different sizes to suit a wide range of travelling preferences. You may consider staying in our Suite room measuring 42 sq.m. for a more spacious stay on your next visit.

We regret that you were not satisfied with the breakfast served in the restaurant. Your comment has been passed on to the restaurant manager, who will take on board the message to improve the food quality in the future. However, it’s nice to know that you found our staff friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Friendly customer service and housekeepers.

1. Hotel staffs are professional, friendly and helpful.
(We forget to pay tips to the guy helped us carried our luggages, he didnt show unhappy faces.Hence, we've decided to give more before we leave the hotel. )

2. Room is clean, comfy, amazing city view and fast free wifi.

3. Size of the room is small but we knew we were in HongKong.

4. Hotel location is accessible to Olympic and Mongkok station. We shopped almost every night in Mongkok and walked back to hotel around 12am. Numbers of restaurants are around the hotel and had no problem to find and taste local foods.

5. Shuttle bus is very convenient to us. we tooks shuttle bus to Langham Place everyday.

6. Room rate is reasonable.

Definitely choose this hotel again for our next trip to Hong Kong! Thank you so much for your services.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We had enjoyed our stay at Cosmo. It's clean and comfort, small yet spacious and stylish. The price is reasonable. The location is good and shuttle service is indeed helpful. The only drawback is  that we had to spend time waiting for the lifts since there are only two lifts.

Anyway, Cosmo will be definitely our options during the next visit to Hong Kong!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Booking this hotel online to enjoy 100M Free WiFi in-room, flexible 24-hour check-in time and a full 24-hour stay! (for hotel official site booking only.This Mong Kok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free with Ladies Market and Temple Street night market just 10-15 minutes’ walk away for an local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon available. 24-hr open fitness studio available. Cosmo Mongkok is a Green City Hotel award winner and a certified Green Globe Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.