We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling of being cheated!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok) (Tai Kok Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 652 Hotels in Hong Kong
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Feeling of being cheated!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We traveled in three including a 3yrs old child and booked the hotel online. Checking was prompt and the staffs were friendly and helpful. We took the cosmogenic room. We were disappointed with the small room and a small queen size bed (not as advertised on the website). The room was actually similar with the superior room. Actually, we did not really know whether we were given the correct room because initially we were only given 2 bottles of water for the water bar. After checking with the staffs, they provided us 4 bottles of mineral water each day. NO pillow selection as advertised (NOT EVEN extra pillow). Prior to that, they promised to give a surprise gift and cake for my son's birthday. It did not happened. Although the room came with a large glass window, no great view from the hotel. Breakfast was poor. I would suggest to take the breakfast at the nearby local restaurants.The plus point for this hotel was great location - very near to Olympia MTR. And, OlympiaCity was a really great place to shop. The free shuttle bus service was good - the route covers Langham and TST. Unfortunately, there was only one shuttle bus at the time, so we had get down to the lobby early to book the seat. Otherwise, the minibus stand was just opposite the hotel. Taking the minibus was a great experience for us. As summary, apart from great location, I might not consider this hotel again.

Room Tip: No significant difference between cosmogenic and superior room except you have to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Teikhin

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok.

Upon investigation, you were assigned in our Room Cosmorganic during your stay with us. Regret that it was an overlook from our part for the replenishment of bottles of water. We have reminded our housekeeping team to make sure they always double check the in-room amenities upon cleaning the room.

Regarding the room’s size, in fact the hotel comprises five room types sizing up to 42 sq.m. Our Suite Air or Room Family quad can accommodate a travel group of 4 comfortably, you may try it on your next visit with your family for a more spacious and carefree stay.

For the pillow selection, we do provide 11 choices of pillows for guests to choose from at no cost. I hope that you had the chance to ask our Guest Service team for immediate assistance on the spot to have the extra pillow and the pillow menu delivered to your room. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused.

We also noted your comment on the gift, we trust our Guest Services team has contacted you via email to arrange for postage of the gift, we are looking forward to a response from you in order to reconfirm the mailing address. Please accept our most sincere apologies.

We also regret that you were not satisfied with the breakfast served in the restaurant. Your comment has been passed on to the restaurant manager, who will take on board the message to improve the food quality in the future.

Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you. We truly hope to welcoming you and your family back very soon for another promising stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    764
    176
    30
    15
See reviews for
399
497
121
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Staying at Cosmo for the last two days of a hectic two week trip was a perfect way to end my holidays. As a solo traveller I'm also conscience of the price and quality you receive and therefore was pleasantly surprice in both regards.

The room per night was reasonably affordable. Since my parents where also staying there the check in Staff kindly offered to move me into a room on the same floor thus upgrading me. This high quality of customer service was evident throughout our stay where they proved themselves to be always polite and helpful.

The room itself was a lovely surprise. Spacious compared to other similar priced hotels in Hong kong and made to feel even bigger by one wall consisting entirely of glass giving great views. All amendities were provided for: mini bar, coffee and tea facilities, flat screen T.V, radio/alarm clock that also caters for ipods, hairdryer and international adaptor. Housekeeping kept the room spotless.

Location, the hotel is situated directly opposite restuarants, including a 24hrs MacDonalds, and small supermarket. Within a 5-10min walk is an oldish mall and then a massive new mall with everything including access to the MRT.

Mongkok is also the last stop before you reach the Disney train line making it really convenient in this instance.

Overall after staying at four different hotels throughout my trip, Cosmo was by far one of the best hotel that I stayed at providing the best value for money and service. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The higher your room the better the view. I stayed on floor 16 and had partial view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is my 3rd trip to hong kong and chose to stay at cosmo this time.

The good:
1)Very good and accessible location. Near Langham and many shopping places.
Shuttle service was also prompt and fantastic.
2) Really Comfy beds (would be great if the pillows are this good too)
3) Service staff are very polite and prompt (Thumbs up!)

The bad:

1) Our flight arrived at HKIA at 5am (earlier the expected) I tried calling the hotel to get an earlier check in but was told there was no rooms available even though I have stated to early check in on my booking and was therefore told to pay for an upgraded room.

2) The pillows to this hotel are a little too soft which results in a very uncomfortable sleep for the first night. It was much better after I requested for another pillow (this was done very promptly)

3) The rooms in the hotels are abit smaller then expected but it is fine to accommodate 2 girls :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Jacqueline

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok. It’s delightful to know that you were pleased with your stay with its convenient location and warm hospitality.

However, we regret that we were not able to extend flexibility on early check-in this time due to high occupancy. We appreciate your kind understanding on this.

We have taken note of your comment on the pillows, and happy to introduce the pillow menu featuring 11 choices of pillows from the softer choices of feather and scented pillows to the firmer choices of buckwheat. They are all costless to guests booking Room CosMorganic or above. We’re pleased that your sleeping experience had improved for the remaining stay with us.

Regarding the room’s size, we offer 5 types of rooms in different sizes to suit a wide range of travelling preferences. You may consider staying in our Suite room measuring 42 sq.m. for a more spacious stay on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I booked this hotel while booking my flight to HK I thought I had booked the cosmopolitan. it's close to the MTR however the rooms are very small even though I upgraded to a larger room.The breakfast was poor,the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear David

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok.

Regarding the room’s size, we offer 5 types of rooms in different sizes to suit a wide range of travelling preferences. You may consider staying in our Suite room measuring 42 sq.m. for a more spacious stay on your next visit.

We regret that you were not satisfied with the breakfast served in the restaurant. Your comment has been passed on to the restaurant manager, who will take on board the message to improve the food quality in the future. However, it’s nice to know that you found our staff friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Friendly customer service and housekeepers.

1. Hotel staffs are professional, friendly and helpful.
(We forget to pay tips to the guy helped us carried our luggages, he didnt show unhappy faces.Hence, we've decided to give more before we leave the hotel. )

2. Room is clean, comfy, amazing city view and fast free wifi.

3. Size of the room is small but we knew we were in HongKong.

4. Hotel location is accessible to Olympic and Mongkok station. We shopped almost every night in Mongkok and walked back to hotel around 12am. Numbers of restaurants are around the hotel and had no problem to find and taste local foods.

5. Shuttle bus is very convenient to us. we tooks shuttle bus to Langham Place everyday.

6. Room rate is reasonable.

Definitely choose this hotel again for our next trip to Hong Kong! Thank you so much for your services.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We had enjoyed our stay at Cosmo. It's clean and comfort, small yet spacious and stylish. The price is reasonable. The location is good and shuttle service is indeed helpful. The only drawback is  that we had to spend time waiting for the lifts since there are only two lifts.

Anyway, Cosmo will be definitely our options during the next visit to Hong Kong!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights.

The good: Great staff, good restaurant, clean hotel and room, reasonably quiet area.

The not so good: Room was smaller than advertised. Hotel website said 18sqm, we measured 15sqm, including the toilet. Toilet had also been used before we got to the room, and not flushed. Lobby was busy in the early hours of the morning with people apparently using the hotel's Wi-Fi.

Generally a good hotel for the money. But very small rooms.

Room Tip: According to reception, all rooms are the same side except for the suite, which is twice the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Stuart,

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok. It’s nice to know that you found our hotel to be good value for money and trust your stay with us was an enjoyable one.

First of all, I would like to express my apologies for the unpleasant experience with the toilet not being flushed properly. While such comment is very rare to us, we hope you had approached our 24-hour on duty guest services manager for immediate assistance, they would be happy to arrange a room change for you, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused. Meanwhile, our housekeeping team has been seriously briefed with such issue and they are reminded to ensure proper cleaning work to be carried out in guestrooms at all times.

For guestroom size, we are sorry that your room appeared smaller to you than expected. In fact, we offer 5 types of rooms in different sizes to suit a wide range of travelling preferences. We hope you will have the chance to enjoy other room types or suites that measure up to 42 sq.m. for a more spacious stay on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Booking this hotel online to enjoy 100M Free WiFi in-room, flexible 24-hour check-in time and a full 24-hour stay! (for hotel official site booking only.This Mong Kok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free with Ladies Market and Temple Street night market just 10-15 minutes’ walk away for an local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon available. 24-hr open fitness studio available. Cosmo Mongkok is a Green City Hotel award winner and a certified Green Globe Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.